Thank you for rating this theater!

Scotiabank Theatre Winnipeg

User rating: 2.74 Read Reviews | Rate Theater

817 St. James Street Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3L3

(204) 774-1001 | View Map


2.74 / 5

User rating: 2.74

Based on 18 votes and 16 reviews



  • General Ratings
  • General Experience User Rating: 2.38888888888889
  • Concession User Rating: 2.64705882352941
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3.11764705882353
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 3.05882352941176
  • Customer Service User Rating: 2.47058823529412

 

Please rate this theater

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theater Presentation

  • Customer Service


Theater Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 16

May 14, 2015

keep up the good work polo park doing a wonderful job

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 5
  • General Experience User Rating: 5
  • Concession User Rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 5

BS 3D Price Gouging

December 29, 2016

Great theater, but pure BS that this theater couldn't offer regular playing times before 5:40pm that are NOT 3D times. I would recommend you boycott this greedy un-caring non family theater purely on the basis's of no convenient regular movie veiwing times.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 4.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 5

Popcorn was terrible!!

February 12, 2014

Lots of kernels, not hot tastes like a cheaper topping, Disappointing

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3.8
  • General Experience User Rating: 4
  • Concession User Rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 4

Good Experience but Movie times are Weird

December 09, 2016

I have been to this theatre many times, but the timing of movies seems weird. Maybe it is just the site malfunctioning but (for films that have a 3D version) all of the regular showings seem to be in the late afternoon while the evening showings are ALL 3D, which makes no sense to me. I just want to see a regular movie on a tuesday night with a friend, but 3D makes me motion sick. It is kind of a terrible set up. Unless it is just the website being weird.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3.8
  • General Experience User Rating: 3
  • Concession User Rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 4
  • Customer Service User Rating: 4

Bad Popcorn

February 12, 2014

I just attended a movie at polo park. Great movie, heat was on, staff friendly, but your popcorn was a failure! It was the worst popcorn, lots of kernals, terrible. The sign says fresh and hot, I left over 80% of my popcorn sitting in the bag on the floor. My next movie I'll make sure to eat before the show because your popcorn needs work. Have you lowered the grade of popcorn? When you upgrade please let us know and we will try it again. Till then no way!

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 4
  • Concession User Rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 4
  • Customer Service User Rating: 2

No help available

November 30, 2017

Was meeting a friend and her daughter for Wonder. Showed up at theatre >30 minutes before movie was to play. No one present at ticket selling till. Went to purchase a ticket at the electronic kiosk and was blinded by the sun. Besides having trouble seeing the screens could not get the curser to move beyond the first page. Tried other kiosks. The screen read that the movie was sold out for this date. Someone should always be available to purchase tickets from and someone should be there to assist people with these machines when they are having trouble (just like at the airport). Please get some blinds or move the kiosks out of the sun. You will have more and happier patrons.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 2
  • Concession User Rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 2

Watch too loud

July 30, 2017

Went two movies last Thursday Great shows Dunkirk for me and Dispickable Me for rest of family Both shows so loud ears were ringing after shows Everyone upset over how loud the shows which also made the dialog distorted and hard today hear Still a nice theater. Just find the volume button

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 3
  • General Experience User Rating: 3
  • Concession User Rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 1
  • Customer Service User Rating: 3

Not Very Disabled Friendly...

January 11, 2016

For a relatively new building, the Silver City Polo Park venue is a disgrace to the disabled and the designer should be ashamed of themselves. Yes, there is a ramp to get into the building, this is true. However, the nice visuals of a staircase seemed to take priority over disability access -- either that, or accessibility for the handicapped was an afterthought. Oopsies. Because of this, the ramp to get in the building is way off to the far left side, not even close to the handicapped parking, on the far right. It's like taking a detour to Grand Forks first for a wheelchair -- especially in the wintertime. Inside isn't much better, either. Can the disabled purchase their tickets for themselves and their attendant with the terminal machines like everyone else? Nope. The only way is for us to stand in long line-ups to get them. Discrimination? I would say YES. Wheelchair seating? Yes there is, which is nice. What isn't so nice is that each theater only has a couple of designated wheelchair spots which are all just a couple rows back from the first. So while most people can choose where they sit and how far away they view their movies from the screen, wheelchair bound people don't have that luxury. You either sit on the left side practically at the front, or the right side practically at the front. Those are the only two options. Finally, Customer Service stinks. I can use my Scene points to pay for my ticket even though I have an Access card, thank you very much. Yet I was told by an employee AND the manager that I couldn't -- even though I've been doing it that way for years. Even called head office and they said I was right, too. Silver City Polo Park really needs to get someone in there to start making changes that acknowledge the disabled and make it more handicapped friendly because for a few years now, it has been an epic failure.

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 2.6
  • General Experience User Rating: 3
  • Concession User Rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 2
  • Customer Service User Rating: 2

No longer able to get Pizza ??

September 01, 2017

One of the things I loved about going to the theater was having some Pizza. unfortunately Scotiabank Theater in Winnipeg no longer has Pizza available, what a DISAPPOINTMENT :(

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 2.4
  • General Experience User Rating: 2
  • Concession User Rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 5
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1

Worst management

April 16, 2016

We asked for a refund because theatre was full, and was refused by "Parker S" even though the movie hadn't begun. This manager was rude to us, said it was our own fault we didn't get there earlier. He was also condescending and abrupt to the other staff who were trying to help get us a refund. I will not return to this theatre!

  • Overall Rating User Rating: 2.2
  • General Experience User Rating: 1
  • Concession User Rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User Rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User Rating: 3
  • Customer Service User Rating: 1