Battle of the Sexes

Thank you for rating this movie!

Battle of the Sexes Movie Poster

3.05 / 5

User rating: 3.05

Based on 38 votes and 15 reviews


  • User rating: 3.05 21.05%
  • User rating: 3.05 31.58%
  • User rating: 3.05 10.53%
  • User rating: 3.05 5.26%
  • User rating: 3.05 31.58%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 15 of 15

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2017

Aside for too much time spent on the relationship between Billie Jean and her lesbian lover, an overall well done movie which I enjoyed. The tennis seemed on the slow side compared to the present day level of top women players but still good enough. NIce that there was no bad language , at least that I could recall. Emma Stone and Steve Carell were good in their roles. Enough funny moments. I watched the original match back in 1973 and was pulling for Bobby Riggs. In retrospect ,pleased that Billie Jean won , especially after what she and the other women players went through.

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2017

Very well done-the main theme was about Billie Jean fighting for equality (equal pay for women in the tennis world)-no idea why it got classified as a comedy as it definitely wasn’t-it was based quite factually on a true story and portrayed it very well I thought

User review rating: 4 October 21, 2017

Writing and acting were very good.

User review rating: 4 October 17, 2017

well done film popcorn fun except the lez gay thing, but beside that excellent movie

User review rating: 3 October 14, 2017

3.5 out of 5 I enjoyed this movie. I thought there was a great deal of depth and character to it. Emma Stone, Steve Carell and Bill Pulman were excellent--as was Elizabeth Shue. These times did exist and still do, in some racist, sexist circles. A little slow at the beginning, but hang in there. Really good writing!

User review rating: 1 October 13, 2017

Distorted history. We really are in Orwellian times. Anyone who lived through those times will not want to bother. I thought I was watching a parallel universe unfolding. If not for the wardrobe, and the vehicles, I would have thought this was another planet.

User review rating: 1 October 11, 2017

awful walked out!!!

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2017

Should be an Oscar contender for both actors Steve Carell and Emma Stone!

User review rating: 4 October 05, 2017

Good story, good acting.

User review rating: 4 October 02, 2017

I thought the movie was well done. The acting was really good, especially Steve Carroll.

User review rating: 2 October 01, 2017

Took a long time to actually get to the match. A lot of backstory about BJK so if that's what you are looking for then it'll be great for you

User review rating: 5 October 01, 2017

Two of today's sexiest performers in a very sexy movie. 5/5

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2017

It was sexist, and no hawt broads like gal gadot

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2017

Well done film ,looking behind the scenes of an important event in history. Great acting by all

User review rating: 3 September 28, 2017

3 1/2 stars “The Battle of the Sexes”, is based on the true story of the tennis match between Bobby Riggs and Billy Jean King. Excellent acting by Emma Stone (Billy Jean), Steve Carell (Boby Riggs), and supporting cast including Sarah Silverman (Gladys Heldman). It is incredible how much Emma Stone and Steve Carell actually look like the real characters. This movie is really about women’s rights and equality. Women had to work hard to be taken seriously in the early 1970’s. Despite being labelled a feminist, it is interesting to note that King, was Billy Jean’s married name. During this time in her life, she struggled with her sexuality, fully aware that homosexuality was not accepted by society. Although thoroughly entertaining and enlightening, the one major weakness of the film is that it never truly delves deep inside the characters. We do get a sense of some of the struggles they faced and how image and stereotyping were the norm. The side story of her arch nemesis, Margaret Court is only touched upon but can be a film unto itself. She was the true female tennis champion of her time, but lost against Bobby Riggs. Billy Jean was a fiercely driven person who took up the challenge. While Bobby Riggs was an overly confident, entertainer/gambling buffoon and up until this match, was lucky.

User review rating: 1 September 09, 2017

BORING