Kong: Skull Island

Thank you for rating this movie!

Kong: Skull Island Movie Poster

3.43 / 5

User rating: 3.43

Based on 210 votes and 76 reviews


  • User rating: 3.43 41.67%
  • User rating: 3.43 14.58%
  • User rating: 3.43 12.50%
  • User rating: 3.43 7.29%
  • User rating: 3.43 23.96%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 76

User review rating: 4 March 23, 2017

Good action movie with great special effects - don't overthink this one - just sit back, eat your popcorn, and enjoy

User review rating: 3 March 22, 2017

Ok action movie in places. Maybe the helicopters should have stayed further away from Kong. Loved the makeup on the islanders. Pay attention to the back-ground of the credit list (which is long) there are some tidbits at the very end. Afternoon at the movies, gotta love them.

User review rating: 1 March 22, 2017

boring....slow....painfully long fight scenes. Pass this one up.

User review rating: 5 March 21, 2017

This was a nice up to date revamping of the Kong story, whereas Peter Jackson's was a redone on the original Kong story line! So why would you want another original story line version that wouldn't make any sense as Peter Jackson's was well done! This story line was very interesting & Kong was a lot larger - Acting & CGI monsters were also very believable! Over all a very well done film!

User review rating: 2 March 20, 2017

Kong meets Platoon. Fade in '60s choppers and hippie rock 'n roll. Eventually big ape meets beauty, completing the symbolic beauty and the beast analogy. Monsters get hungry for humans too. Humans fight monsters - Kong fights monsters too. Fade in more '60s rock 'n roll. Greedy entrepreneurs get eaten by digital part-lizard monsters. Kong kills pixelated monsters by the score and eats one which has long giant octopus tentacles. Kong has no large testicles (none whatsoever) but he likes tiny little white-women photographers shooting Kodachrome film anyway - no reason given. More '60s nostalgia music. Early in the movie, soldiers stupidly fly into Kong's swinging ten-ton fists and are decimated. Bad training? No, the producers are rewriting the history of the war in Vietnam. Says the general, "We didn't lose the war, we abandoned it!" Perfectly explains how they could inexplicably misjudge Kong, at ten stories tall, 20 tons of steel and granite, they oddly blindly fly directly into his gigantic thrashing arms. Go figure! Kong in the end is victorious and beats his mighty barrel chest to show the tiny puny little white Englishman he's still King and also show the tiny little white American woman that she is still "his" - testicular braggadocio by any other description. Yea, this could all just be a metaphor for Drumpf and Kellyanne "bimbo" Conway. The alpha male reigning supreme, white ape supremacy maybe, or so it would seem. End. Roll credits.??

User review rating: 4 March 18, 2017

This was an action flick and although the plot was rather thin, who cares? Actually S. Jackson's character may have been based on Donald Trump....Kong seemed realistic, especially his facial features. The soundtrack was off the chain.

User review rating: 5 March 18, 2017

I actually loved this movie, it was very good, the acting was well done and they acually made kong look very realistic, John goodman was excellent in this movie and Samuel L Jackson did a wonderful job as a villain/ mad man. Overall a good must see movie.

User review rating: 1 March 18, 2017

They got Kong's story completely wrong; do some research, people!!!

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2017

The sleeper must awaken.

User review rating: 5 March 17, 2017

I've been a fan of King Kong and other monster movies for a long time and gotta say this was a great film. It was nice to see a different story buildup with Kong. Tom Hiddleston was a cool guy in this movie and John C. Reilly was my all time favourite character in the motion picture; he had a great sense of humour.

User review rating: 4 March 17, 2017

Good CGI and some good action scenes w/o any bullshit romance/emotional scenes. I only wish if there was a bit more action than what the film had, it would be a hit film!

User review rating: 2 March 17, 2017

A major disappointment! No real story,simply a lot of shooting and scenes of large animals ripping apart humans. Apart from the quality of the movie I was astounded that parents and grandparents were at the movie with young children. Would they then wonder why the children were having nightmares or displaying bad behaviour toward animals or other living creatures. Come on parents. Show some common sense.

User review rating: 3 March 17, 2017

as a past helicopter pilot I would think that better advisors would be available for flight scenes. and why would so many wade in the water--didn't even have any leeches?

User review rating: 0 March 16, 2017

All in all quite touching, especially at the end.

User review rating: 5 March 16, 2017

I would definitely recommend this movie I love it

User review rating: 5 March 16, 2017

My wife and I seen Kong today, surprisingly it was very entertaining, action packed and most of all, it was a manly movie to watch, no time for ROMANCE like you see in some action movies that they slide in the BOY MEET GIRL routine, it was a enjoyable show.

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2017

Loved the movie...can't understand selfish people who come here and give away the ending...I guess it makes them feel powerful...

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2017

I loved this movie because it reminds me so much of the old comics I read as a child. Graphics are great and plot is good. Choice of music to fit the time period was spot on and the creatures in the movie are rather neat. It's worth a watch, for child or adult.

User review rating: 3 March 14, 2017

Kong movies always minimize the damage and death Kong could really cause. Future Kong movies need to show what Kong is really capable of doing and make the movie really terrifying!

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2017

This movie sucked so lame and boring

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2017

Movies like this are why we go to the theatre - sit back and enjoy!

User review rating: 3 March 14, 2017

King was ok. The island was beautiful. The story was great until they got to the island, then it crashed and burned.

User review rating: 1 March 14, 2017

BORING

User review rating: 0 March 14, 2017

Why did they have to kill him?

User review rating: 4 March 13, 2017

Cinematography and the monsters and calling of course we're just epic awesome film !! I was like WHOAAAAAA LOL

User review rating: 2 March 13, 2017

This movie as so bad it was hilarious

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2017

Worst movie I've seen in a long time.

User review rating: 1 March 13, 2017

TERRIBLE

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2017

Excellent film. It didn't look like south Pacific, more like Cambodia, but still it was nicely done. Jackson goes haywire in a grudge match against Kong.

User review rating: 3 March 13, 2017

Great visuals and special effects. But they forgot to budget for some decent writing and screen play. Has sort of a Indiana Jones old school flavor and the movie could have been a real contender. But an improbable story line leaves you thinking Huh? What? Still worth the price of admission just to see the visuals. Best acting and costume goes to the native people.

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2017

Great movie! Great special effects! Well worth the price of admission :)

User review rating: 4 March 13, 2017

Good. It didn't change my life, but I didn't walk away feeling as though 2 hrs of my life had been stolen. A couple of laughs. Brie Larson is nice to look at.

User review rating: 3 March 13, 2017

Good movie. Nice to have a different twist rather then the original. Good effects and a good lesson not to fly a helicopter near a 1000 ft. Ape. Your chance of living is slim.

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2017

Awesome effects! Loved every minute

User review rating: 4 March 12, 2017

Great fun and action for a couple of hours.

User review rating: 1 March 12, 2017

Peter Jackson's Kong was much better

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2017

This is for the guy 13 comments below this one. If you would of stayed for the last quarter of the movie you would of realize that Kong is NOT a monkey ?? but a gorilla ??

User review rating: 5 March 12, 2017

I must disagree with the previous reviewer - the classic story of "Beauty killed the Beast" has never been more vividly portrayed. 5 stars all the way!!!!!

User review rating: 2 March 12, 2017

I thought it was done very poorly. It seemed to be disconnected some how and lacked any depth in plot or sub plot. It's actually too bad for all the great actors that were cast in this movie. Could have been great but wasn't !

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2017

Kong always makes me cry.