Thank you for rating this theater!

Scotiabank Theatre Winnipeg

User rating: 2.64 Read Reviews | Rate Theater

817 St. James Street Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3L3

(204) 774-1001 | View Map


2.64 / 5

User rating: 2.64

Based on 32 votes and 30 reviews



  • General Ratings
  • General Experience User Rating: 2.4375
  • Concession User Rating: 2.5
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 2.85714285714286
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 2.88888888888889
  • Customer Service User Rating: 2.5

 

Please rate this theater

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theater Presentation

  • Customer Service


Theater Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 30

Why is the food so bad?

September 08, 2019

When someone pays a lot of money for food, one would usually expect at least some level of care in the flavour, texture, or even presentation and temperature of “hot food”; over cooked or even stale feeling chicken fingers or boneless wings, chicken sandwiches where the temperature varies throughout, pizza with an crust feeling. It has been on more than one occasion that the hot food area has poorly delivered anything reasonable other than regular fries. Seats are otherwise comfortable and buying movie tickets is smooth. Popcorn sales area is ok, but someone please take care of the hot food section.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 2.6
  • General Experience User Rating: 3
  • Concession User Rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 3
  • Customer Service User Rating: 3

Promoting Hate

July 14, 2019

This theatre has made the terrible decision to show the movie "Unplanned" which has been described as a "hate propoganda against women and abortion providers". Avoid this theatre.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 0.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 0
  • Customer Service User Rating: 0

AVOID!

July 14, 2019

There is one theatre in Winnipeg that opted to show the controversial movie Unplanned. This is it! A review of this film in the Globe and Mail says the "Anti-abortion film Unplanned is a disgusting piece of propaganda that may endanger the health of women". One of the top critics on Rotten Tomatoes says "Unplanned will make you writhe in agony over how such an ugly, malicious and potentially dangerous piece of religious and political propaganda could have made its way into this world." I am disheartened by this theater's choice to promote such a film as entertainment and will no longer consider them an option for my movie-going outings. I would encourage you to follow suit!

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 1.4
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 1
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

It reminds me of a garbage dump

July 07, 2019

I recently saw the movie “Yesterday”, great movie. Other than that, the experience was awful. For starters, as you make your way into the building, there are garage bins overflowing with trash. They are so full the trash is scattered everywhere. Next to one of the trash bins is a (rat)rodent trap. Inside they building is not any better. I would not pay to see a movie at a garbage dump, but that is exactly what I did going to this theatre.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 1
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 1
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

Bravo Scotiabank theater

May 05, 2019

I went to see Shazam at Scotiabank theater . First off the lights stayed on in the theater for about 5 minutes into the film ,until another patron advised them of their goof . Then halfway into the film , the movie froze up , and then went black , never to come on again . This could've been a real piss off but ,to Scotiabank theaters credit they gave every patron 2 courtesy passes for future use . Bravo Scotia bank ! good move on your part .

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 1.8
  • General Experience User Rating: 4
  • Concession User Rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 0
  • Customer Service User Rating: 5

Don't waste your time and money

March 31, 2019

What a waste of time and money... Stay home is better..

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3.8
  • General Experience User Rating: 5
  • Concession User Rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 4
  • Customer Service User Rating: 4

Gone downhill

March 29, 2019

This theater has gone downhill big time . The staff are all a bunch of kids who seem to be less than motivated to say the least . My latest trip here ,the theater was so hot ,I thought I was going to have a stroke . But who do you complain to ... some kid who probably doesn't give a shit ? I've yet to see a manager or someone who looks like they are in charge . I'll take my movie buying money elsewhere .

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 2.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 2
  • Concession User Rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 2
  • Customer Service User Rating: 3

manager always hiding....if there even is one! Pitiful.

December 27, 2018

sound level not properly set......I am not surprised! My main complaint is the total lack of management. bathrooms are usually filthy.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 1.6
  • General Experience User Rating: 3
  • Concession User Rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 0
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

Filthy

September 08, 2018

I haven't been to this theater in years and was shocked how dirty it was, common areas, bathroom and theater. I was not impressed.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 0.4
  • General Experience User Rating: 2
  • Concession User Rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 0
  • Customer Service User Rating: 0

Public Service

July 06, 2018

What I appreciate most about this theater, and this chain, is the psa before the movie letting people know they're jerks for kicking the back of the seat and texting during the movie. Unfortunately, some jerks are still jerks, but at least the theater is trying to do something about it. PUT AWAY YOUR DAMN PHONE! STOP KICKING THE DAMN SEAT!

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 5
  • General Experience User Rating: 5
  • Concession User Rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 5