Thank you for rating this theater!

Scotiabank Theatre Winnipeg

User rating: 2.74 Read Reviews | Rate Theater

817 St. James Street Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3L3

(204) 774-1001 | View Map


2.74 / 5

User rating: 2.74

Based on 18 votes and 16 reviews



  • General Ratings
  • General Experience User Rating: 2.38888888888889
  • Concession User Rating: 2.64705882352941
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3.11764705882353
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 3.05882352941176
  • Customer Service User Rating: 2.47058823529412

 

Please rate this theater

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theater Presentation

  • Customer Service


Theater Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 16

No help available

November 30, 2017

Was meeting a friend and her daughter for Wonder. Showed up at theatre >30 minutes before movie was to play. No one present at ticket selling till. Went to purchase a ticket at the electronic kiosk and was blinded by the sun. Besides having trouble seeing the screens could not get the curser to move beyond the first page. Tried other kiosks. The screen read that the movie was sold out for this date. Someone should always be available to purchase tickets from and someone should be there to assist people with these machines when they are having trouble (just like at the airport). Please get some blinds or move the kiosks out of the sun. You will have more and happier patrons.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 2
  • Concession User Rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 2

Terrible experience at the concession booth

October 24, 2017

There was approximately 50 people in line at the concession booth when we arrived at the theatre. We soon realized that some of the people in line were purchasing their movie tickets at the concession booth. The ticket booth is now closed, replaced with machines. There was not enough staff at the concession booth to accommodate the number of people. It took 30 minutes to purchase our popcorn and it was not good at all

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 1.6
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 2
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

smells like feet !

September 09, 2017

Large selection of movies but the theater has a foot odor kind've smell .Also very run down looking . Half the audience, in every movie I've seen here ,are constantly fiddling with their cell phones,but you never see any employees making a walk through .It's like they have your money so who cares what goes on .

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 1.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 2
  • Concession User Rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 1
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

No longer able to get Pizza ??

September 01, 2017

One of the things I loved about going to the theater was having some Pizza. unfortunately Scotiabank Theater in Winnipeg no longer has Pizza available, what a DISAPPOINTMENT :(

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 2.4
  • General Experience User Rating: 2
  • Concession User Rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

Watch too loud

July 30, 2017

Went two movies last Thursday Great shows Dunkirk for me and Dispickable Me for rest of family Both shows so loud ears were ringing after shows Everyone upset over how loud the shows which also made the dialog distorted and hard today hear Still a nice theater. Just find the volume button

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3
  • General Experience User Rating: 3
  • Concession User Rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 1
  • Customer Service User Rating: 3

Terrible service

April 25, 2017

Me my friend and 2 children were treated very unprofessionally we asked for an extra bag to put the popcorn in so we can actually mix the seasoning in it without having to waste money by throwing half of it out. They wouldn't do that. We even offered to PAY ( which brings in more money ) for another bag and they still wouldn't do that after stating how ridiculous that was and leaving not even getting 10 feet away the staff are all huddling together looking at us and laughing ... We asked for another bag that's it that's all nothing to talk about nothing to laugh about. I will never be returning to his theatre do to this expirence so there goes that money for you guys. You want customers have good service it's as simple as that. Very unprofessional you wanna talk about people at least wait until they are out of the room.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 1
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 1
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

Rude at when coming in

December 30, 2016

Hands full with popcorn, drinks, purse and jacket.... hand my tickets ask for the 3D Glasses.... told me to get it out of the bin.... not very happy.... no picture during the opening credits.... really, really bad experience...is this how the new Scotia Theater going to treat their customers willing to go some where else... never been treated that badly ever....

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 1.6
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 1
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

BS 3D Price Gouging

December 29, 2016

Great theater, but pure BS that this theater couldn't offer regular playing times before 5:40pm that are NOT 3D times. I would recommend you boycott this greedy un-caring non family theater purely on the basis's of no convenient regular movie veiwing times.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 4.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 5

Good Experience but Movie times are Weird

December 09, 2016

I have been to this theatre many times, but the timing of movies seems weird. Maybe it is just the site malfunctioning but (for films that have a 3D version) all of the regular showings seem to be in the late afternoon while the evening showings are ALL 3D, which makes no sense to me. I just want to see a regular movie on a tuesday night with a friend, but 3D makes me motion sick. It is kind of a terrible set up. Unless it is just the website being weird.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3.8
  • General Experience User Rating: 3
  • Concession User Rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 4
  • Customer Service User Rating: 4

Worst management

April 16, 2016

We asked for a refund because theatre was full, and was refused by "Parker S" even though the movie hadn't begun. This manager was rude to us, said it was our own fault we didn't get there earlier. He was also condescending and abrupt to the other staff who were trying to help get us a refund. I will not return to this theatre!

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 2.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 3
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1