Book Club

Thank you for rating this movie!

Book Club Movie Poster

3.91 / 5

User rating: 3.91

Based on 400 votes and 161 reviews


  • User rating: 3.91 52.66%
  • User rating: 3.91 21.28%
  • User rating: 3.91 5.85%
  • User rating: 3.91 4.79%
  • User rating: 3.91 15.43%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 161

User review rating: 5 September 02, 2018

Loved, loved loved this movie!!!!

User review rating: 4 August 29, 2018

THE JOY LUCK CLUB for seniors. 4 out of 5 stars.

User review rating: 5 August 28, 2018

It was funny, real and open. Hilarious. Felt so good to laugh and enjoy the reality of today. Showed the truth. We all will be at the old age one day. It doesn't mean we are dead. We still have it! I liked the happy ending.

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2018

Creative, fast moving. Don't forget to catch the scenes during the credits!

User review rating: 1 July 28, 2018

I’m 58, maybe too young to appreciate the grandma humour. I thought it was embarasssingly juvenile.

User review rating: 5 July 10, 2018

Loved it! Great actresses

User review rating: 5 July 10, 2018

I laughed throughout the entire movie. The characters where awesome! It’s a laugh out loud movie. A must see for women.

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2018

Hilarious. Felt so good to laugh and enjoy these women's escapades. I'd go see it again. Innocently funny, kept me engaged throughout.

User review rating: 0 July 02, 2018

Loved this movie - unexpected turn, cute and a great movie is someone does not want to hear swearing, violence and explicit scenes. Nice for a change

User review rating: 2 July 01, 2018

Hate to be a Debbie Downer, but I was pretty disappointed with the movie. I found the plot predictable - each actor was chosen to fit the their shallow character - we have seen them all a thousand times. Fonda -sexually adventurous, Keaton - ditzy shy, Steenburgen - hippy dippy, Bergan- no nonsense. ho hum. There were a few funny parts, but no surprises whatsoever HOWEVER..... it was lovely to lay back in cool theatre, in luxurious seats and get away from it all.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2018

This was the film that inspired me to read the 50 Shades of Grey books.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2018

I loved it!.......the best movie I've seen in along time.

User review rating: 5 June 28, 2018

A light and enjoyable film. My favorite actresses all in one movie, how great is that? Inspiring, funny and it proves love can be around any corner. Age is just a number, it can happen to you. Who said seniors can't enjoy life? Want to view it again.

User review rating: 3 June 26, 2018

In my humble opinion, this little flick was a big waste of talent considering the five-star cast that did their best with a weak script. The writers just did not measure up to the task!

User review rating: 4 June 23, 2018

My daughter and I loved this movie!! So what if it wasn't perfect, you go to a movie for entertainment, and we had a great time watching it. And it was nice to have a mother/daughter day, complete with movie, lunch, and shopping! The few guys in the theater seemed to enjoy it, too, and laughed right along with the rest of us. Bet I go back and see this again!

User review rating: 5 June 22, 2018

SURPRISINGLY FUNNY!

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2018

What a fun movie! I saw it twice (once with my husband, once with girlfriends). I would definitely recommend it to the over 50's group.

User review rating: 2 June 18, 2018

It was stale, predictable, and the men were stiff!! I am over 80 and thought I have seen more passion on daytime tv!

User review rating: 3 June 16, 2018

Considering how many fabulous women stars were in this movie, the writing could have been much better. I found it weak and disappointing. Did they have to spend so much money on hiring the actresses that they couldn't afford good writers?

User review rating: 5 June 15, 2018

Loved it, will come to see a second time! Girlfriends night out.

User review rating: 5 June 14, 2018

Fabulously hilarious! Nice to see the old chick flicks again. Lots of laughs, you go girls!

User review rating: 4 June 14, 2018

Excellent! Went to see this film with my husband who was one of only eight men in the packed theatre. Will have to see it again as at times I could not hear the dialogue for the laughter. Loved the Candice Bergen character! This is definitely a film for mature women who will love it.

User review rating: 2 June 13, 2018

I looked forward to this film, especially because of the actresses. I knew it would be kind of campy but enjoyable. To my dismay at least two of the stars were frail and unsteady ambulating. Jane Fonda is too thin, very frail, and unsteady. She also seemed uneasy in the breezy part she was to play, most noticeable when in a diner with Don Johnson. I worried throughout the film that one or more would fall or passout.

User review rating: 5 June 13, 2018

It's a wondful enjoyable fun loving movie. :+)

User review rating: 1 June 13, 2018

Another "me too" moment reflecting the perversity of our times - see the scene where a horny woman puts a sex pill in the beer of her overly-aged and week man, for the laughs of the hordes of the feministas in the audience.

User review rating: 4 June 12, 2018

Excellent movie! Well written, witty and the best fun. The ladies really shine.

User review rating: 4 June 12, 2018

Funny situations. Great cast! Lots of laughs, giggles and snickers! A good movie to use an escape from the ugliness in the world.

User review rating: 5 June 11, 2018

I thought it was great fun. I do think that the younger crowd probably won't understand or appreciate the older humor.

User review rating: 1 June 10, 2018

I'm 63, hated it. Boring, tired, predictable w/ridiculously juvenile humor. Typical friend movie. Don Johnson excellent, Jane Fonda had all the talent of a piece of cardboard, Andy Garcia couldn't keep from showing his boredom while occasionally coming off as a creepy lecher. Craig T Nelson was embarrassing to his own talent. Want my time and money back.

User review rating: 1 June 09, 2018

If you are 60+ you will like it . All the humor is for old people . Not funny at all for anyone else. If you are younger you will think it is a boring waste of your time I was younger STAY AWAY IF YOU ARE UNDER 60

User review rating: 5 June 09, 2018

The movie was great!

User review rating: 2 June 08, 2018

contrived and unbelievable. This is a renter stay home, don't waste your money

User review rating: 5 June 08, 2018

Loved it ! I would see again...great talented ladies !

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2018

I enjoyed this movie immensely today I'm 62 years old and it spoke to me in so many ways but mostly the part about the daughters or children thinking that their parents are old and that they're dead that they're not alive but they have no desire for companion or For Love or compassion and that was really real to me great movie

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2018

Spectacular Move! Moving into my older years, this was wonderful to see that life can still be exciting no matter what age! I recommend this movie for its friendships, wit, humour, tough love and LOVE for each other.

User review rating: 0 June 07, 2018

Loved this movie being a 60+ woman now its fantastic to see shows with women friends our age in movies, can't wait to see more of them!

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2018

being a young 60---This was the funniest movie ive seen in quite awhile. totally relateable, lol.....planning to see it with 80 yr old parents....Andy Garcia, Be still my heart AHHHHHHH...great feel good movie!

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2018

Tremendous! OMG! Funny and felt like the story was based on some of the reality of every day life. Diane, Jane, Candice and Mary... Queen's of movie's!!!!! this kind of fun has not been done by Hollywood in I don't know how long. See it! So worth it! Fun and Laughs the whole movie.

User review rating: 5 June 06, 2018

so true for women of that age. Loved it

User review rating: 5 June 06, 2018

Great movie! I’m 51 And not a fan of aging, it was really nice to see a movie about a group of older women who are still living life, having fun, and inspiring others. This movie teaches us that we can be captivating, interested, and fun loving at any age...If you have your health, you have everything. Life doesn’t end because you get older, you just realize how much more valuable it is.