Midsommar

Thank you for rating this movie!

Midsommar Movie Poster

3.87 / 5

User rating: 3.87

Based on 176 votes and 55 reviews


  • User rating: 3.87 61.04%
  • User rating: 3.87 11.69%
  • User rating: 3.87 3.90%
  • User rating: 3.87 0.00%
  • User rating: 3.87 23.38%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 55

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2019

This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Please do not waste your money on this movie. Yes, it is thought provoking and the filming is good but such a bad script. How can a director make such a movie! The subject matter is interesting and yet the director chose to make such a terrible movie.

User review rating: 1 July 20, 2019

wow! how can this movie getting 5 stars?

User review rating: 1 July 20, 2019

worth nothing, don't waste of money

User review rating: 1 July 20, 2019

This was bad enough when it was called The Hunger Games...

User review rating: 5 July 19, 2019

If you are familiar with Ari Aster and/or have heard the hype around Hereditary, then you should be prepared for this film. It’s strange and thought provoking (which makes some people mad I don’t know why) also makes you feel incredibly uncomfortable which is what I love about it. Personally im so de-sensitized by jump scares and ghost stories and haunted dolls that when a film like this comes along that takes you off the beaten path and truly disturbed me I beg for more.

User review rating: 5 July 18, 2019

Movie. Sucked...long. and boring...wasnt a thriller...more about a cult

User review rating: 3 July 18, 2019

This is a very disturbing movie. Not really a horror film as the term is normally used, it's more just about horrible people doing horrible things. If you think watching the Holocaust would make a good horror film, this one's for you.

User review rating: 5 July 17, 2019

God i love reading through the one star reviews of this movie about people who are pissed that it had gore and shit. Its a thriller ya'll aka horror shit in it. Don't be spicy just cause you cant read. Also to the people who thought it didn't relate to the audience at all; A main theme of the movie is the shared experience of womanhood and grief, I'm so glad you haven't experienced it but surprisingly the world doesn't revolve around you! Just because you cant relate to a certain experience doesn't mean others cant. Try to have an open mind for once. (also like, sex scenes happen in movies and books all the time, its a really good way to get into the characters head and show vulnerability, also its a thing that happens in real life and is filled with emotion, get over it)

User review rating: 5 July 17, 2019

This movie is a masterpiece of writing, story telling, and cinematography. 10/10 I'm planning on going to see it again on Friday with my friend. The themes are beautifully executed and the narrative question stays consistent throughout the entire film. The thriller/horror aspects don't feel forced or over the top. I absolutely love this movie and encourage anyone else who's a writer or appreciates good writing to go see it.

User review rating: 5 July 17, 2019

Wonderful story-telling, photography, customs and acting. A delight!

User review rating: 1 July 16, 2019

Disgusting gore. Extreme violence. Wish I had never seen it. Would like to have my brain scrubbed so that I can clean out the images.

User review rating: 5 July 16, 2019

Loved the movie, if you don't like gore or disturbing scenes you should stay away from this one though because you won't like it if you can't stand those 2 things, a must own for me when it releases!

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2019

Brilliant.

User review rating: 4 July 15, 2019

Another really cool movie from Ari Astor!

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2019

Saw this movie two weeks ago and still thinking about it. Reminded me of psychological horror movies from the 60s and 70s. Liked it a lot.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2019

An incredible movie,a 2 1/2 hour panic attack. Beautifully shot and so in touch with how women grieve,handle emotion and have shitty boyfriends

User review rating: 1 July 15, 2019

A waste of time and money. Not worth watching

User review rating: 1 July 14, 2019

Really! It was ridiculous

User review rating: 1 July 13, 2019

One of the top ten worst movies of all time.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2019

Definitely not a movie for every one, but if you enjoy a movie that doesnt completely lay out the plot for you and leaves you with questions at the end, this is the movie for you. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and highly recommend it.

User review rating: 1 July 11, 2019

one of the most stupid movies i've ever seen. i left half way thru it.

User review rating: 5 July 11, 2019

Soooooo good best movie I’ve seen this year

User review rating: 1 July 10, 2019

Happy when it finally ended.

User review rating: 1 July 10, 2019

Avoid - strange movie, slow storyline. It felt weird to sit through.

User review rating: 4 July 10, 2019

Visceral, emotional, deep and dark; if you liked Hereditary you'll really like this (although it is much gorier and somehow even weirder). Ari Aster continues to work with grief thematically, which Florence Pugh delivers with heart wrenching ferocity. Enough moments of uncomfortable laughter to lift you out of the lake before dropping you back in. If you're into jump scares and CGI, then this isn't the movie for you but if you want to be haunted....

User review rating: 1 July 09, 2019

WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 1 July 09, 2019

Bad, boring, stupid

User review rating: 1 July 09, 2019

I WANT MY MONEY BACK! Repulsive/Sick/Stupid

User review rating: 3 July 09, 2019

Kind of a bust... Ending didn't deliver for the 2 n 1/2 hr long ride. You go in waiting for shit to really hit the fan, but it never does. Also your given just enough in hopes of some crazy payout, but also never delivers. You just go from scene to scene and then it's over. This is what it feels like to have horror movie blue balls. Visually the movie was amazing and the main role did a good job acting. There's just enough to keep you to the end but when you get there it's kinda disappointing... 5 out 10.

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2019

If horror movies with cheap jump scares where the actrors fight hand to hand with demons or ghosts is your thing, chances are you're not going to like Midsommar. This movie exemplifies the real horrors of everyday life like psychiatric illness, fanaticism and substance abuse. Real horror to me is more appealing because what are the chances of me having to fight a demon or ghost in my life. Anyway, kudos to the creators. I hope to see more movies like this in the future.

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2019

Amazing visuals. It’s not for everyone but if you like weird and if you like to be shook I highly recommend.

User review rating: 4 July 08, 2019

Chilling and empowering. Terrifyingly powerful.

User review rating: 4 July 08, 2019

It was a pretty good movie. Not for everyone, some people might think it’s slow but in my opinion it was paced pretty good

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2019

Exceeded expectations, jaw dropping. I do not have words to describe the horror, the excitement, and mind boggling features of this film. It did not follow the norms of a cookie cutter horror film, the ending kept me wanting more but in a good way. It created an amazing and realistic example of a cult like situation.

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2019

Great movie and a treat for fans of horror and psychological thrillers. Acting was phenomenal, very believable protagonists. Would watch again. 5/5

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2019

I thought the cinematography was outstanding along with the soundtrack. All of the leads I thought were great as well. I prefered Hereditary to this one, felt as though this one had a long long buildup to an overall weaker/predictable ending. It was very unsettling. I thought it could have been 30 mins shorter as well, thought it was dragged out at times. Overall I did enjoy it, just felt that it was missing something at the end.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

Great film! Absolutely brilliant! I have to see what else this writer/director’s done.

User review rating: 1 July 07, 2019

THE MOVIE IS RATED WRONGLY...IT IS A TRIPLE X MOVIE...IT WAS DISGUSTING AND I AM SORRY WE WENT TO SEE IT. THE THEATER SHOULD NOT SHOW THIS MOVIE ANYMORE..ON TOP OF BEING PORNOGRAPHIC, IT WAS ALSO BORING. WE HAVE A RESPONSIBILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY OF WHAT IS BEING SHOWN TO THE PUBLIC AND THE PEOPLE WHO ALLOWED THIS X-RATED FILM TO BE SHOWN SHOULD BE ASHAMED. IT WAS HORRIBLE!

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2019

A beautifully haunting traumatic experience that will leave lasting feeling long after the credits role. At times the plot is slightly disjointed and character development minimal. It is more than made up for with the sheer terror it enacts leaving you confused on why it was so beautiful.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

This is a movie without jump scares, but is one with a slow building sense of dread that will keep you thinking about it hours after the movie has ended. Absolutely awesome film.