Bad Times at the El Royale

Thank you for rating this movie!

Bad Times at the El Royale Movie Poster

3.78 / 5

User rating: 3.78

Based on 108 votes and 42 reviews


  • User rating: 3.78 52.00%
  • User rating: 3.78 16.00%
  • User rating: 3.78 10.00%
  • User rating: 3.78 2.00%
  • User rating: 3.78 20.00%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 42

User review rating: 1 November 19, 2018

Started as a 2 star movie, very slow , if your I.Q.is about 80 or you like the power rangers you will enjoy this movie. They should have hired the person who made the trailer to edit the rest of the movie.

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2018

This is a rare movie. Rich plot development and good cast. Well acted. I think the people who gave it a low rating, didn't understand it or left before the plot really developed. Truly worth seeing.

User review rating: 3 November 09, 2018

another psycho without norman bates and other plot twists thrown in.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2018

I enjoyed this movie tremendously.

User review rating: 3 November 03, 2018

Could be called Bad Time at Cal Neva Lodge. Which I am sure they were thinking about when they wrote this. Location aside, this is a movie that plays on genre picture. Think of Quentin Tarantino making a parody of his own movies. With the backdrop of Vietnam and all that 70s vibes going on. Fun maybe, but by no mean great!

User review rating: 5 November 01, 2018

This is the best movie I have seen in ages!,, it goes beyond five star!,, loved it!,,

User review rating: 4 October 31, 2018

An excellent quirky period piece set in a time that no longer exists. While there is some predictably, there are also some interesting twists. Love the motel itself, it’s almost a character in the movie. There is quite a bit of violence, but not unexpected if you watched the trailer.

User review rating: 1 October 28, 2018

It was horrible. Actually walked out. It was boring with no excitement. Save your money.

User review rating: 3 October 28, 2018

No, not pulp fiction worthy, but kept my attention. Always a problem if there is no actor you care about.

User review rating: 0 October 27, 2018

Fantastic movie,the time flew by. The best movie ive seen in years

User review rating: 4 October 25, 2018

Good acting, fast action,but a bit too much gratuitous violence..

User review rating: 2 October 25, 2018

It pretty much was a good movie goes from one story to another as far as how all the people meet and how it changed their lives. At times it can be slow …...but bamm action hits and draws you back in...

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2018

Intriguing, enticing and atmospheric. I was engrossed in wondering just why are each person was here in this strangely compelling motel setting. I found myself immersed from the benevolent beginning to the fiercely fabulous finish! Bridges, Hamm, Fanning, Hemsworth all the cast was superb! And the twist near the end was extra gravy on top of this smorgasbord of a movie.

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2018

Exceeded expectations! Went to the movie to relax the brain and ended up having a full cranial workout. The only issue is the length of the movie. Anything over 2 hours has some unnecessary filler but I’ve seen worse in terms of fillers.

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2018

Unique and different , was on the edge of my seat the whole time trying to fogure out the next move !, I loved it!,, certainly entertaining!,,

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2018

Great characters! Strong plot. LOTS of suspense!

User review rating: 1 October 22, 2018

Boring no sense movie. Absolute yawner. Best part of film was leaving for restroom breaks.

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2018

Cast, music, directing were great!

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2018

Great movie, only confusing and disconnected if you don't keep up. Cast and acting were great. Leaves some open ends for you to wonder about or construct your own answers. Some periodic violence. The whole audience was totally quiet during the movie, no one left.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2018

You need your thinking cap on for the movie, only disconnected and confusing if you don't keep up with the action. Yes, some violence periodically, acting and cast were very good.

User review rating: 1 October 20, 2018

Probably the worse movie I have seen.

User review rating: 1 October 20, 2018

The movie was disconnected and confusing. The acting was terrible. I agree with one of the commenters here that it is one of the worst movies I've ever seen.

User review rating: 1 October 19, 2018

Actually one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Not sure why filmmakers try so hard to discuss the audience with such violence. I just think enough already why keep filling people's heads with tragedies and violence. There's too much of it in the world.

User review rating: 5 October 19, 2018

Great Acting!! A real story with suspense and good story line I loved how each persons story was revealed. A movie with substance like the movies of old. Will go see it again, it’s different.

User review rating: 5 October 18, 2018

I really liked this movie. It’s different and a little quirky. Very good acting and a good mix of activity in the story line. Some good music also.

User review rating: 5 October 18, 2018

If you check out this movie, you may not check out of the El Royale! A great mystery thriller and the acting is very good and you will be entertained!

User review rating: 3 October 18, 2018

Wasn’t quite sure what to make of this movie, I would say it’s in the style of a Quentin Tarantino movie. It was kind of odd, but well done, and it kept you wondering what was going to happen. It’s just confusing as to how the whole story came about in the first place.

User review rating: 5 October 17, 2018

I loved the style, the acting and the suspenseful story that was filled with surprises.

User review rating: 1 October 17, 2018

Walked out of the movie not really feeling much of anything. Seems like the writer was trying to be intellectual or clever in creating this but wow.... missed the mark. Just a blank movie with failed effort to create some meaning or a pop culture film. Won't recommend.

User review rating: 5 October 16, 2018

Dark & delicious! Top notch story, acting & pacing. A full course meal . So well done!

User review rating: 3 October 16, 2018

The first 2/3 of this movie draw you in , then the writer smoked some pot and it turned into Manson family meets Quentin Tarantino. To long , had 3 people snoring around me .

User review rating: 4 October 16, 2018

Unpredictable! Good cast!

User review rating: 5 October 15, 2018

A great script, plot, acting and original idea. The one star review below is so silly. This must be a 12 year old boy's review! Go see this very exciting film!!!

User review rating: 5 October 15, 2018

This is a movie for the literate: It moves along slowly--with great plot development. The movie takes place in a past (and an even further past). Much of the fun of the movie is trying to place what action is happening when. If you are a young person (under 55) you may enjoy the action while not understanding the many references called up by the music, the videos. For me, it was great in capturing a major facet of the 1960's--including Vietnam; the acts of the Manson family, the FBI, and, of course the violence and rage. I was there; and, I remember.

User review rating: 1 October 14, 2018

Stupid movie. Waste of 2 hrs. A star studded cast doing nothing worthwhile.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2018

Great exciting script with knock out perfomances from everyone especially Jeff Bridges, Chris Hemsworth, Lewis Pullman, Jon Hamm and newcomer, Cynthis Erivo. If you like Quentin Tarantino and the Cohen Brothers, you will love this film.

User review rating: 5 October 13, 2018

Great all around flick ,it had everything , suspense ,action and comedy mixed together . If you like Quentin Tarantinos style of film making you'll love this.

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2018

Finally a movie where you have no idea how it is going to end up. A delicious journey with twists and turns that completely holds your interest and attention to the very end.

User review rating: 4 October 12, 2018

I didn’t know how to rate this movie. It certainly isn’t a five star. But I liked the movie, so I am giving it a four star. The acting was great. I liked the storyline. Music was great. It reminds me of a Kill Bill movie. It was to long though.

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2018

Terrific