Jojo Rabbit

Thank you for rating this movie!

Jojo Rabbit Movie Poster

4.80 / 5

User rating: 4.8

Based on 32 votes and 15 reviews


  • User rating: 4.8 80.00%
  • User rating: 4.8 20.00%
  • User rating: 4.8 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.8 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.8 0.00%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 15 of 15

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2019

It's natural for people to joke and parody the very things that scare us the most, or to ridicule the vilest of people. And that is precisely what JoJo Rabbit does so well. From the opening to a German version of "A Hard Day's Night", accompanied by archival footage of throngs of people screaming at Hitler, you know you're in for a lot of fun. The film doesn't try to minimize the true horror of WWII, nor does it try to get into the Holocaust. Instead, it focuses on the last year of the war in Germany, as seen through the eyes of a 10 year-old boy, who is surrounded by discouraged soldiers, Germans who long for the war to end and children being encouraged to "die for Hitler". In other words, it's the theater of the absurd. And this is why, Jojo's imaginary playmate - an incredibly animated version of Hitler - fits right in. Don't look for any deep meanings here. This is simply a boy trying to make sense of the nonsensical.

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2019

A fun and entertaining movie from start to finish . Well acted as well. A type of movie you might want to see again .

User review rating: 4 November 12, 2019

A satire on war, nationalism, and the brainwashing of children. It's a dark comedy where a sort of imagined fun-loving Hitler turns bad in the end, and a drunken German soldier (Sam Rockwell) turns good. A 10 year old Nazi enthusiast is changed by the Jewish teenager being hidden by the boy's liberal, humanitarian mother. The child actor is brilliant!! GuruBob says,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,83/100

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2019

I'd give it 10 stars if I could. It's rare that a movie of this quality comes around. Mainly a comedy with only a few distressing scenes which pass quickly. This is not a historically accurate documentary but is a fictional account of one boy's attempt to deal with the times he has been born into. Perfect casting of all the major characters makes it all the better. If this film doesn't win an Academy Award then it proves that Hollywood is corrupt.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

It very epic, tikita waitika can do no wrong

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Loved every minute. Funny, touching, well written, well cast, and well acted. Truly heartwarming. I rarely say "must see in theatres" but this film deserves it as it's beautifully shot.

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2019

Truly one of the best movies I have ever seen. Brilliant job of taking a very difficult subject and focusing on the human aspect of living in a time of great uncertainty.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2019

This movie is a "10"

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2019

This is one of the BEST movies of the year or the last few years.

User review rating: 4 November 03, 2019

Really good movie. Saw it with my 2 girls 21 and 17 and they loved it as well. Funny, sad, well acted, all around a great movie to see with a great story.

User review rating: 4 November 03, 2019

Good movie to watch with a packed audience. All the actors are superb. The difficult subject matter weaves into comedy and seriousness effortlessly. The musical choices were also well done.

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2019

My 21 yo son texted that he ‘cried like a man’ at the end of this movie. He said it is among the best he he’s seen. When he told me that a friend of JoJo Rabbit “stole the show” I was curious if the movie might be somehow a comedy that normalized or was sympathetic to the racist nationalism that led to WWII. He said, “No, not at all. It was sympathetic to the real lives of people who actually lived and died in that horrible time.” The parallels to life today are frightening. That kids and families all over are experiencing the same realities in similar violence is sobering.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2019

Genius writing! Awesome satire of the Natzi plague. The little historic details weaved into this script are as good as it gets. Movie Entertainment at it's best, look out Oscar her comes JoJo.

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2019

So funny, but surprisingly, quite heartwarming as well. So many hilarious performances, from Scarlett Johansson, Taika Waititi as an imaginary version of Hitler, Alfie Allen, Sam Rockwell, who really surprises in his role, and really, the entire cast.

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2019

This is one of the best movies I have seen ..... ever! The writing is fantastic acting amazing and the comedic-dramatic balance is perfect. Everyone in high school and up should see this as a reminder of what happens when small minds, lies and fake news are allowed to fester and spread. This is a most fitting reminder of what comes next if we don't correct our current course.