Hacksaw Ridge

Thank you for rating this movie!

Hacksaw Ridge Movie Poster

4.54 / 5

User rating: 4.54

Based on 310 votes and 109 reviews


  • User rating: 4.54 80.28%
  • User rating: 4.54 7.75%
  • User rating: 4.54 4.23%
  • User rating: 4.54 0.70%
  • User rating: 4.54 7.04%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 109

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2017

Beautiful, simply beautiful!

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2017

Another incredible WWII story with an excellent cast. The story of Pfc. Doss is nothing short of miraculous. A man true to his virtues who won't let his own countrymen and commanding officers stop him from doing, what he believes, is the right thing. True to his beliefs and true to his fellow countrymen, Doss believed that all life is sacred. He even sacrificed his own life to save a couple wounded Japanese soldiers. Enjoy the Hollywood rendition of this amazing story but I encourage everyone to read about this amazing man to decipher what was real and what was fiction. The world would be a much better place if we were all like Pfc. Desmond Doss.

User review rating: 5 March 03, 2017

Amazing movie.

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2017

Truly amazing. Compare this to Moonlight that won best picture just made me realise that a Oscar means nothing. This is in my top ten films of all time.

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2017

All I can say is wow! Rarely am I short of words for a movie. Brilliant film!

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2017

Great !!!!!

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2017

Greatest war movie ever!! saw it 5 times in the theather just bought it this morning :)!!!

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2017

Terrific acting with very emotional plot. and a real story.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2017

If you don't feel extremely emotional from the powerful message of this movie and its true hero...then I don't know if you even got a heart. Movie left me speechless, can only speak through tears. Best movie of 2016!

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2017

Not my type of genre so I didn't think I'd like it as I got dragged to see it. But to my surprise, I loved it. Great casting. Great story line. It's exciting the whole way through. Watch this one!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

this was a fabulous movie. Fabulous acting, effects, story. Amazing

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2017

Never heard of Desmond Doss or Hacksaw Ridge before this movie. Very well done film about a Godly man who stood for his beliefs under very trying circumstances and came out a hero. The horrific battle scenes, even more so than in Lone Survivor, really bring home the cost of war.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2017

Great movie! Like Andrew Garfield's acting. Vince Vaughn's performance in this movie is also impressive.

User review rating: 1 January 13, 2017

"My comment it to the "propagandist""...you must be a DJT supporter, as these people actually don't engage in analysis of the criticism that is against anything they don't like, but instead, just attack the critic's personal being, i.e., "see a 'metal' (sic) health professional..." etc. Life is hard and it must be really terrible indeed, if a person goes through it by not being able to distinguish between the criticism of cultural products, on the one hand, and the actual human being who is doing the criticism. In my opinion, it just shows a complete lack of understanding and poor moral values if you have to resort to 'name calling' and not actually intelligently engage the criticism itself.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2017

a great film about personal conviction and service to country.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2017

Very moving portrait of a true hero. Almost, unbelievable story of courage and sacrifice. Truly special and hope it honors his memory.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

My comment it to the "propagandist" that peppered these reviews with their negative agenda and a one star rating. This is entertainment and not what you see which is the glorification of war. Your comments are almost laughable if they weren't so bitter and self serving. You in fact ARE the propagandist, grow up and spew your negative biases to a metal health professional, perhaps they can help you.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2016

Amazing human interest story.

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2016

History of brabery and faith

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2016

This movie was excellent. Awesome story about an amazing man. Will win awards for sure.

User review rating: 5 December 24, 2016

Amazing, inspiring and uplifting to the human soul... I usually do not go to movies, but found this to be worth it... Most movies are thoughtless brainwashing that degrades society...as the Jesuits planned...

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2016

This is a very good movie. I would give it 4.5 if I could. The movie is good itself, the fact it's a true story is unreal!

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2016

Excellent movie! So sorry it's not at Landmark anymore.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2016

Best war story I have seen. The fact that the story is true is what makes this movie great. And the real life man was a bad ass

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2016

The story

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2016

amazing movie. Was glued to the movie the whole time. What a story, fabulous acting, great writing. A must to see over and over.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2016

True story.... excellent cinematography one of the best war movies ever

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2016

Everything in this movie was outstanding! Best movie we have seen in years ! Would Vote it number one for 2016 👍

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2016

One of the best war movie I've ever seen...It's a must see !

User review rating: 1 December 13, 2016

o stars. reviewers here keep saying "we owe it to our brave young..." blah, blah, blah...Well the fact is these people who went to war, a lot of them, were either drafted, unemployed or victims of propaganda. EVERY vet I've ever talked to from this time says the same thing "I wish I hadn't gone...war is hell...what a waste...wish I had my LEGS" All these people watching this don't realize that it is subtle manipulative propaganda getting the populace ready for another conflict...go ahead then, like this, but I WANT YOU to be the first in line when the call comes up, otherwise, shut your cake holes and just accept what other media experts are saying about this movie. It is modern propaganda...or better yet, go watch a Communist party sanctioned movie or an ISIS recruiting video...i'm not against the soldiers doing their job, that is to be commended, but no person in their right mind would willingly subject themselves to this horror, including the Japanese and Germans, unless they were manipulated against their wills by propaganda...

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2016

You know, I think those who rate this zero stars have not seen this movie but are just disgruntled ignorant lefties who espouse eating grass and bark over chicken and beef. These people have their ivory tower opinions and know zero of our history and its heros.This was not a glorification of war; but the opposite.....We owe our freedom to brave young men and women and had we not had these heroes the disgruntled anti everything American few would be speaking Japanese on our West Coast and German on our East Coast and would be arrested/detained/put in camps for their very speaking out. Great movie.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2016

Thankfully this did not promote war as a wonderful thing. It showed the bravery and really stupidity of carnage by focusing on young American men who were just farmboys pretty much and Japanese youth thrown into an unwinnable situation. Yeah, there was blood and gore; but that is what war is. We owe our freedom to our Vets and this movie did not glorify war.....but only the common soldier we owe so much to.

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2016

Incredible movie! Saw it with my father and we both thought it was the best war movie we have ever seen. True story, so well done, such an incredible man

User review rating: 1 December 06, 2016

0 stars. terrible propaganda. go to the library and look up all the bombing victims in the last few years all over the world...see if you can stomach it. what is the purpose of this movie to be so manipulative? heading toward the apocalypse maybe? is that what we need in the world right now?

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2016

This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Thanks Mel Gibson for making this movie. I feel like I was right in the war with them on the screen. It was the best real life story told. I had tears in my eyes for all the guys that served in that war. I thought of my dad. He fought in Germany. He got shrapnel in his leg. That he always had a limp. Now I know why my dad would not talk about the war, All that they saw during that time. Thanks for everyone who served or is serving now.

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2016

As a combat veteran this is truly graphic and deals with the issues that many soldiers question themselves before going into battle. This was based on a true hero that stuck to his beliefs and in no way was a coward. The man risked everything and was truly willing to lay down his own life for his fellow soldiers. No greater love than that. War is never pretty and war movies shouldn't glamourize or sugar coat it. Too many kids playing xbox think life is a do-over. Well it isn't. What this man did was incredible and he saved alot of men that would have surely perished had he not been there. The point of the movie is not to glamourize his faith but put yourself into his shoes for a few hours and ask yourself could or would you have acted as bravely or noble as this man did.. I just wish I could have thanked him for his service and the lives he saved

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2016

Great movie!

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2016

I saw the documentary from the real person this movie is based upon and I found his story very touching. To see the movie almost a year later and the story be told in the same humble way was extraordinary.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2016

A very good movie !

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2016

This is pornographic violence and blind dangerous faith couched in Christian piety...basically the other side of the coin of radical Islam, or any other radical insurgency for that matter. Good Christian folk, and empathic people everywhere, I implore you, by your actions, don't fall for this Neo liberal/ Communistic/ Totalitarian/ Fascistic melting pot of propaganda, or you too will be blindly following the path to your own destruction!