Alien: Covenant

Thank you for rating this movie!

Alien: Covenant Movie Poster

3.07 / 5

User rating: 3.07

Based on 224 votes and 71 reviews


  • User rating: 3.07 34.38%
  • User rating: 3.07 13.54%
  • User rating: 3.07 6.25%
  • User rating: 3.07 16.67%
  • User rating: 3.07 29.17%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 71

User review rating: 4 July 23, 2017

Alien explained a lot more than the previous pics. So this is like Star Wars in that this explains the beginning.

User review rating: 1 July 16, 2017

I will not give this movie one star but I don't have that option to choose. It is grotesque and the vibe is pure negativity. It's message is so negative that it brings humanity to its lowest form.

User review rating: 0 June 29, 2017

Worst alien movie sinces Prometheus I actually fell asleep

User review rating: 1 June 14, 2017

This movie made you depressed, didn't feel good after watching it.

User review rating: 1 June 14, 2017

Boring! Save your money.

User review rating: 2 June 10, 2017

It was very disappointing all just killing for the sake of killing. That android killed the other android and he then brought those tired aliens with them to their intended planet the end.

User review rating: 5 June 10, 2017

Probably one of the best iif not best of the alien franchise and answers questions from where promethius ended, takes the story in a brand new direction rather than 'alien vs survivors' only. Aliens are meaner, Fassenbender is better and it keeps the suspense as usual. People who are complaining don't have the creativity to see something new in their fav franchise.

User review rating: 2 June 08, 2017

I am a huge Alien fan and loved Prometheus! I was excited to see this when i heard about it. The movie started off really well and thought ok, Ridley Scott has got it right again, but after 20min the movie went down hill, overly predictable, many gaps in story of the movie and inconsistent in some ways from Prometheus which i am not going to mention, it is almost as if the script was rewritten from the first 20min and someone new came in and did a cut and paste from the other Alien movies. About 6 people got up and walked out 30min into the movie, i should have done the same as everything at the 30 min mark in the movie. Save your money, watch it on TV when it comes out or go to the cheap theater. There is better movies to see and this one was a bust for me.

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2017

The movie was a good Alien movie that keeps the Alien saga alive. Let’s hope they will one day make a good Alien vs. Predator movie. The first one was good but the second one was far too dark and it totally ruined the movie.

User review rating: 5 June 04, 2017

One must really stretch one's intellect to allow for the catastrophically poor decision making on the part of the crew. Situations and outcomes that were perfectly obvious to the viewing audience bounced off the crew's skulls like a rubber ball off brick walls. The film was, nevertheless, sufficiently suspenseful and entertaining once they touch down on the planet. Rotten Tomatoes gives it a 71% favorability rating, and that seems about right.

User review rating: 5 June 03, 2017

Absolutely brilliant! Ridley Scott answered a lot of questions left unanswered in the previous Alien films, and added some new ones to be answered in future installations. One of the best of the Alien films, he returned to the tension of the original that made the moments of violence all the more gruesome and frightening.

User review rating: 1 June 02, 2017

Extremely annoying movie: drama queens and nonsense.

User review rating: 1 June 01, 2017

Very disappointed, poor everything. Was no sequel to Prometheus, just a bad movie.

User review rating: 5 June 01, 2017

I agree with the comments about the crew. Who selected that team and put them in charge of a colony and send those people into space. I would expect that crew in reality to have multiple Phd's each. Only the best and brightest for crew and from the military the most elite highly trained soldiers should command that ship and protect the colony on board. It was just silly watching the decisions that crew made. However it is Hollywood and it was made for entertainment. If they do not do stupid things there is no chance for a movie to show what could happen. So for excellent special effects, great action, horrific monsters the movie gets 5/5 stars. My wife and I were very entertained and look forward to the next movie. A great director that again knew how to keep the audience guessing as to what was going to happen next. A summer blockbuster that did a great job. I looked forward to seeing the movie and it was worth the wait. Don't go by the ratings as people just like to complain. It is an entertaining big budget movie that does answer questions from Prometheus.

User review rating: 5 June 01, 2017

It's slow to start, with unnecessary scenes just NEAR the beginning. It's also visually dull, de-saturated and de-illuminated; on the planet. Yet the story the storytelling is excellent. I loved the parallels to Prometheus' opening scene, it's commentary on creation & evolution and it's foreboding vision of what the transhuman movement may bring. Alien Covenant is a superior successor to Prometheus and left me very excited for what's to come.

User review rating: 3 May 31, 2017

i was disappointed; on many levels

User review rating: 5 May 31, 2017

I've been a Alien fan since I was three years old. It is good to have Ridley Scott back with this series. The movie was really good, interesting to look at, hope there will be another one.

User review rating: 1 May 30, 2017

If all astronauts were as freaking stupid as these folks are, we wouldn't have even made it to the moon.

User review rating: 1 May 30, 2017

I second the first person that said "No" .......No.

User review rating: 5 May 29, 2017

Great to see the classic scary aliens back!

User review rating: 4 May 29, 2017

I really enjoyed it. Nothing compares to the first one, of course, but I enjoyed it, One star reviews are just too harsh, in my opinion

User review rating: 4 May 28, 2017

Unlike my friend below me I am not an author and this is not a book...Good movie ...could be better ...could be a lot worse...I enjoyed it

User review rating: 2 May 27, 2017

Yet again, Hollywood has dropped the ball and produced another movie which makes the white guy ignorant, incompetent and a joke to humanity. Stupid people in charge, borderline children, crushed by emotions... Come on.. This is the crew that was picked for a interstellar colony? How did they get the job? Sending in more boxtops than anyone else!??? Hey let's risk it all to TRY and save several people! No back up crew? So if the original crew was killed, the 2000 plus colonists are out of luck.... No rules just right, command... A joke! Extremely disappointed. Simple plot,simple people, no character development, easily recognizable ending...never saw that coming... What could be worse??? Hey let's send the irreplaceable crew on a foreign planet without safeguards from the environment... ( What's the worst that can happen????).

User review rating: 2 May 27, 2017

A poor reimaging of Prometheus that attempts to answer what happened after Prometheus with about 5 min. or less of movie time. The rest of the movie is a bunch of idiots running around doing stupid stuff that gets them killed by some aliens. Poor script writing makes this nothing more than a shoddy place holder for the next one. Which will be just another place holder... and so on, until Hollywood learns a lesson.

User review rating: 4 May 27, 2017

very good movie, better than most in the franchise. forget what the naysayers tell you and see for yourself. I really like the way that they have set up the next installment and the questions that it answered from prometheus. sure it has some holes in the plot, what movie doesn't? -it's a MOVIE not "reality ". If you can suspend you're disbelief, required to watch most films, then what's the problem? Sheesh, people griping about the space suits? So called "go pro" cameras and all that silliness -- pay no attention to that negative vibe and just go and enjoy the movie.

User review rating: 1 May 27, 2017

Cheapens the "Alien Universe" - very disappointed

User review rating: 5 May 27, 2017

Unconventional ending, which I quite enjoy.

User review rating: 4 May 26, 2017

Movie was good, better than everything after the second alien. In order, alien, aliens, "with the marines ", then this one. All of you being over critical, get over it. Is there anything that ever tops the first one or two in any trilogy???? This movie also explains some things from Prometheus, which was nice. Hard core nerds, get over it!! I'm 48 and I remember when the first one scared the living life out of me. If your a nit picker and dissect everything, then yeah, life of movies in general all are a fail to you.

User review rating: 1 May 26, 2017

We got a good look at the aliens and they were impressive. Some logic and plot deficiencies that I found hard to overlook. Oh wait...there would be no story if they behaved like thinking professional explorers. Ending was too predictable. Overall, an insult to the intelligence of the audience.

User review rating: 1 May 26, 2017

Fail in so many ways at least I found out what happened from the last one but 5 minutes of good movie wasn't worth the major disappointment of the rest. Hollywood is lost in itself too much lately and not in touch with the rest of the world, the ivory towers of the east and west as they say

User review rating: 1 May 25, 2017

Colossal disappointment. Save your money!

User review rating: 1 May 25, 2017

Inferior to Prometheus in practically every possible way, and spoils the golden potential of that movie's mythology with a now muddled mess. Makes Elizabeth Shaw's survival in Prometheus completely pointless. What a waste!

User review rating: 2 May 25, 2017

No comparison to the original. Sometimes keeping it simple is best.

User review rating: 1 May 25, 2017

Worst alien movie ever. I fell asleep in it...

User review rating: 1 May 24, 2017

NO...

User review rating: 2 May 24, 2017

Disappointing follow-up to Prometheus that is business as usual in too many ways. Gets the legend aspects of the story right, and shows a nice array of creatures and effects, but should really give the audience some credit in terms of character and plot. This was the most predictable ending ever, with cliché characters making super stupid choices. Ending is not a twist so much as a let-down for fans.

User review rating: 2 May 24, 2017

Sorry. Disappointed ... i guess i will just go watch Aliens again :)

User review rating: 2 May 24, 2017

I am a huge fan of the Alien series. I have watched every single one multiple times and will in the future as well. This is one I honestly will never watch again. Talk about boring. It almost seemed like a low budget festival film that played off of nothing more than "Alien is a classic series so if we make something with an Alien it...it will be hit". Nothing special about the characters, many of the choices they made (though people make stupid choices in horror movies lol) were beyond unreasonable. Almost Fast and Furious levels of unreasonable and fake. I was extremely disappointed. Almost left the theater early. Not to mention it can't be that great if I accurately predicted every plot twist correctly. I'm sure they worked and tried hard, but they should change name and take this movie out of the Alien series.

User review rating: 5 May 23, 2017

A Balanced Blend of Actions & Story and A Promising Future This story that Covenant deals with is just very exciting. It proceeds from where Prometheus left us and continues to close the gap towards the first Alien movie. The action is great, the acting is amazing, and the graphics are outstanding. Covenant does leave us with a few unanswered questions, but you could surely understand a lot from it. A great movie.

User review rating: 1 May 23, 2017

I am so upset that I spent my hard earned money watching this terrible movie.