Manchester by the Sea

Thank you for rating this movie!

Manchester by the Sea Movie Poster

3.43 / 5

User rating: 3.43

Based on 142 votes and 57 reviews


  • User rating: 3.43 52.24%
  • User rating: 3.43 4.48%
  • User rating: 3.43 4.48%
  • User rating: 3.43 11.94%
  • User rating: 3.43 26.87%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 57

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2017

The success in conveying honest, powerful emotions. A very powerful film.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2017

dud.....and I mean a dudddd

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2017

Not often that Hollywood serves up an impression of male parenting/friendship that rings true. This one does.

User review rating: 1 January 17, 2017

It's great if you want to be depressed.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

It was a true movie with nothing sugarcoated. Some didn't care for it because the characters didn't do just what they wanted rather the characters were true to the way they really were.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

Tragically beautiful; stunning acting, deep and moving plot. Not for short of attention span viewers.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2017

Absolutely worth every minute spent watching it.

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2017

long and boring

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2017

Tragic and depressing, well acted but certain to tigger your PTSD!

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2017

Not much to dislike. Great movie.

User review rating: 2 January 09, 2017

Too long, very boring, tedious to watch. Michelle Williams was good for the two or three scenes she was in.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2017

Such a tragedy. So sad. Casey Affleck plays a man so stuck in his pain and sorrow. He doesn't say much but a great actor that shows his pain in silence and body language. Makes me sound so artsy but you could read on his posture and n the quiet. Amazing

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

Loved this movie. Even twenty four hours later, still thinking about it. My husband who is very hard to please is raving about it as well. GO SEE IT.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

acting, storyline scenery. It has everything

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

I saw this movie three times already--the characters (including the Sea and the boat!) are mesmerizing. I left feeling more compassion then I've ever felt from any other movie. The acting is demanding, but superb. Naturally the setting/scenery is beautiful. There's not too much nor too little dialogue to move you right along through the complex lives of the characters.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2017

An incredible film. Moving, deep, and real. The characters were well developed and despite the pain and sorrow there is ample life and humour. I strongly recommend watching this movie, I know I'll be seeing it again.

User review rating: 2 January 05, 2017

All the hype about this film is simply that - hype. A boring, dragging plot that never takes off is told using the poor technique of flashbacks. Michelle Williams gave a good performance, but even then, it was hard to care about these characters after spending over two hours being bored numb by them.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2017

Realistic and well acted. I thought it was great.

User review rating: 2 January 03, 2017

This movie skipped around too much. I got lost in the story line in the beginning. I would not see this movie again.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2017

The movie felt incredibly authentic!!! I actually loved the ending, because it was so real!! The guy simply couldn't beat his sorrow and his pain - so very real! Audience looks for escape in movies, and this production doesn't provide that! I really empathized with the characters - superb acting!!!

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2017

Long, tiresome watching a loser drunk never recover

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2017

OUTSTANDING PRODUCTION. Superb direction/acting. Don"t miss this one.

User review rating: 1 January 01, 2017

Misplaced brooding for boring, I kept hoping the story would reach a "peak" in the story, it failed, and it kept you on the edge of your seat because n your ass was numb. I had such hope for this, all the good parts were in the advertisement. I wasted 2 hours 17 minutes and $15

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2016

It was good for sure.

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2016

Without a doubt, the best dramatic film of the year! Almost perfect in all ways. Don't miss it!

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2016

This a brilliant, thoughtful and realistic drama with a superb script, direction and acting. Best movie of the year. I am surprised by the negative viewers who seem to think that a story like this must have a happy ending. Get real and I mean real. This is a heartrending film that is very well paced and grabs the viewer from the beginning to end. People with limited attention spans should avoid this film because it demands your attention and empathy for the characters. This is not an action film or a chick flick. No special effects, blood and guts or unnecessary fowl language. In other words, this a movie for mature adults with some intelligence and the capacity to appreciate the artful elements of the film.

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2016

Great movie on psychological wounds and the effects that spread throughout a family and a community. Very realistic and well acted.

User review rating: 1 December 30, 2016

Casey Affleck was good but I felt Kyle Chandler brought so much more to his character. And the kid was a waste of space. Combine that with an ending that wraps nothing up and you have 2 hours you could have spent watching a much better film.

User review rating: 1 December 30, 2016

The acting was good but the story had no redeeming qualities. The story was not worth telling. I was shocked and perplexed at the lack of any kind of positive conclusion I kept waiting for a turn in the story which never came. the east coast style of cussing was enjoyable for me my wife did not get it what a sorry waste of 2 hours.

User review rating: 3 December 30, 2016

Very slow moving. Main character was so flat through the whole movie and i get that it was his journey but it's boring to watch the whole time. The present and past flashbacks were confusing at times and unnecessary.

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2016

Although a very sad story? The acting was amazing. It's so nice to see real actors ACTING without the help of CGI. By the end I was feeling hopeful for the main character! He has gone through something so horrible and can't imagine being back in his hometown yet he must help his 16 year old nephew navigate through a new tragedy. If you enjoy a movie that is REAL acting without the help of props from outer space, costumes, music or comedy? This is your film! I enjoy the other things too but sometimes I need to have a movie with real substance. My husband and I were still talking about it last night!

User review rating: 3 December 28, 2016

The movie was ok, but I'm not quite sure how it received 98% on Rotten Tomatoes. Very slow moving, and a lot of times the scenes just felt like they were going nowhere. Just dragged on and on. Like others have said, the end came and I thought, "What? That's it?" There were some touching scenes, but they were few and far between. I wouldn't recommend paying theatre prices for this one.

User review rating: 2 December 27, 2016

jeez, I pay money to enter a theatre and be entertained.....and do not need as the 5 star raters say a brilliant thoughtful movie that is poignant with emotional depth and real life. I get enough real life everyday to not need a sad slow moving flic that makes me feel hollow at its end; even hoping it would end sooner. Sorry, I would like to feel good or at least like the main hangdog underachieving character who in the end just bumbles off. Damn, life can be depressing enough without making a movie of it and calling it brilliant.But, thankfully it did end!

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2016

B O R I N G !!! About fell asleep. Hated the ending.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2016

This movie felt like a play in many ways. Incredible acting, poignant and very real in the portrayal of acute depression. Takes us into the despair Lee was feeling in a powerful way. Yes, it was like a slice of life, and no happy ending. But the interaction between the self-centered teen and the grieving uncle was well done.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2016

Brilliant and heartbreaking.

User review rating: 1 December 26, 2016

boring boring slow should have got up and left not wasted time

User review rating: 3 December 25, 2016

Grinding, real life--probably will never forget the main character's psychological hurdle. Had a high rating from Rotten Tomatoes. However, found the movie unsatisfying---like real life often is. Just wanted something to feel better about on CHRISTMAS DAY. A supporting actress nomination for Michelle Williams is not justifiable. Affleck gave an authentic portrayal of someone who cannot---and may not want to---recover from loss.

User review rating: 5 December 24, 2016

It was one of the best movies I have seen..

User review rating: 4 December 24, 2016

The ending left you feeling unsatisfied. The movie was deep of raw emotion in a all too real life situation. I guess I wanted a happier ending or at least some closure.