Darkest Hour

Thank you for rating this movie!

Darkest Hour Movie Poster

3.79 / 5

User rating: 3.79

Based on 320 votes and 100 reviews

  • User rating: 3.79 62.60%
  • User rating: 3.79 8.13%
  • User rating: 3.79 1.63%
  • User rating: 3.79 0.81%
  • User rating: 3.79 26.83%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 81 to 100 of 100

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2017

great movie -one of a kind

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2017

Excellent. Gary Oldman is Churchill.....one of the world's greatest statesmen.

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2017

I was very impressed. We need more movies like this.

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2017

Loved it! Gary Oldman is superb and the movie is great. I'm sure there are historical inaccuracies, but as a film goes it was fantastic!!! Definitely seeing this again!!

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2017

Gary IS Churchill. Very believing

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2017

Excellent! We need more movies like this. It is the perfect addition to the Dunkirk film.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2017

Great drama

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2017

Being a Churchill aficionado since the early 90's, I can say that this docu-drama is as factually correct as any that I have seen. This film presents the political wranglings of the day that he had to overcome before he could proceed in prosecuting the war. Little known facts; Churchill had a lisp (all his life) that blessed him with his signature speaking style! Also, he suffered (periodically) with deep depression which was also presented in the movie. If you are interested in WWII history watch on NETFLIX "Walking in Destiny" as together these give a good-n-deep understanding of the greatest man of the twentieth century.

User review rating: 1 December 26, 2017

As a former history teacher, I have to give it an F. As a historical fiction movie, it's at least 75% fiction. The idea that Churchill wavered and seemed to have considered a treaty with Hitler and that he jotted down the ideas for his greatest speech on a subway trip to Parliament (one which he never took) are ridiculous. Gary Oldman did a great job portraying a bumbling professor! I had to give the movie one star, because I wasn't given to option of going lower.

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2017

If one knows anything about WW 2, then you will appreciate how effective Winston was in turning the tide. He inspired his island nation. Certainly could not have done without America's help which came later. The month of May in 1940 was hell for Western Europe. Gary Oldman is truly masterful. An Oscar nod, perhaps.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2017

Both my husband and I loved this movie - Gary Oldman is incredible!! We feel the historical accuracy was very good - we’re going to see it again!!

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2017

An emotional roller-coaster of a film that takes you through the rise of Churchill and the political background with Neville Chamberlain and Lord Halifax trying to promote a peace treaty with Hitler. A very good feel of the period and brilliant acting from Gary Oldman. Matches perfectly with the movie 'Dunkirk'.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2017

It's a reminder of how very close Hitler came to world domination. This was a critical time in history, and probably no world leader ever came to power in a more pressure-packed situation. Churchill rose to his role increasingly over time, and Oldman rises to the Churchill role as the film progresses. Unlike others, I am not predicting Oscar to find a resting place on the Oldman mantle for his very good, but not great portrayal.................Guru Bob says...............88/100

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2017

Out standing! Finally a film that is not mindless dribble! If Gary Oldman doesn't get an Oscar for his performance as Winston Churchill I will very surprised. We need more movies like this and superheros punching each other or comedies for the intellectually challenged.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2017

Fantastic portrayal by Oldman . I can't speak to the historical accuracy of the film but the viewer gets a real sense of the the extreme pressures that must've been on Winston Churchill .I highly recommend this to any history buffs.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2017

Mr. Churchill's "We shall fight on the beaches" speech is beyond inspirational. Being forced into a position to make a choice between appeasement and saying no to tyranny and fighting for your country's survival for the way you want it to be in the future, put the weight of the future of his country, the island, squarely on his shoulders. Mr. Churchill did (at times) canvass about town to find an understanding of what the British people were thinking before unleashing one of the most positive political speeches ever, a speech that inspired, instilled determination, and rallied his countrymen and women to not give up no matter how bleak things appeared, to fight like you have never before. This leader, Mr. Churchill, had both British citizens interests and their future in mind and heart as well as what he believed as Prime Minister (a political post) to be politically the best course of action for their country, their island. His keen understanding and/or suspecting of Hitler's true grand plan and/or Mr. Churchill's gut intuition to oppose any agreement with Nazi tyranny, initially temporarily hindered by some opposition views in Parliment, to their credit, at a time when defeat appeared to be certain, makes Mr. Churchill's decision to fight back with all their might, to defend freedom over tyranny or appeasement, this was courageous, brave. Why? If the war had ended with the British defeat by the Nazis, Mr. Churchill's legacy would have been a different story today. He, of course, was fully aware of this. This review is in regards to Mr. Churchill, the man. The movie is worth seeing. If interested, do your history fact check afterward.

User review rating: 4 December 14, 2017

7/10 “Darkest Hour”: May 1940 is the month Sir Winston Churchill becomes Prime Minster of England. He is driven and passionate. He has war experience and knowledge. Churchill is different from his predecessor Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain and Foreign Secretary Lord Halifax and their desire to broker a peace deal with Hitler. Churchill has the insight and instinct not to trust Hitler. Many young British solders have their lives on the line and Churchill is a decision maker with tough choices, filled with risks and sacrifices. Churchill was hard on those around him and known to be an alcoholic: his forte was not wooing people to his side. Despite this, he was respected for his brilliance and foresight but it was his words, which inspired. Realizing that he was out of touch with the realities of the British people he went out to speak with the masses directly. This empowered Churchill and gave him the courage to decide that Britain would never surrender. This film does capture the mood of its time, a country on the brink of losing the war. There is great costumes and acting by Gary Olson (Churchill) and Ben Mendelsohn (King George VI). The stuffiness of the parliamentary chambers and war rooms, are contrasted to the opulence of the Royal palace. On the downside, at times it is hard to understand Churchill’s slurred words. Perhaps this was a reality, given the amount of drinking he did, although it rarely impacted on his clarity of vision. This film does capture the view’s attention, and despite being 2 hours, is not boring.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2017

SUPERB: the great man rallies the nation he loves on the brink of total disaster. All of Europe was gone -- Hitler was at England's throat, and only one man stood between Hitler and his scheme of world rule: Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill....with the heart of a lion. Oldman is magnificent as Churchill. Funny, biting, passionate. A must-see. Churchill himself said, "The nation had the lion's heart. I had the luck to give the roar."

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2017


User review rating: 5 November 25, 2017

Why is the recent movie, "The Darkesr Hour" being censored so it is prohibited to be shown in Lincoln, Nebraska?will we ever be allowed to see it in Marcus Theaters?