Green Book

Thank you for rating this movie!

Green Book Movie Poster

4.78 / 5

User rating: 4.78

Based on 356 votes and 123 reviews


  • User rating: 4.78 91.28%
  • User rating: 4.78 3.49%
  • User rating: 4.78 1.16%
  • User rating: 4.78 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.78 4.07%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 123

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2019

Excellent story and acting.

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2019

Well done, thought provoking and I learned! Great story line. One I'll buy when it comes out.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2019

Excellent movie....loved every minute of it. Both of the lead actors did amazing job.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2019

The only issue I had was the language. I realize it was the Sixty's and people swore much like today but it still offends me when I hear writers and directors using God's name in vain! --- dammit it is a sinn and I dislike hearing that along with the F word. Unnecessary in my mind to the story! thanks You. Blessings...loved the friendship between Tony and Dr. Don, hard & sad times for the black people. A rich story in friendship and Tony learned many lessons being with Doc.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

So realistic, a classic

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

This is the best movie my husband & I have seen in years. You will laugh, cry, be astonished, heartbroken and angry that such prejudice existed and still does. I have rarely ever heard grown men laugh watching a movie. My husband was one of them. A must see. Should clean up at the Oscars.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

Such an amazing film.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2019

We both liked it was a great movie.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2019

by far the best movie of the year.....excellent acting

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2019

Enjoyable, funny, reasonably accurate look back at a time in history.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2019

Viggo Mortenson is hilarious in this. Just a good interesting enjoyable funny movie, even if you ignore the historical aspect of it.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2019

Terrific movie. But it's only a tiny window into what minorities have endured in this country. In the time setting of this movie, a true story, the depiction of the treatment blacks suffered at that time wasn't very far removed from slavery itself. Horrible, just horrible, and disgraceful. And it's not much better now. Will mankind ever learn? Today most kids are going to school with kids of numerous other races. There they play at recess; they make friends; they do school projects; they play sports, all without consideration of ethnicity or religion, or anything else. Babies come into this world free of animosity toward other people who aren't exactly like them, or for any reason, yet there are still parents teaching children to hate. If parents themselves didn't discriminate and hate people who are different from them, children wouldn't hate. If parents wouldn't turn away from people who have diffefrent skin color, or who speak a different language, or who dress differently, children wouldn't grow to turn away. And no matter what any individual "thinks" about humankind, there's something he should "know" about mankind. WE ARE ALL THE SAME.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2019

GREEN BOOK - excellent! True story. Afraid it will be taken down soon due to too poor a showing at the box office - so don't delay! Time frame/location: Early 60's in America's deep south. Viggo Mortensen (who must have taken steroids for this role so he could appear the part, as was almost unrecognizable) plays the equivalent of "Driving Miss Daisy" only he is a white tough guy from NYC who works for a high class night club that (when his hotel employer closes down for 2 months renovations) reluctantly takes on a 2-month assignment to be the driver for a world class pianist (who is black, and his 2 cello accompanists, who are white) while he does a whirlwind tour of America's deep south who perceive themselves as 'upper white crust' establishments, but who aren't really interested in classical music, so the pianist accommodates their low brow music instead, all while being refused either dining in these establishments where he is playing, or being allowed to be a guest. The pianist doesn't belong in either world - black or white due to his upbringing; the film shows he needs to come down off his pedestal a little, and his (soon to be) street-savvy protector learns to develop DIGNITY/INTEGRITY during their sojourn together. They learn about each other's attributes and faults, then come to appreciate each other for the TRUTH of their characters throughout the tour, little by little as the nuances in this film are SO wonderful. The movie's title is a green (a paperback) book required for blacks who had to travel interstate, and the green book told them of locations of motels that would accommodate black people in these states. Still - being the deep south, the viewer knows it won't be easy. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Pics at the end show each of the characters, both still alive, and both still friends.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2019

So many wonderful moments in this story and lessons to be learned. I was entranced by the range of emotions, a must see.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2019

Stunning! Haven't seen a movie like this in a long time!

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2019

acting is superior and oscar-winning worthy for Mortensen.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2019

A very good movie that everyone should see. A good true story (well at least by Hollywood standards), well told with good casting that reminds us of the racial discrimination, injustice and hate in our past incurred by African Americans...... that needs to end......

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2019

Unexpectedly interesting and engaging

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2019

Awesome movie

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2019

We need to be reminded of how it was in the south and how it still is to some degree. A wonderful film!

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2019

I loved this movie! Go see it! Wonderful characters and a wonderful story! Best movie I've seen in a long time!

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2019

Really enjoyed this film. Great story and well played on both sides of “not really knowing” the other side. Our teen son enjoyed it too.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2019

Beautiful story & wonderful message. They helped each other. Just loved loved loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2019

Wonderful performances in a beautiful story.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2019

This was a great movie. I would recommend it to anyone. I was unsure my husband would enjoy it but he did and has already told a friend he should see it!

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2019

This movie gives hope for our time, even if it tells the story of a friendship from 57 years ago. The acting is excellent by everyone.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2019

Best picture I saw in 2018. Very redeemable message in a true historical story.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2019

One of the best movies we have seen in a long time. Mahershala is divine on the piano and Viggo ( without a mask of makeup) transforms himself. Both actors should win for their nomination for their performances. It is beautifully written and one that will be remembered by many who see it.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2019

Awesome movie & extremely humorous!!!

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2019

Excellent, points well made with good humour.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2019

Filmmaking at its best! I loved every aspect of this picture. It’s destined to become a classic! What a great experience at the movies. Truly unforgettable. Thank you Peter Farrely.

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2019

Unless you're a classical musician, you won't appreciate the music!!!!

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2019

Excellent movie! Loved it!!!!

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2019

Loved it from the moment it started to the very end! Simply fantastic!

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2019

Wonderful true story... movie kept me engaged the whole time: funny at times and so heartfelt. Definitely hope the actors win the Oscar. Superb acting.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2019

loved it! Good laughs, and seemed realistic.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2019

Learning experience and engaging

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2019

Acting was exceptional. Wonderful movie!

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2019

Loved it! Mahershala Ali is fantastic! Highly recommend.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2019

This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Both of these lead actors deserve an Oscar. Best performance ever by Vigo! I am buying the DVD when it comes out! It’s full of drama,typical Bronx humor, and it’s so poignant.