Arrival

Thank you for rating this movie!

Arrival Movie Poster

3.38 / 5

User rating: 3.38

Based on 320 votes and 104 reviews


  • User rating: 3.38 46.15%
  • User rating: 3.38 9.79%
  • User rating: 3.38 6.29%
  • User rating: 3.38 11.19%
  • User rating: 3.38 26.57%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 104

User review rating: 2 February 22, 2017

It seemed that something, eventually would be happening but it just kind of dragged until you wish it would hurry up and be over. Don't recommend.

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2017

Great movie! I can't understand why Amy Adams wasn't nominated for Best Actress. Brilliantly directed- thought provoking. Brought me to tears. I mean snot nose crying!

User review rating: 2 February 21, 2017

Poorly directed and weak script. Really a waste of time

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2017

Beautiful movie.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2017

Ignore the bad reviews of people who couldn't follow the plot. It is a movie that requires your full attention and respects its audience.

User review rating: 4 February 15, 2017

A very nice spin on the whole Alien theme.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2017

dissapointed. this wasn't a real alien movie, I didn't like the storyline. The music is so boring. Good actors, but what kind of movie is this? Contact and Prometheus was 10 times better. I am a movie goer, and if you want to do a real alien contact movie, you need to do better, kinda like contact meets independence day meets interstellar with mind blowing action and special effects.

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2017

Fantastic film. Could see it many times.

User review rating: 1 February 03, 2017

If I could have given this movie zero stars, I would have! This is the most boring movie since AI!! Plot was boring, and completely non-sensical. I am a fan of all of the actors in this movie, but wish I had not seen them subject their careers to this piece of drivel!

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2017

Just could not get into the casting. Amy Adams was totally miscast. The storyline was too predictable and slow. No way one person could solely communicate with the aliens...dull. The aliens should have destroyed the script.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2017

Ignore the bad reviews as this was a good movie. Don't get many these days so when it happens, as it did here, it's worth watching.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2017

Excellent movie. Well acted and great story.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2017

This was one of the most boring movies I have seen in a long time. The plot developed very slowly and wasn't worth the wait. The lead actress, Ema Adams, was very weak in her performance and just had a stupid confused look on her face. Hard to believe that the US government would trust such a person in such a critical situation. But then again, maybe Trump would appoint her. Don't waste your time on this movie unless you have trouble sleeping in a theatre

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2017

One of the best movies I've ever seen! Don't see this thinking it's a typical alien movie. I love those too...but this is more of a human story. Days later...I'm still thinking about it.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2017

sheer waste of your money and time, to watch it.

User review rating: 1 January 06, 2017

The most overrated movie of the holiday season. I love a good alien flick, but this film was just plain dull and went nowhere. Yes, the acting was good, but the story was as bland as can be. The ending bordered on ridiculous. If you want to watch a quality film about cracking a foreign language or code see The Imitation Game instead.

User review rating: 4 January 05, 2017

Really enjoyed Arrival you had to think and read between the lines a little. Bright positive look into other potentials for life. I am still disappointed in Manchester by the Sea I will never trust the critics after that sad disappointment

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2017

If you have even the most elementary grasp of logic or physics, RUN AWAY!!!!! If you know anything about filming and want to see how to ruin a movie by using an F1.0 lens to eliminate any significant depth of field, then this is the movie for you... The logic is deeply flawed, the science gibberish, and the attempts to use shallow depth of field to be artsy are amateurish at best. I left the theatre with a headache.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2016

Total waste of our money, I slept through most of it. The loudness woke me at times.

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2016

Not much to this movie. Did not seem understandable and ultimately did not make much sense. I was having to fight to stay awake which is not a sign of a compelling movie. Wait for the DVD release or Netflix.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2016

Very well acted, and well choreographed throughout. (No that doesnt mean dancing). Warning: IF you're shallow and looking for a film that entertains you without expecting you to think, then don't see this one. Try "Secret Life of Pets" or something really simplistic. Otherwise, you will watch this, wish it was over because you didn't understand the nuances in it, and ultimately, you'll give it one star rating like the nice folks above. ;)

User review rating: 1 December 23, 2016

Wow, if only I had a lamp with a magic genie I would have wished I had never sat in the theatre to slumber through this. So painfully boring and slow moving for me; but then, I am not one of these brilliant five star raters who can see beauty and meaning in watching icicles form and melt; if you are of average intelligence and bored easily; forget this.

User review rating: 1 December 23, 2016

Wish I didn't watch it...

User review rating: 1 December 23, 2016

Sooo bad :(

User review rating: 1 December 20, 2016

Could actually be Amy Adams worst work to date. If I had my way, I'd give it half a star, just for Forest Whitaker.

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2016

What I would actually call a science story. Not a goofy fantasy

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2016

Simply complex! You will be contemplating this movie for days. Acting is awesome and it left you thinking and thinking and thinking.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2016

Absolutely brilliant. For those who hated it, this is not a movie, it is a film about ideas: language, memory and desire (past and future); it is about communication and its centrality to all life. If you are interested in only special effects with people killing one another, and simple good side versus bad side, go see Star Wars.

User review rating: 2 December 17, 2016

I wish I had waited to see it on Netflix. I finished watching this movie because I paid for it. I kept hoping it was going to get more interesting and speed up, but it never did, and the ending was anticlimactic.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2016

DIDNT GET IT UNTIL A FEW THINGS WERE SAID NEAR THE END OF THE MOVIE. MADE ME THINK THROUGH THE WHOLE MOVIE.NICELY DONE. WILL SEE IT AGAIN AND B ABLE TO UNDERSTAND IT THROUGHTHE MOVIE.ADAMS IS AWSOME AS USUAL.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2016

very well done

User review rating: 2 December 16, 2016

Still waiting for a quality Sci Fi movie a la Aliens. This isn't the one. Positive reviews drew me to it. But silly aliens (hands ?) and go no where plot left me empty. Like many sci fi attempts this one begins with promise but let's you down at the end. Pass on this one.

User review rating: 1 December 16, 2016

Garbage.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2016

Freaking love it.

User review rating: 1 December 15, 2016

Terrible Terrible Boring waste of time movie. We should be paid to sit through this sleep fest .

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2016

Beautifully done, excellent plaot and great acting. I loved every minute of it. So realistic too and thus very believable. You never know what will happen next.

User review rating: 1 December 13, 2016

Most overrated movie of the year.

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2016

Nice atmospheric movie. Sincerely, Independence Day didn't happen...

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2016

I'm surprised by some of the comments. I actually don't love sci-fi and thought this was a great story with interesting twists at the right times.

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2016

I love sci-fi, but this film was very disappointing, to me. Although I am a big fan of Amy Adams, and she was very good in this film, it was just not interesting to me and eventually pretentious and pointless. You could have driven a Mack truck through the plot holes in the script, but I will give the films "look" a shout out as being spare but effective. I just wish the "reveal" had been different and not so mundane. I thought the same thing of "Interstellar" and "Contact".