1917

Thank you for rating this movie!

1917 Movie Poster

3.51 / 5

User rating: 3.51

Based on 468 votes and 173 reviews


  • User rating: 3.51 45.91%
  • User rating: 3.51 13.64%
  • User rating: 3.51 6.82%
  • User rating: 3.51 12.73%
  • User rating: 3.51 20.91%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?




Type the code:


 

Showing 121 to 160 of 173

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2020

Very artistic and realistic

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2020

The re-creation of the trenches, no man’s land and period accurate wear are to be commended. The movie walks a fine line rather well telling a plausible plot and a few rather suspect scenarios

User review rating: 2 January 20, 2020

SLOW-the last 10 minutes ALMOST made it a worthwhile use of my time. Don't pay attention to the rave reviews like I did.

User review rating: 4 January 19, 2020

Difficult to believe entire basis of story, that trench runners would be asked to cross enemy front lines to deliver a message. Could have been dropped by plane in 10 minutes. But there would be no movie then. Unbelievably, you also wont believe the first 75 minutes of the movie takes place in REAL .time. There are no edits or cuts. Everything had to go perfectly!! That alone is worth the price of admission. Impossible to imagine how non stop filming was done in a WWI battlefield environment. Watch and marvel. The movie itself was also captivating, as long as you remember this is an attemp to depict a supposedly true story told by the directors actual WWI experience.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2020

Amazing

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2020

i like the movie because in the short span of this movie ...i get the sense of how possibly it was like for the individual soldier in the trenches. The tedium most of the time for the soldier in the battle area with the constant fear of being killed at any time.

User review rating: 4 January 19, 2020

very slow and boring, its like you are there dealing with with sporadic action just like in the trenches

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2020

A beautiful movie that only an adult mind can appreciate.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2020

Unrealistic . Stupid storyline , it would never happen.

User review rating: 3 January 18, 2020

My husbands choice but was ok for a war story one mans story and I’m sure there are so many, I felt like it was an assault on my senses made me tense.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2020

Great movie! Great acting.

User review rating: 2 January 18, 2020

Slow

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2020

Great movies and cast!!!!! I would go and see it again.

User review rating: 2 January 18, 2020

The story could have been told in 10 minutes. Long, flat and tedious.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

A Very strong movie clearly depicting the insanity of war and the conditions under which very young men fought died and were wounded. It tells the story of determination in carrying out a mission, despite incredible odds, of one soldier attempt to save his fellow countrymen from death and destruction. It was a well paced [production full of surprises around every corner.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

It was Great.

User review rating: 1 January 17, 2020

Depressing

User review rating: 2 January 17, 2020

A mediocre movie. Certainly didn't live up to its hype.

User review rating: 4 January 17, 2020

This lasted about 4 years, amazing that survivors didn’t go insane. If this is a real interpretation it’s sure depressing.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2020

interesting story - lousy movie.

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2020

Two hours of depressing scenes.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2020

Tremendous camera action/control

User review rating: 1 January 16, 2020

Unbelievable, explosions where the main character doesn't get hurt, German soldiers that cannot hit anyone

User review rating: 3 January 16, 2020

Two guys, seemingly unaffected by the monstrous trench warfare and slaughter, go from a to b. The only interesting part is the one twist here. The random events/scenes thrown together as a hodgepodge prevent an actual storyline; it's just a collection of short stories. Hard to stay awake after first hour of getting nowhere. Lack of heroism and honest fear did give it integrity. The problem wasn't bad acting; there was no acting.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2020

Stupid movie. Totally artificial. Made of plaster and silicone, with no semblance of reality, in spite of the fact that it pretentiously tries to pass as authentic history. No sense of place. No sense of reality. The real soldiers in the trenches were called “les poilus” because they couldn’t shave. A far cry from the clean- shaven actor we see. The real fields were devastated and there was no sense of ‘magic realism’. The war was a devastating disaster for all involved, not a 2-day miracle!

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2020

Was not interesting. Solders looked like statues in some of the scenes.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

Cinematography is Drone amazing .. almost no shot cuts. No stars makes for realiism. Exhilarating and exhausting action. No stars makes for wishing there were stars.

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2020

Oh boy, I've gotta stop reading the press reviews and all the hype. This is at best - a mediocre movie - the plot line is a little too unbelievable and the acting is far from good. Cinematography is good though. 3 stars is absolute most I'd give it, but then I thought that Mexican movie" ROMA" was such a load of rubbish....maybe it's me, maybe I have no idea what a good movie is supposed to be...maybe.....

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2020

great cinemography

User review rating: 2 January 15, 2020

very slow and boring. not very much action

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2020

Good, not great, overall movie which holds your attention. Actors give good believable performances.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

Both of my grandfathers served, in the Army, during WWI. One passed away before I was born and the other wouldn't talk about it. I read reviews that slammed the movie for lack of "Fighting". But you sure saw the aftermath of the fighting. This was as much of an anti-war movie as I have seen.

User review rating: 3 January 14, 2020

Not what I expected, needed more action. The two young actors were good in their roles. Dragged and fell asleep part way through.. Yes, I understand what the movie was about but was quite dull

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2020

Excellent movie it showed things I never thought about. Those who didn't like it well tough because if you paid attention this is only partially what it was in the trenches. I had the privilege of meeting my grandmother's brother who was over there, it was hell. A hell you will never be able imagine.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2020

Really shows the trench war fare of WW1 with all it's quagmire of mud and the malodorous smell associated with human and horse death. How insignificant life becomes in times of war whither it's the open field Gettysburg or the jungles of Vietnam. And all man is to live in peace under a tree and in the tall grass. I notice all the people in the theatre were all senior, not one young person. Did you notice that ?

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2020

It never gets where ever it’s going.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2020

This film is amazing. Not only does it depict a day in the trenches during WWI, but it is beautifully shot and shows the basic horror of fighting for survival. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone. Please ignore the negative comments on here. Not every war movie needs to be non-stop action to convey the horrors of the actual war itself.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2020

This movie is spectacular. Loved it.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2020

What were people expecting from this movie? Clearly some wanted just fighting, and glorious victorious moments with the usual musical fanfare nonsense, melodramatic cloying nonsense, and a big win at the end. Grow up. This was a spectacular movie. Go see it, if you are mature enough to handle it.

User review rating: 2 January 12, 2020

Very little of actual fighting, sorry but the war scenes were lacking. Great screens of trenches and a lot of solders but not really fighting. Yes I was disappointed in this movie.