I, Tonya

Thank you for rating this movie!

I, Tonya Movie Poster

4.17 / 5

User rating: 4.17

Based on 96 votes and 38 reviews

  • User rating: 4.17 63.04%
  • User rating: 4.17 17.39%
  • User rating: 4.17 2.17%
  • User rating: 4.17 8.70%
  • User rating: 4.17 8.70%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 38 of 38

User review rating: 2 March 16, 2018

Meh. I don't think it portrayed Tonya all that realistically. The portrayal of Nancy Kerrigan was a joke. However, I don't think she (Tonya) should have been banned for life for something she didn't do - they had no proof she was involved and in fact it seems it's something she learned after the fact. It's wrong to keep people who were on the periphery of something bad, perpetrated by someone she wasn't even married to at the time, out of a sport they love for life.

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2018

Insightful portrait of an American hero.

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

Extraordinary! it was above my expectations.

User review rating: 4 March 03, 2018

Great movie. Fantastic acting.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2018

Incredible story (based on real interviews), superb acting. Hilarious. Gut-wrenching. Heart-breaking.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2018

Excellent movie and the acting was top notch. It deserves the Oscars it has been nominated for.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2018

Excellent movie. Distressing in some ways, but I recall this story and never really knew the background. Very well done.

User review rating: 4 February 10, 2018

Not something I'll watch over and over, but I'm glad I saw it. Unfortunately, I know people like those in Tonya's life. I'm pretty sure they'll hate this movie, but I enjoyed seeing my dysfunctional family/friends/associates/enemies up on the screen.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2018

This was an excellent movie. Those who disliked it did so because they said they didn't like Tonya..... you know what... that just makes it an OSCAR winning picture.... the movie was obviously done extremely well and acted extremely well to have people so against her. IT WAS AMAZING.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2018

Great Acting! and enjoyed the ice skating scenes.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2018

Brilliantly acted, especially by Janning and Robbie. The movie's best quality is that it neither glorifies nor demonizes Tonya Harding -- she is merely one player in a complex and rather ugly true-life story about the corruption and hypocrisy that mar most competitive sports. Entertaining as hell.

User review rating: 1 February 03, 2018

I didn't like her back when this happened.....and even after this movie....I don't feel bad for her.......don't waste your money......

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

A celebration of a true American icon.

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2018

This was a big disappointment. Save you money and give this one a pass.

User review rating: 4 January 31, 2018

Margot Robbie hits it out of the park, playing the foul-mouthed, red-neck iconic star Tonya Harding. Stealing the show with equal performances are Allison Janey as Tonya's horrific, abusive, chain-smoking mother LaVona Golden, Sebastian Stan as Tonya's abusive, weasily b/f Jeff Gilooley, and Paul Hauser as the fat loser Shawn, who ultimately brings the whole house of cards down around their ears as he plays fantasy secret agent. The look, feel, clothes, music is PERFECT in this movie, you really feel back there, hating the trailer park tough of Tonya at first and then cheering for her working woman rage-battle against the hoity-toity rich princess world of competitive skating.

User review rating: 4 January 28, 2018

Inspiring story of a courageous woman.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

Good movie shows you life is not always fair even when you have talent. Real life is not always pretty

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

Loved this movie. It is raw and true to the world of figureskating. No one deserves to be treated like Tonya was both on and off the ice. Great interviews that reflect this real life event. Those who under rate this movie do not have a heart.

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2018

I have been a figure skater most of my life and this movie is an accurate analysis of how figure skating was is to this day. Really well done Tonya thank you for showing others how this sport is corrupted.

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2018

Doesn't worth to watch at all. Left with very violated feelings. It is great, she was band forever from the ice!

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2018

The female Rocky.

User review rating: 2 January 22, 2018

After reading some of these reviews I am convinced I went to a different movie. This was OK at best but hardly the vindication and coming back party of Ms Harding that was presented at the Golden Globes. This was a Hollywood version of a weird situation. Save your money and wait for it on TV

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2018

This is a fabulous movie! It retells historical events in a factual yet, at times, comic manner. The actors are outstanding and the action sequences are filmed extremely well given that is about figure skating. You really feel that you are on the same ice as Tonya. Obviously, since the movie is about Tonya, they try to portray her in a positive light, but there is just enough coverage to understand why she is such a controversial figure in history. Is she the devious mastermind as the media made her out to be or is she just a victim of circumstance? Watch this movie and you will be able to weight in for yourself after hearing her side of events.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2018

It was an awesome movie absolutely loved it

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2018

Don’t go to this movie it was boring only the first 5 minutes was good

User review rating: 4 January 20, 2018

The movie is based on creative story telling that is interesting and amusing. Olympian and convicted felon Tonya Harding is presented as a sympathetic figure (a female victim of men, of skating community, and the mass media). Much of her treachery was not included in the script; but why let facts get in the way of a good story? The beautiful actress Margot Robbie is great in the part, and does an adequate job of Ms. Harding’s abilities on ice. Thank goodness for computer generated imagery, because NO actress can match Ms Harding’s athleticism. How flattering for Ms. Harding to be portrayed by the winsome Margot Robbie. The best scenes include actress Allison Janney who plays Harding’s mother. Janney must have loved that role; it looked fun and she was terrific.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

The skating scenes are brilliant. It's kind of vital in a sports movie to have the athleticism be believable. I bought Stallone as a boxer, but Costner was no golfer. Margot is excellent as redneck figure skater Tonya Harding. Alison Janney is even better as the hard drinking, chain smoking mother. This is a TERRIFIC movie about real events. 94/100 . . . guru bob

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2018

Restores the sheen to Ms. Harding's legendary career.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2018

Great acting. Would see it again

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2018

This movie was entertaining and mostly dark comedy. The acting was excellent.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2018

hooooooooooooootie with a booooody

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2018

The sexiest movie of the year!

User review rating: 2 January 09, 2018

A crazy true story that didn't need re-telling. The skating was fine, Robbie is convincing in the role. It's a decent movie with Allison Janney deserving the Golden Globe, maybe, and it had a few laughs . But that's about it. I had no sympathy for Harding back when this happened and this movie does not inspire me to change my opinion. These were free tickets so I'm being generous in my rating. Wait for it to come on TV

User review rating: 1 January 08, 2018

Oh waaaa... a millennial before there was a millennial. Oh poor me, oh oh, it's not my fault, oh oh everyone is out to get me... waaaa. What a wasted effort !! If nothing else it's sends a message to take control of your own life or you will end up a victim like oh poor Tanya. AQnd of course we'll just gloss over the post skating life where she is "forced" onto a life of ruined celebrity. This is everything the woman's rights fight against. So is the sequel the story told from Kerrigan's side of it. Where an immature dysfunctional family lashes out at her because of her wholesome goodness and separation of class ??

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2018

Outstanding movie ! Entertaining from beginning to end . It has the perfect blend of drama, documentary and quite a few chuckles . For us old enough to have witnessed this when it happened ,good luck convincing the youngsters that ...yes it really did happen haha . It really is that crazy of a true story .

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2017

Outstanding performances and surprisingly hilarious.

User review rating: 4 December 22, 2017

The film explores Tonya's disadvantaged and tough upbringing at the hands of an abusive mother, and what follows with her abusive marriage, while also focusing on her career that was doomed from the start. Even though she was the best skater in the world, she was never allowed to be the best. The judges didn't think she looked right, dressed right, and didn't represent the face of an ideal America. The film leaves room for opinion, but aims to give a more compassionate view of Tonya. Margot Robbie deserves an Oscar nomination. She's incredible and fully embodies the character, learning how to figure skate for the role to the point where she was able to recreate entire sequences of Harding's routines. This is peak dark comedy. Impeccable and fun.

User review rating: 4 December 19, 2017

“I, Tonya” is a difficult film to define, but is very creative in it’s approach to the telling of Tonya Harding’s story. This docudrama, is filled with funny moments of delusion and disillusionment. We can believe the words spoken by the actors, really did come from the mouths of the real life cast of characters. We can even laugh at the incredulous justifications and interpretations of events. Meanwhile, for Harding, her boyfriend, bodyguard and mother, they expect our understanding and empathy, because “nothing was their fault”. Tonya came from a broken home with a chain-smoking, alcoholic and abusive mother who encouraged her to remain in an abusive relationship. It is amazing how far Tonya went considering the lack of support, education and poor role models in her life. She was a fighter, which contributed to her fearlessness on the ice. At the end, you feel sorry for her. Tonya was harshly judged and convicted of a crime she did not commit. Although Harding was not involved in the plot to injury Nancy Kerrigan, she paid the price for having dysfunctional people in her life. The US Figure Skating Federation ultimately won, because they never wanted Tonya to represent the USA and felt she was a stain to the image they wanted to portray.