La La Land

Thank you for rating this movie!

La La Land Movie Poster

3.60 / 5

User rating: 3.6

Based on 278 votes and 116 reviews


  • User rating: 3.6 48.89%
  • User rating: 3.6 8.89%
  • User rating: 3.6 11.85%
  • User rating: 3.6 14.07%
  • User rating: 3.6 16.30%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 116

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2017

This movie genre is a flashback to the 1960's when I grew up watching musicals such as the Sound of Music. I think the low reviews are from younger viewers who were raised on gratuitous violence, sexually explicit, one dimensional movies. If you are unsure, take a chance on this movie and expand your horizons (a phrase not seen much these days). The cast is very good, the direction even better. Enjoy.

User review rating: 1 February 21, 2017

Found La La Land incredibly boring. Thin plot, songs blah. No "Singing in the Rain". Would have assigned zero stars if possible.

User review rating: 1 February 21, 2017

0 star total crap dont know why its getting so many nomanations

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2017

I guess those who rated this movie below a 4 star just could not get over the fact that there was no violence, gratuitous sex or extreme language. I found this movie to be a refreshing change from the shooting, vulgarity and sex scenes. The development of the characters was entertaining and enjoyable.

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2017

Love the movie. The ending moved me to tears. Great acting from a superb cast. Go see it if you haven't done yet.

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2017

This is such a beautiful film about following your dreams and pursuing your passions. My all time favorite film, La La Land is like stumbling on a view on a lovely night, capturing a sunset in a frame, or waltzing in a city of stars. Emma Stone is as radiant as the sun, portraying her emotions with perfection and vulnerability. The whole cast is superb, but Emma is brilliant! The filming and style of the movie is wonderfully nostalgic, and the music is phenomenal. I have had the soundtrack on repeat since I watched this movie! I recommend it to anyone who like romance, musicals, comedy, Emma, Ryan, or simply having a good cry. La La Land, I believe, wholeheartedly deserves all of its Oscar nominations and previous wins at the Golden Globes, BAFTAS, and SAG Awards. This is a perfect and glorious film, for the fools who dream.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2017

I loved everything about La La Land. Exceptional musical score, acting, lighting, production, photography. Close to being my all time favorite movie.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2017

Amazing music and imagery. The ending was so emotionally heart wrenching!!

User review rating: 2 February 16, 2017

this is a so-so movie. it's the safest of safe picks for the whitest of audiences, where a white boy knows more about jazz than anyone else. please. go see moonlight.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2017

I went to this with my 24 year old daughter. I'm so glad she saw this, it was a bit of old style and new and I loved it! people comment about their dancing and singing being poor but that's not what it's about. It's about love and passion of the arts. Don't give up on your dreams. Loved this movie! So refreshing!

User review rating: 3 February 15, 2017

Not the greatest. seen better

User review rating: 2 February 14, 2017

wasn't WHAT THE HYPE MADE IT OUT TO BE. iT WAS CUTE BUT THAT'S IT.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2017

So amateruish. The picture was dark and fuzzy. Emma Stone's singing was pathetic.

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2017

I loved the music, dancing and singing. How refreshing to see talented actors. No violence or sex - that was so novel as well. It was a sweet positive uplifting story. Truly a Non - Hollywood movie as they usually have tons of sex and guns, even though they profess to want to bans guns in America. Ha!

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2017

Ummm.... Oscar so white last year, and now this year the main attraction is a musical about how a WHITE MAN SAVES JAZZ? Wow.

User review rating: 3 February 12, 2017

Okay, it was cute and uplifting, but NO profound insight into the human condition, not particularly moving or funny, the story was rather routine for a musical - THIS WAS JUST OKAY. Oscar worthy? NO

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2017

Great movie about dream, sacrifice and love! The acting was great and nuance of the play was fantastic. This is fine art!

User review rating: 2 February 05, 2017

Sorry, guess I don't have any taste. Just don't see what all the hoopla is about. I found it boring, boring, boring....

User review rating: 3 February 05, 2017

I like the actors in this film, but the script and overall movie is shallow. The two stars can sing, but they weren't given any scope to prove it. Music is palatable and forgettable. If you're bored, escaping a trying day or need a nap, this is the film to attend. If you want substance, try Hidden Figures - it's a real film about real people.

User review rating: 2 February 04, 2017

BORING, cannot understand the hype nor the Oscar's nomination.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2017

One of the best and most enjoyable films I've seen which was pure "entertainment" without guns and people blowing eachother to smitherines. Hooray for Lalaland!!!

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2017

I love old movies and musicals and this combined both of those..I loved this movie. From the very scene I was hooked. I loved the songs that Ryan and Emma sang so sweet. I would recommend this movie a hint of old Hollywood!

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2017

La La Land is a fresh and beautiful blending of modern and classic musical styles. The engaging love story of a struggling young actress, (Emma Stone) and idealist jazz musician, (Ryan Gosling) is movingly told. Their performances are outstanding and award worthy. It is a timeless film classic.

User review rating: 3 February 01, 2017

Pretty boring really. Big disappointment considering all the hype. The scenery was beautiful and the dancing good but not much of a story and the ending was disappointing.

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2017

Actress in the movie have three lovers one after another. Poor description of women in the Western World.

User review rating: 2 January 31, 2017

The story was very disconnected. The music wasn't catchy. I like to have the music in my head when I leave.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2017

the music did not get in the way of the story. Very enjoyable.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2017

Will see it again!

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2017

Good acting but otherwise rather boring

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2017

OMG, so boring, I wish I hadn't wasted my time. I was with two people younger and oh we could hardly wait for it to be over

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2017

My wife,daughter & myself loved the show, I often think about how one different move in your life could completely change the course you travel.

User review rating: 4 January 30, 2017

Saw the movie once because it is my type of film, however, after all the hype I had to see it again to figure out what I missed. With all its flaws, I understand why Titanic received so many nods. This film was nowhere near that, although I did like it alot. Love Gosling and Stone. Will buy it on Dvd, but why is the direction and production design so unique? Woody Allen did the same thing with Everyone Says I Love You, Manhattan and Annie Hall. Not to mention the Scorsese "New York New York" jazz club scenes. On the other hand, I do hope this film's success rekindles filmgoers' love for musicals.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2017

Bored out of my mind. I wanted to leave after 20 minutes, but thought it might get better. It never did.

User review rating: 3 January 30, 2017

Nice music and dancing. Acting ok but not award winning as suggested.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

Truly captivating. Great acting, editing, and overall chemistry created by all elements coming together.

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2017

Poor acting....disjointed theme.......left after 30 minutes........

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2017

Fantastic movie--great acting and story plot!! I plan to see it again this week. I loved it!! I will buy the movie when it hits the stores!!

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2017

I didn't expect to like it as much as I did! A lovely movie - maybe if you've never dreamed of something you won't connect, but I LOVED IT!

User review rating: 3 January 28, 2017

I love musical film but I didn't "get" this one. I enjoyed the actors but they weren't singers.

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2017

So say this is a movie is brash mis-characterization of what a movie is supposed to be. The hype surrounding this piece of rotting fecal matter is nothing short of trying to pass a fresh dog turd off as a Tootsie Roll to your best friend who paid you $10 to put it in their mouth, laughing as you run away. If this movie crosses your mind, stay home and watch something fun on Netflix.