ALL THEATRES ARE NOW CLOSED IN WINNIPEG DUE TO COVID-19. WILL REOPEN APRIL 2

Jojo Rabbit

Thank you for rating this movie!

Jojo Rabbit Movie Poster

4.01 / 5

User rating: 4.01

Based on 192 votes and 61 reviews


  • User rating: 4.01 66.27%
  • User rating: 4.01 7.23%
  • User rating: 4.01 6.02%
  • User rating: 4.01 2.41%
  • User rating: 4.01 18.07%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 61

User review rating: 3 February 18, 2020

Mediocre film with some very nice bits; unfortunately, it's silly, not historically correct (The russian army and american army did not go into combat together for example) and you have to yawn at his mommy's fate...being too stupid to live.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2020

An unusual film that combines humor and drama that is deeply touching as well. The cast was superb, as was the screenplay and cinematography, and the message against hatred, propaganda, and mindless groupthink is very relevant today. Highly recommend it!

User review rating: 2 February 16, 2020

It was so scattered, not much I liked at all! The young boy is a very good actor.

User review rating: 1 February 15, 2020

Yawn fest. Boring

User review rating: 3 February 15, 2020

Why go and watch this film to be offended when it's clear what the setting of the plot is?! Typical uptight snowflake politically correct restrained people who show how they are ignorant by not researching beforehand. You go out to find what interests you and to enjoy, not to look for what will offend you. People offended by this film or any that don't go with what they like are also committing the huge crime of wasting people's time and space by appearing and buying tickets when they should know it will "offend" them. But about the film, early on it was in danger of going down the disastrous path of trying hard but not generating humour making it awkward and sad. However, the writers and producers saved it by clearly demonstrating sarcastic humour almost Napoleon Dynamite style, and that made viewers "get it" and that alone created laughs. As the film continued, it started gaining points as the storyline and writing became more serious and produced more content. Overall, the writers and producers saved the film. It's not going to be a legendary film by far, but it did its job of making for a nice time at the movies, and reminding us that no matter what, we cannot let war and disrespect win. It's too bad the rating scale wasn't out of 10, as it is more fair. 3.5 stars here (it doesn't seem to allow halves).

User review rating: 1 February 13, 2020

so this is humor in 2020 , my family went through this

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2020

Awesome movie. Well written, Well done. Great acting. Cast was perfect. Love the way the Fanaticism Towards Hitler. Blind Loyalty. Plus Mel Brooks loved it.

User review rating: 1 February 13, 2020

Pure garbage don’t waste your time or money!

User review rating: 1 February 11, 2020

THis is not funny material. It disgusted me and we walked out just after a few minutes. This is not a comedy, my father who served in World War 2 would think that people today don't cherish those people who fought against this monster !

User review rating: 2 February 10, 2020

just in poor taste , there's nothing funny about this , sick humor

User review rating: 3 February 07, 2020

Interesting and thought provoking, but not funny overall.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2020

An unbelievably funny and joyous movie. An expression of pure conceptual brilliance from the writer director, Taika Waititi. He walks the line that you didn't think cold be walked. And he does it with humour, and heart. One of my Top 10 films of all time. Put aside any concerns you might have about the subject matter and see what inspired vision looks like when done with passion.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2020

The best film of 2019 - don't miss it.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2020

Don't miss this one. Great movie.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2020

Stunning visuals, set design and costume. This made me feel like I was in Germany in the 1940s. Casting was great, Rebel Wilson was a surprise in this. I can understand why some would be offended...given the satire...but it shed light, to me, what it would have been like to be living in this town at the time. My 18yr son was not impressed. He didn't like the fantasy aspect of it. Scarlet Johansen was great, just a really satisfying movie. I had never heard of it before seeing it on the Sunday Morning show today. Lots to think about coming out of the theater.

User review rating: 1 February 02, 2020

Really people, we got up and walked out. Biggest waste of money ever spent. Millions of Jews slaughtered turned into a comedy. Made me sick.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2020

An multiple-Oscar Nominee including Best Picture, it paints a compelling-serious (with satire) picture of the seriousness and desperation near the end of World War II, as seen through an 11-year-old’s eyes. Magnificent costumes and Scenery. Scarlett Johansson play his Mom in an Oscar-nominated performance. I had a choice to see another top movie, but chose this Oscar-worthy one.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2020

Unique. Humanities darkest days captured and compelling.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2020

The plot makes a realistic and compelling presentation of the dilemmas faced by all sides in the war, from the wonderful perspective of a child. Evil showed up in all sides, and maybe the only innocent ones were the children.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2020

Wonderfully thought-provoking film...Filmies unite ! This is brilliant. The acting, actor by actor, is excellent. The chronicle of the history, the personal angst undercover, the story, and the take away are awardwinning. Wrap that with the music - oh my goodness....I'm all "in" ! A+

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2020

A MUST see! Brilliant! What an incredibly beautiful way to deal with some incredibly ugly subject matter.

User review rating: 3 January 25, 2020

I guess I don't appreciate good cinematic art according to those who gave it 5. Young boy was a good actor and the only reason I give it a 3. I would not recommend this movie to any of my friends. It was not satire or overall funny. A few funny scenes and lines but that was it for me.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2020

This was one of the best movies I’ve seen in years! The acting was excellent and the story walked the line beautifully. A must see!!

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2020

Wow, how this film got past the political correct gate - keepers is a miracle. Not since The Tin Drum from 1979 have I seen WW2 in Nazi German addressed in such a way. Surrealism is a fantastic way of addressing the weird world of Nazi Germany and even more so when done through the eyes of not a jew in the case of Anne Frank but through the eyes of a 10 year old boy as one of the Hitler Youth. Utterly amazing. If one loves this film be sure to see The Tin Drum with David Bennett as Oskar.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2020

I know it's a long shot, but I wish it would win Best Picture this year. I've seen all the others. This was by far the best!! I also think it should have been nominated for Best Actor and Actress! LOVED the movie.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2020

An amazing film, will definitely see it again. Funny but deals effectively with serious questions and situations

User review rating: 1 January 20, 2020

Good acting ,but terrible movie took great ideas but did not portray it well in the movie. Some people I was with fell asleep during the movie It was so boring.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2020

Great storyline. Very well done!

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2020

Loved this movie. I will have to see it again soon.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2020

Just saw this film for the second time. Really outstanding.

User review rating: 5 December 24, 2019

very good; I would rename yo yo rabbit; since the movie has a lot of sick humor at the start but morphs into more serious themes as you let the film unwind. Overall, very enjoyable but you have to let the Mel Brooks like sick humor pass by and then really get into the meat of the movie

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2019

When I went to see this movie, I expected a comedy along the lines of Mel Brooks' "The Producers", but this was much more than that. It was a satirical drama that balanced comedy with moments of serious terror. A wonderfully written account of the absurdity of war and how it affects the lives of innocent people who must endure it. 5 stars plus

User review rating: 2 December 19, 2019

I don't understand how this movie has 5 stars. It was not funny.The acting was fine but the story was just nothing new. The satire was not anything new. In fact, I almost fell asleep twice during the movie it was so boring.

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2019

One of the most thoughtful films to have come out in years. The real message that saves Jo Jo in the end is his mothers which comes back to him that 'Love is more powerful than hate - it is the most powerful thing in the world'. The last half of the film is where the deeper question arises which is: Not if Jo Jo is capable of loving others and the world but are they capable of loving him. A great Holiday film and a thoughtful meditation on Germany in the 1950's when Germans had to try to figure out who they were after two decades of being lost to self. BY far the best film I have seen in the past 5 years.

User review rating: 3 December 03, 2019

I don’t know how I feel about this movie. My parents went through this during the war and it wasn’t funny. I know many Germans didn’t agree with the third Reich but couldn’t speak out for fear of death. One way of dealing with pain is with humor and I think this film is avoiding the pain with humor.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2019

A wonderful film that reminds one to trust ones inner compass and never to forget to be counterculture one has to take a stand the opposite of ones media and the larger trends where society is moving towards. Jo Jo is everyones story as we ultimately are the only caretakers of our soul. Jo Jo Rabbit is a reminder that unless we are adding to the love and freedom in the world we are creating a cage.

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2019

Such a well written movie with great characters. Whenever Taika Waititi puts out a new movie, its one I have to see.

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2019

If you want to laugh and cry in a film this is the film you need to see. The acting and story is beyond anything I have seen in years.

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2019

The narrowest of genres. A wartime comedy. But, through humour you see absurdities much more clearly. Those absurdities being a mindless devotion or a fanatical obsession. This film demonstrated those qualities with a perfect note.Taika Waititi has made another wonderful poignant film.

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2019

I cried at the end of the film it was so powerful. The story reminded me so much of a friend of mine named Alfons Heck who passed away over two decades ago but had been one of the leads of the Hitler Youth and spent much of the rest of his life touring with a Jewish friend of his who survived the camp. Heck himself lived much of this story though Jo Jo is a composite of many voices and makes it clear how odd the late 40's and 1950's were in Germany when the emerging German young adults had to make sense of their ideal of self. If Alfons Heck were alive today he would ask every parent to take their son or daughter to this film.