Lion

Thank you for rating this movie!

Lion Movie Poster

4.58 / 5

User rating: 4.58

Based on 158 votes and 58 reviews


  • User rating: 4.58 79.73%
  • User rating: 4.58 9.46%
  • User rating: 4.58 5.41%
  • User rating: 4.58 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.58 5.41%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 58

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2017

This movie was incredible! It was heart-wrenching from beginning to end and I am grateful for stories that remind us of what is going on outside of our "bubbles" as well as touch us in ways that cause us to remember what really matters. GO SEE IT!

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2017

Brillant show. Loved it

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2017

Incredible acting, unbelievable story, not one dull or slow moment throughout.

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2017

Fabulous!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2017

wow, excellent movie, strongly recommend.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2017

Excellent movie!!!

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2017

Excellent!!!!

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2017

Fantastic movie, you come away thinking about it the next day.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2017

This is a story of tragedy, injustice, survival and hope. Take a box of kleenex and prepare to be enlightened, enchanted and changed. It's a great story and great movie.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2017

Nice to see a movie that has no filthy language. Really worth seeing! Loved it !

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2017

Good story but slow and tedious. Avoid at all cost

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2017

Wonderful movie - deserves an award.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2017

What a beautiful moving movie. The story, acting, plot, and editing were all superior. I highly recommend you go and see it.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2017

For all those you have ever been lost. Great true story. Dev Patel and his younger self actor do an excellent job. Surely worthy of a Academy nod.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2017

a wonderful movie

User review rating: 4 February 07, 2017

Good movie...little slow moving but good over-all. Sad to see how this adorable little boy goes through his struggles from child to adult..

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2017

Must watch movie! Great story, wonderful scenes in the movie. Great acting by Dev Patel! Hope it gets an award.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2017

Best movie I have seen in a very long time, very emotional and heart breaking to see how kids go missing in India in a heart beat. Sunny Pawar was amazing and he is not an actor, he should have been nominated for an award for his portrayal of young Saroo which he nailed. Dev Patel was just amazing and so was Nicole Kidman, a must see movie, it deserves to win best picture and Dev and Nicole deserves to win as well. You need Kleenex for this movie, a great family movie, so happy there were no swearing, violence and sexual content, overall an excellent and must see movie!!!

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2017

wonderful movie. nothing bad about it. best movie in a very long time

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

Just a fantastic movie

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2017

Beautiful photography! True story.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

It grips you; the feeling of abandonment is striking. And without being overt, the dangers are constant and apparent for this very small boy. So you're immersed in this life which is both consistent and horrific. The 2nd part; using Google Earth was interesting - maybe would have liked more Google Earth - but not a deal breaker. Amazing story with an amazing ending.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2017

An astounding delivery of what it means to be caring and what family means. A vivid portrayal of India and Australia. And the plight of children and poverty. It shows how family is close-knit and cares for one another even in extreme poverty and it shows the indomitable spirit that pushes us to search. It also shows the beauty of adopting parents who strive to make a difference in the world and in the lives of needy children. Altogether a gem of a movie. There are also striking scenes that show how Spirit is with us and communicates to us if we heed and pay attention. All actors are formidable including the lead Dev Patel. They also show the real people the characters are based on at the end of the movie. Some are very much alike , Nicole Kidman transforms herself remarkably and even the young Saroo looks like the actor child. A movie based on real events. At the end of the movie, it is poignantly stated how 800,000 children go missing per year in India. An epic movie worth very much going to see. Well made.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2017

It was a worthwhile story, beautifully told.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2017

An amazing story, acting, good quality cinema. Well worth watching.

User review rating: 3 January 20, 2017

Yes it was slow up til the last hour. Acting was great. Story was touching. I enjoyed seeing his real Mom and the real stuff at the end. I am glad I saw it.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2017

There was NO profanity! Wow, how super-refreshing!! I loved this movie because it was SUCH a good story without all of the offensive language, gratuitous sex, and bawdy, toilet humor.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2017

Awesome acting... touching true fact story ... worth the watch!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

Wonderful story, great acting, well worth watching.

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2017

Excellent movie! Great acting! Where did they find 'Sunny Pawar'? Such a sweet guy and his acting was incredible.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2017

Not ultimately an unhappy ending, it is nonetheless tearful. Performances are outstanding and direction is touching. While it makes you want to visit Australia can't say it makes me itch to go to India. Well worth seeing and one of the best movies of the year. Dev Patel has matured into a leading man and Nicole Kidman makes the most a small supporting role.

User review rating: 3 January 09, 2017

Opening credits are accompanied by a piano piece strangely reminiscent of Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata"..... in fact, wait! nearly every note is EXACTLY the same! Could the composer be ripping Beethoven off?

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2017

Excellent story telling. From start to finish you sense the strong bond the child and the young man feels towards his family. His search for his brother starts of his horrific journey from his town's railway to Calcutta and then his search for mother in his hometown. The characters played their role to a tee especially the young Pawar.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2017

Very good movie, just a really well done story. Scenes of India very sad. It looks like a war zone, but they haven't been in a war since king Asoka, the buildings and living conditions are appalling. The railway is unbelievable, thousands upon thousands of people streaming all around in a whirling mass, no wonder the kid got lost. The orphanage is appalling. A nightmare out of Charles Dickens. The worst part is realizing the kid was trying to say Gnesh, and no one understood his baby talk. Being adopted was a good experience for him and he was able to find his birth mother. Acting wise, I thought Rooneys role didn't really amount to anything and the whole relationship could have been cut, the role of his adoptive mother, was well portrayed, the kid was in for a shock when he first encounters that gigantic mass of red curls. All's well that ends well.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2017

Best movie that I saw in 2016. It is a little slow in some parts but an absolutely wonderful movie

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2017

Beautiful told story of a young man connecting with his mother with 15 tears in-between and two continents apart. it is touching, emotional, inspiring, a must see! The acting is superb. I highly recommend this being one of the season's movies to catch.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2017

One of the best movies I have seen in a long time

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2017

An amazing sad story. Such a different life He got such a privileged life and so aware that he did. All parents were amazing. Such squalor and horrible happenings in Calcutta

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2017

Awesome and timely movie especially with current immigration in the US. I chose this movie because I wanted it to touch my heart deeply. It did just that. Great first hand look at what orphans, children without birth parents in their formative years, immigrants and adult children needing to find themselves and their cultural roots. This movie gave me more com(passion) for all people.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2017

Amazing movie! A must see! Don't miss this movie!