Silence

Thank you for rating this movie!

Silence Movie Poster

3.68 / 5

User rating: 3.68

Based on 56 votes and 16 reviews


  • User rating: 3.68 36.36%
  • User rating: 3.68 18.18%
  • User rating: 3.68 22.73%
  • User rating: 3.68 22.73%
  • User rating: 3.68 0.00%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 16 of 16

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2017

Too slow. Too much voice over.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2017

Very cerebral... makes you really ponder afterwards!

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2017

Scorsese continues to make better films than people half his age, great film. Hope this'll win him his second Oscar.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2017

A very powerful and somber movie. Very thought provoking and shines a light about a time that I never heard of before. The studios and Scorsese were very brave to back and make this movie as its not going to be a blockbuster. It's long and dark so be prepared for it.

User review rating: 3 January 13, 2017

Acting good and cinematography great although movie is a big long and some aspects dragged out a bit.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2017

"Silence" is an emotional movie that shows the suffering of Jesuit priests in the 17th century. We see the cruelty of Japanese people toward christianity. Father Rodrigues and Father Ferreira survived torture to give up their faith.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2017

I printed the passes and went to the movie theatre but was unfortunately turned down as it was overbooked..would have liked to view movie but no luck!!Is it possible to get free passes to see this movie or other movie in the near future for my effort...thank you in advance for your consideration!

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2017

Basé sur un livre à succès de 1966, dans un XVIIe siècle ou les persécutions religieuses sont monnaie courante au Japon, alors que les instances supérieures martyrisent la population chrétienne, rendu à l’écran par Scorsese donnent lieu à des scènes horrifiantes, des images dures. La foi et le doute sont mis à rude épreuve et les nombreuses scènes de torture dictent aux âmes sensibles de s’abstenir, d’autant plus que même les missionnaires les plus convaincus ne peuvent résister à renier leur foi du moins de l’extérieur. Très bon jeu du jeune missionnaire Rodrigues et de l’inquisiteur japonais. Les rochers y sont abrupts, les scènes intenses; il faut presque retenir son souffle. Contraste flagrant avec les films mièvres du Temps des Fêtes; plutôt à voir au Temps de Pâques.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2017

Silence is a very powerful movie! Some of the scenes were breath-taking (both positively and negatively). The violence was very hard to see. I would give this movie a XXX rating because of the violence. Unfortunately, human history is not made up of fairy tales. I knew nothing about Christianity in Japan, so this was a real eye opener. Thank you Mr. Scorcese for making this film!

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2017

Really enjoyed it!!

User review rating: 2 January 06, 2017

The film started off being interesting and I was intrigued for the first 20 minutes but as it progressed, it just felt very long winded and there was no build up at all. The ending was very anti-climatic and all I could think of "that's it?" Visually the film looked great, the scenery looked amazing and the shots were well done as expected from a Scorsese film, but the story line didn't hold up for me.

User review rating: 2 January 06, 2017

I rate the movie at 4 stars. The movie was slow at times but overall the plot moved along at a good pace. Acting was very good as the characters were believable. Enjoyable 160 minutes spent.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2017

Very touching movie. I loves ut In the end , the japanese weren'r so bad, just protective of their culture. 4 stars

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2017

Loved this movie! The scenery and the acting were outstanding. I felt torn between sympathy and dislike for the Japanese antagonists. Great all around film.

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2016

Great picture work, good to watch. Out of the norm

User review rating: 2 December 27, 2016

Too slow.