Joker

Thank you for rating this movie!

Joker Movie Poster

3.74 / 5

User rating: 3.74

Based on 932 votes and 261 reviews


  • User rating: 3.74 61.42%
  • User rating: 3.74 5.84%
  • User rating: 3.74 3.55%
  • User rating: 3.74 4.06%
  • User rating: 3.74 25.13%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 41 to 80 of 261

User review rating: 1 November 26, 2019

Long, boring and annoyingly loud with the constant psycho laughing. I left the theater in a lousy mood. Would have walked out 30 minutes in but the wife wouldn't so...

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2019

An absolutely brilliant film from beginning to end. Phoenix’s descent into madness coupled with a disintegrating society made for a must-watch film. I couldn’t help but wonder if this is what the world will be like in the future. It’s depressing and violent, but at the same time, cautionary. People who aren’t cared for can become monsters in different ways.

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2019

Instant classic.

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2019

Outstanding movie! Joaquin does psychotic really, really well. The producers picked the right actor to take over in the Heath Ledger style, dark interpretation of the Joker character. I'm hopeful in anticipation of where Joaquin Phoenix will take this character in the future. Creepy, sociopathic clowns play into my deepest fears, keep it coming!

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2019

Beautifully filmed. I saw it twice and will purchase it. Joaquin's characterization was excellent. Being a dancer, I found his ease of movement captivating, and an excellent addition to the film. Very dark and sad, this film says what we all need to hear about the way Americans treat, or actually don't treat, the mentally ill.

User review rating: 1 November 21, 2019

Terribly made movie and actors

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2019

Great Movie

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2019

One of the best movies I ever saw.... the social commentary is great ! The damaged individual and his struggle within and at times against society. Hey... Knock knock..... What do you get when you cross a societal LONER with a Society that Treats him Like Shit? BANG BANG ! Super powerful movie..... and performance. It feels like an "art film" from start to finish... a lot of people may not "get it" or "understand it".... I think the dudes in clown masks represent today's ANONYMOUS...seem to have the same agenda? I had to watch this movie twice to get it all and understand it better....still a few mystery unanswered questions to make it more interesting..... def. set up for a possible sequel. I think this will be a CULT CLASSIC ! I think the character JOKER in this film would arouse compassion in all but the deadest individuals. 10 +++

User review rating: 3 November 18, 2019

Story line kinda phonie,movie dragged on and on.Good actor.

User review rating: 1 November 18, 2019

My husband and I went to see this film and found it extremely depressing. Moreover, everything is caricatured. What could be more normal, you might say, given that it was a depicting the life of a comic book clown? Here, to make things really awful, we sink into the worst possible melodrama. As if psychopaths had all been mistreated during their childhood, mocked in adolescence, misunderstood in adulthood without ever having anyone to help them effectively! But no, the vast majority of them were born with a missing bolt in their heads. Something was wrong in them from the start. Here, the director wanted to make us cry by portraying roughly the most cartoonish misery. Everything is in bold capital letters, underlined and highlighted to be sure that we fully understood that the main character didn't have an easy life and that our society is so rotten that we should all revolt and suicide out of desperation or kill each other to put an end to it all. We’ve even been entitled to the poor dwarf ridiculed by the one who was supposed to be his best friend. In terms of the actor's performance, that's Joaquim Phoenix pushed to the extreme all over. In all his films I remember, this actor plays social misfits, loners unable to make friends, depressive people or on the verge of a nervous breakdown, misunderstood guys, sons rejected by their fathers, rebels, etc. In short, he only plays tortured souls. He even played a guy who falls in love with his computer because he can't get along with a real girlfriend. So it's normal that he knows how to play a crazy clown. Talent? If you will, considering the fact that he seems unable to play much else. This simplistic and gloomy depiction of society has already claimed victims. There are people who dress up as clowns and ransack everything in the streets and cinemas where the film is shown. Anyway, don't believe the good things that are said about this movie.

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2019

This movie is not entertaining, it is educational. An outstanding portrayal of developing mental illness, with little demarcation between reality, Fleck's 'reality', and the common areas. And then a weapon is added. A lesson for anyone who deals with mental illness and for anyone who believes that only people kill people and weapons have no role. Hat's off to Mr. Phoenix.

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2019

You have to figire out what is real and what is in his head...the jokes on the audience.... what you see doesn't mean what you get. I've seen it 3 times so far and every time I see it, I notice more and more clues.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2019

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 1 November 15, 2019

Sooo Stupid and boring.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2019

This movie takes control on your mind and soul. Best acting, direction and music . Amazing product of imagination, dedication, hard work, artistic ability and soul searching. Joaquin Phoenix is just wow, Definitely Oscar worthy

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2019

Joaquin Phoenix played the role SO well. He depicted a mentally unwell, socially awkward, lost-soul character so amazingly well. Definitely Oscar worthy! A dark movie but very well done

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2019

Anyone who does not like this movie does not have a good taste in film.

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2019

Most ridiculously made stupid movie ever made

User review rating: 5 November 10, 2019

One of the best movies I've ever seen

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2019

Why would such a movie be made. Sick

User review rating: 5 November 10, 2019

he is brilliant a very special actor

User review rating: 5 November 10, 2019

Joaquin Phoenix is in the top of most talented male actors out there. He played insane believably. Wow!

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2019

Movie of the year by far. Best actor of the year by far. Loved it !!

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2019

Thanks Hollywood and all the actors and actresses for this most incredible movie, that It feels so real and down to earth real aswell. I hope as long as I live that yous keep up with movies like this 1. I enjoyed it so much!

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2019

Before I saw this movie I thought Val Kilmer’s Doc Holiday in Tombstone was as good as it could ever get. I was wrong! This performance was a game changer. Best acting I’ve ever seen. Give that man the Oscar!

User review rating: 4 November 09, 2019

Too dark. I did not enjoy it. However, it was well done and Joaquin Phoenix deserves a nomination for Best Actor.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

the most amazing movie that I have ever seen.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Amazing movie. Can't wait to see it again

User review rating: 2 November 08, 2019

the consist laughter and the repetitious plot made this movie a NO for me. I would have left had I been there by myself. Yes the Joker has mental illness. the end.

User review rating: 1 November 08, 2019

This movie SUCKS. Slow paced. Minimal action. The stupid laugh after a while gets annoying...his decline to his madness to a certain extent kinda makes sense but the over all of the movie SUCKS. There are way better movies out there than this garbage. Any one who thinks this is the best movie ever made obviously has no taste or can't differentiate an actual good movie from a bad movie.

User review rating: 1 November 08, 2019

I was actually physically sickened to my stomach from the psychotic activities that were shown in this movie.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

It was an Oscar worthy performance by Joaquin! Wow!

User review rating: 5 November 07, 2019

We loved everything about this movie,it was FANTASTIC, Joaquin Phoenix deserves an Oscar, I want to watch it again. Everyone go see this movie you’ll love it.

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2019

Excellent movie - really enjoyed the plot and exceptional acting!

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

Magnificent! Absolutely magnificent! Best movie in ten years, best comic book movie of all time.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

wow. Simply wow. I thought, Todd Philips directing....really?? Then I was thinking nobody could beat Heath's take on the joker. But Heath Ledger's take on the character was certainly his own and meant for the Batman movies and deserved his Oscar. But this...this was a whole new level. A few twists and even one twist that was still twisting, was it real or not? I did not like the amount of cigarette smoking, but that was his character and it was the early 80's..so.... Anyway if anyone was going to win an Oscar for playing the same character that someone else did and won an Oscar for, this is it! Don't listen to the nay sayers who wouldn't know a fantastic movie from a porno. This was amazing and you totally feel his descent into his madness and how he gets his clown followers.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

I liked how it depicted mental illness and poverty. Joaquin Phoenix is a phenomenal method actor that totally nailed all aspects of the part, differentiated it from all the other Jokers, while paying respect to the Jokers of the past. Bravo!

User review rating: 3 November 04, 2019

Good acting by JP...was it acting? about the Jokets background story of an average guy experiencing neverending setbacks in life, which slowly but cumulatively take their toll on ones mental state. After the movie, l felt like l watched an in depth 20/20 documentary on the life of a mentally ill criminal. Not really entertaining. Was hoping more for some comic book fantasy...none here.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2019

Joaquin is superb as Joker. This film is a game changer as far as comic book films are concerned.

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2019

face to it, it is a dark story, but movie itself is really really really GOOD no doubt...