Godzilla: King of the Monsters

Thank you for rating this movie!

Godzilla: King of the Monsters Movie Poster

3.74 / 5

User rating: 3.74

Based on 182 votes and 67 reviews


  • User rating: 3.74 50.57%
  • User rating: 3.74 14.94%
  • User rating: 3.74 9.20%
  • User rating: 3.74 8.05%
  • User rating: 3.74 17.24%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 67

User review rating: 4 July 29, 2019

I personally didn't care much for the film but my son Loved it and we saw it twice. I liked the monster visual effects and they had lots of monster action to keep him happy. I would recommend this to all Godzilla fans.

User review rating: 5 July 17, 2019

I've never seen a single Godzilla film, though of course I've seen stills of Godzilla and some of the rest of the crew. I LOVED this movie! Yeah, it was too long and the family drama was thin and the moralizing was a drag. But the monsters! Dear god! I felt like I did at the first Jurassic Park movie, wishing the humans would get the f off the screen and let the dinos have at it! LOVED Godzilla, Mothra, Rodan, and the drop-dead fabulous King Ghidorah! The final battle between the Big Guy and Ghidorah was terrific, very satisfying. I can see why others might have panned this flick, really wouldn't be for everyone, but if you like this kind of stuff it's a must see on the big screen. Later I looked up the classic flicks--so corny! Apparently our flick here was an homage to Destroy All Monsters? Never saw that either, but the lineup and the action seem similar. At any rate, this senior citizen, uninitiated to the genre, loved the hell out of this movie.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2019

👍👍👍

User review rating: 1 June 26, 2019

Boring film, don't waste your money.

User review rating: 2 June 25, 2019

the whole movie seemed as if they just threw it together with all the monsters. was very disappointed put me to sleep

User review rating: 5 June 25, 2019

It was a great movie I think they should do some fights during the day I was happy with it go Godzilla

User review rating: 2 June 23, 2019

Another rescue the family member cliche. Never once did anyone consider that saving millions might be more important. So much plot armor. The main characters repeatedly received fatal injuries but are fine. Only about 20 minutes of monster action.

User review rating: 1 June 23, 2019

This movie was pure crap!! It was painful to sit through this movie. I watched it in a beautiful new theatre and just wanted the suffering to end. The acting is pathetic!!! I wouldn't watch this even if free...

User review rating: 0 June 20, 2019

The film is SO BAD, it's like they were doing it on purpose---a satire of itself...………………...guru bob 16/100

User review rating: 4 June 18, 2019

A big improvement on the 2014 reboot (which was not bad in itself but missed the opportunity to actually show lots of Godzilla). This movie had lots of monster sequences and lots of monsters, including the big guy. And yes, the plot may seem ridiculous, but c'mon....it's a science fiction movie and like most things in science fiction movies, anything goes. As someone who loved Godzilla movies as a kid, I liked how they linked the origins of the monsters in this movie to some of the mythology in those old movies. I am sure there are die-hard Godzilla geeks who will still find things that didn't align 100% with the old stories, but I just appreciated the effort. Anyway, the verdict is simple: if you like giant monster movies, go see it. If you don't, then don't go see it. But don't go knowing that the plot will be thin and the characters two-dimensional just so you can complain about those aspects. This is a mindless summer popcorn flick that does exactly what it's supposed to do!

User review rating: 1 June 16, 2019

I wish I could give no stars for this abomination. There is no acting, there is no plot and the fight scenes with the monsters are lacking realism. The monsters appear and disappear haphazardly throughout the film. I know it's only a monster movie, but lets try to make a decent story. The whole premise is stupid an it is flogged to the point of no return. The film felt long and I couldn't wait for it to be over.

User review rating: 4 June 16, 2019

honestly i thought it was better then what the critics rated it it was entertaining i enjoyed it Its a big screen movie so thats where to see it four stars might be high but better then 3

User review rating: 3 June 15, 2019

A lot going on in this movie. Some of the effects are okay I think Godzilla looked a little lame. Lots of action all in all an okay film

User review rating: 4 June 15, 2019

The action in this movie was amazing! Really loved Godzilla fight scenes but the human family drama was distractingly annoying.

User review rating: 3 June 14, 2019

A bit long, and although 17 "Titans" were referenced, the only other one clearly shown, other than the 4 in this movie, resembled a gigantic anteater. Would've loved to see some of the other classic Toho kaiju, but I guess licensing fees are involved. Great action, good acting, fair storyline.

User review rating: 4 June 14, 2019

Great monster fight movie. Great to see the big guy kicking butt. The human side was okay, but you come to a Godzilla movie to see Godzilla do his stuff. This worked well. Really enjoyed it. Turn off your rational brain and just enjoy the ride.

User review rating: 1 June 14, 2019

Went in looking for some good Godzilla fight scenes and got some of that but this movie just wouldn’t end. Hollywood always has to throw gutt punches to people with moral decency and this movie has it’s unnecessary but seemingly obligatory usage of God and Jesus’ name in vain. They also have a snotty foul mouthed young teen that they make into a hero but you’re hoping Zila smashes at some point. Not a great night at the movies.

User review rating: 1 June 13, 2019

Not my kind of movie!!! Boring!! Left early!!!

User review rating: 5 June 11, 2019

An awesome tribute to the Toho movies. Loved reincarnations of some of Godzilla's old foes

User review rating: 5 June 11, 2019

Way better than the last movie

User review rating: 4 June 11, 2019

If you like Godzilla movies you will not be disappointed.

User review rating: 5 June 11, 2019

Visually stunning and extremely entertaining. It took the merits of the 2014 Godzilla and fixed the issues. More monsters but not at the expense of forming likable and dynamic characters and the build up to the final battle is perfectly satisfying. You see each monster and their respective abilities, but not so much that the final battle is just regurgitated fluff. Most of all, this movie implemented many homages and call backs to the older movies (you’ll see what I mean in terms of Godzilla himself if you’re a Godzilla fan) and then adds some spice and freshness. This movie is overall refreshing for any Godzilla fan waiting for an exciting and enjoyable movie with realistic CGI, and an exciting action movie for those who have never seen one. Very little to complain about and I recommend seeing Kong and Godzilla 2014 because they take very little time introducing the returning characters, because this is a cinematic universe and that would be redundant. Rotten Tomatoes is on something because the audience score is very high compared to their critic score and the critics don’t seem to like the monster movie genre in the first place and never mention the other two movies that have a huge impact on the understanding of the plot, so it seems that they’re not very qualified in honestly reviewing the movie because they’re reviewing it out of context (and it seems like they have a prejudice even before going in). It’s my new favorite behind Infinity War and by far the BEST Godzilla movie, or monster movie for that matter.

User review rating: 5 June 09, 2019

Nice rebound from the execrable Kong: Skull Island crapfest.

User review rating: 5 June 09, 2019

Great movie, good storie line, action packed, picks right up from the last movie. I'm not sure what movie people watched that is giving this movie a 1 star but it wasn't this movie.

User review rating: 5 June 09, 2019

Don't listen to the negative comments. The movie was great, and for all monster fans...it's awesome. I'm looking forward to the next movie Godzilla vs Kong.

User review rating: 2 June 09, 2019

This should be labeled a comedy.

User review rating: 1 June 09, 2019

The whole movie was so boring, I think the trailers were better. All the titans just jumped out of nowhere really fast and from there it was downhill. In fact I may even caught a small nap along the way during the movie.

User review rating: 2 June 09, 2019

Disappointing,

User review rating: 3 June 09, 2019

A monster movie of biblical and epic proportions. Family 'struggles' thread the storyline of a world that is plagued by monsters because of human desecration of our planet and the monsters are natures weapons of 'balance'. You will have the crap entertained out of you and the end of the movie is happy, I think, if having half the planet destroyed is happy, I guess?

User review rating: 5 June 08, 2019

Great movie. Looking for to future movies

User review rating: 1 June 08, 2019

Stupid story line, bad acting, too loud, gave me a headache!

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2019

I went into the movie expecting the same old, same old Godzilla movie, but I was actually very impressed with the story line, and the very good acting that was brought into this Godzilla movie. The special effects were excellent as we would expect, but because the storyline and acting was so good that it made this the best Godzilla movie to date!

User review rating: 4 June 07, 2019

This and The Hustle are the best movies of the year by far.

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2019

“I’m still in awe of the cinematic experience of Godzilla’s world, made me feel blessed to see this iconic character, who makes me believe in going to the movies is fun again, the hype is real, the movie is spectacular, the monster fight scenes are amazing, the human story is good and this movie is magnificent from beginning to end.”

User review rating: 5 June 04, 2019

Amazing movie, lots of action. Great CG. Godzilla and the other monsters look better than ever.

User review rating: 4 June 04, 2019

Didn’t go into this expecting The Taming of the Shrew, and being a life-long fan of the original (and 6532 subsequent sequels) I was pleasantly surprised and entertained. For those looking for ‘story’ and were disappointed by it, I question why you went to see this in the first place.

User review rating: 5 June 04, 2019

One of my favorite movies growing up was Ghidrah the Three Headed Monster vs. Godzilla Rodan and Mothra. I loved this movie and what made it better was the actors. Millie Bobby Brown will be a superstar in the future. And the rest of the cast were great to.

User review rating: 1 June 04, 2019

What a complete waste of time and money. Just so horribly bad, I actually tried to fall asleep on purpose to make the 2 hrs go by faster.

User review rating: 2 June 04, 2019

Agree with the previous comment! Boring! Might appeal to the younger crowd but not to these seniors.

User review rating: 1 June 03, 2019

Boring, boring, boring. Its like they played the same scene repeatedly. By the middle of the movie I was tired of seeing things blown up. This movie might appeal to young teenagers but as an adult, forget it.