Dune

Thank you for rating this movie!

Dune Movie Poster

3.42 / 5

User rating: 3.42

Based on 212 votes and 77 reviews


  • User rating: 3.42 34.31%
  • User rating: 3.42 12.75%
  • User rating: 3.42 23.53%
  • User rating: 3.42 19.61%
  • User rating: 3.42 9.80%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?




Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 40 of 77

User review rating: 2 November 27, 2021

Extremely slow-paced; lots of same-old "epic comic-book violence"; acting performances are dull and all the same; Chalamet unimpressive. Too much sand.

User review rating: 2 November 27, 2021

Original was better.

User review rating: 1 November 26, 2021

You'd think a movie with so much money behind it could have afforded to light the sets. Everything looks like it was shot through a bowl of pea soup, and the ineffectual performance by the picture's lead pretty much sinks it.

User review rating: 4 November 26, 2021

Beautiful, long, impressive, majestic and serious - very, very serious.

User review rating: 4 November 26, 2021

The visuals.

User review rating: 3 November 24, 2021

Can't wait to see this -- movies like Dune are exactly why streaming was invented!

User review rating: 4 November 24, 2021

Finally saw this and I'm happy to say that apart from a couple curious casting decisions, this is one remake that's very much on par with the original. I would be interested in seeing a sequel.

User review rating: 2 November 23, 2021

I'm fairly certain author Frank Herbert had his reasons in making Chani's father a man.

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2021

I personally liked all of it! Enjoy, try it it!

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2021

This is an amazing adaptation of (the first half of) an incredible (and incredibly complex) novel. The cinematography is gorgeous, the acting is (for the most part) great and the visual effects are good enough to be almost unnoticeable. This movie doesn't spell everything out for you. There is a lot of foreshadowing, mystery, things left unresolved. If you aren't OK with that, then you should probably go see something else.

User review rating: 4 November 21, 2021

Awesome movie. Takes time to build its world. Easy to follow. A movie for grown ups with an attention span. This is not a robots/computers/aliens-type sci-fi. Should be seen on the biggest screen.

User review rating: 2 November 21, 2021

No one could have blamed Gurney for lopping off Paul's head several times throughout this movie. Here was a spoiled child who clearly thought his britches were bigger and more important than everyone else's.

User review rating: 2 November 21, 2021

Zendaya made for a beautiful Chani in the movie, but I didn't care for the portrayal of her father.

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2021

After reading the negative reviews of this movie, my expectations were low. Much to my pleasure, many of the complaints were dispelled. The importance of the spice is clarified at the beginning of the movie, so maybe some were in the popcorn line too long and missed that. The acting is appropriate for the content. This isn’t supposed to be “Steel Magnolias”. There are only glimpses of the worms in this first installment, so we’ll have to see if they look computer generated in Dune II. I liked the movie, and it was good entertainment for an afternoon. I look forward to seeing the second one.

User review rating: 3 November 20, 2021

Since sequels to old movies seem to be everywhere these days, I was surprised they didn't just start with Herbert's second book instead of going the remake route. That said, this is a decent retelling with a fine cast for the most part.

User review rating: 5 November 19, 2021

I liked the way that the story unfolded, and I really don't miss the projected thoughts of the characters. I was somewhat disappointed that the movie was over when it was starting to get exciting. I look forward to the sequel. I really hope that they don't make it a trilogy.

User review rating: 3 November 18, 2021

A nice companion piece to the original classic.

User review rating: 1 November 18, 2021

Nothing about this film, not the cheesy, boring dialogue which was hard to hear most of the time, the acting, storyline, dark lighting, overrated, overdone effects, From the trailers I thought it was going to be great...but nope, trailer is the best part, don't waste your money. That's what you get for putting quotas over creativity and talent.

User review rating: 1 November 18, 2021

One of the worst movies ever. Ridiculous story line, cheesy acting. They fight for a "spice" yes a spice, which they never explain (by showing an example) what it does, how powerful it is but only that its super valuable. They jump from one issue or plot to another, very disjointed, nothing relates, nothing makes sense, no logic, no reasoning, too many superpowers to make the audience believe any of it. Slow, boring, too dark. Instead of water being the most valuable resource (on a scorching hot sand planet) its spice. Give me a break. The writers must be brand new or full of themselves---as Simon would say, "Quite indulgent" and nothing about this film works, even the special effects are overdone, overrated simply and cannot make up for this disaster.

User review rating: 3 November 18, 2021

The digital sandworms were more convincing on the TV show. Other than that, I liked it.

User review rating: 3 November 17, 2021

Not the next Lord of the Rings, but Percy Jackson is a distinct possibility.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2021

Incredible special effects and I don't go for that kind of thing as one of the most important aspects of a film. Too bad it's only the first half of the saga. Definitely worth seeing if your a fan of the 80's Dune movie.

User review rating: 3 November 14, 2021

The Third Stage Guild Navigators in this version look like the aliens from Mars Attacks! "Don't run -- we are your friends!" If Paul ever gets ahold of his dad's Slim Whitman collection the Navigators are done for!!!

User review rating: 2 November 11, 2021

I think the casting of Chalamet in the lead severely compromised the epic sweep the movie was going for. As remakes go it's average at best, which was quite unexpected.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2021

I thought this was a great movie. Remakes are tough, and I think this one crushed it. This is an engaging and textured story with political power plays among multiple factions and characters, each with competing interests. There is no other way to tell this story other than to go slowly. If high action, low plot is your taste, this movie will disappoint. The casting of Paul's character is interesting. He's not the superhero as much as an average kid whose strength and talents become reveled as situations are thrust on him. There is no cape or Justice League logos on him. Just like the plot, his character is textured and we learn about him in drops and dribbles as his story unfolds. The cinematic effects were very well done and the music score was gripping. I look forward to seeing the second.

User review rating: 3 November 11, 2021

Okay remake.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2021

Excellent effects. Can't wait for the next one.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2021

Loved the sound, sets, acting, awesome filming. Character development could have been better. Loved it. I saw on IMAX. Wow!

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2021

Original was great - we don't need a remake.

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2021

Why do remake GOOD movies? Stick with the original.

User review rating: 4 November 09, 2021

This is NOT a ‘remake’ of an ‘original version’. It is a new film adaptation of the novel. It is NOT a ‘superhero’ movie or MCU film for kids. This is a sci-fi film for grownups. There will be a next chapter, just like there was for The Empire Strikes Back and The Fellowship of The Ring.

User review rating: 2 November 09, 2021

This is not a family friendly movie and we do not recommend it. We are superhero fans, but this was not a good representation of what typically is considered superheroes. Special effects were good, but it was slow moving and disjointed…plot was all over the place.

User review rating: 2 November 07, 2021

Producers of this remake were obviously hoping to piggyback off the publicity surrounding the release of the original DUNE on 4-K blu-ray for the first time. This retelling is not so much a bad movie as it is an unnecessary one.

User review rating: 2 November 06, 2021

Timothee Chalamet is a poor Paul Atreides.

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2021

Beautiful set pieces. The special FX were quite life like and the practical effects were very well done. Good start to the story of Dune.

User review rating: 4 November 03, 2021

Visually this movie is excellent, but the sound quality was poor. It seemed like the majority of the actors were mumbling throughout the movie. My friend remarked on this as well after the film. I look forward to seeing this film on either DVD or Blu-ray with subtitles.

User review rating: 3 November 03, 2021

acting not great, long boring

User review rating: 3 November 03, 2021

BORING AND LONG! SPECIAL EFFECTS ARE GREAT THOUGH! THIS IS ONLY PART ONE AND SORRY TO SAY I WON'T BE SEING PART TWO! ONE HAS TO BE IN A CULT FOLLOWING OF THE OLD MOVIE TO ENJOY THIS ONE!

User review rating: 3 November 02, 2021

You can definitely see the family resemblance between Chani and her father, Dr. Kynes. It made the story that much more real I thought.

User review rating: 2 November 02, 2021

Kyle MacLachlan, the known universe needs you...