Paul, Apostle of Christ

Thank you for rating this movie!

Paul, Apostle of Christ Movie Poster

4.44 / 5

User rating: 4.44

Based on 226 votes and 76 reviews


  • User rating: 4.44 77.89%
  • User rating: 4.44 7.37%
  • User rating: 4.44 3.16%
  • User rating: 4.44 4.21%
  • User rating: 4.44 7.37%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 76

User review rating: 2 May 22, 2018

Disappointed. It wasn't very good. Not loud enough in first part. Then the rest was just sort of Ho Hum. Somehow, I did not get a real feeling about the people being portrayed.

User review rating: 5 May 12, 2018

I read the reviews on this movie and wasn't sure about going to see it. Yes some scenes were a little dark but the light then was not what it is now. The comments about not being able to hear are untrue. Go see this movie, it is excellent and true to the times and the bible. Don't miss it.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2018

This film transcends the genre of movies, to capture the essence of what it took for the earliest believers in Christ (Yahushua / YHWH) to give of themselves to keep their faith and bring through the apostles the gospel to a lost and dying world. The movie was applauded at close, and the theater was left speechless, people had tears in their eyes. This film was truly sobbering and perhaps the closest glimpse into that age outside of reading the Bible; well made and very, very, eriely believable, a must see, a real faith inspiring film considering it is based on biblical and historical facts, an artistic masterpiece that pulls on the heartstrings of faith, and cuts to the marrow of the bone, do you have the faith to lay down your life for eternal redemption? Could you pay the ultimate sacrifice?

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2018

Excellent movie! James Faulkner did an excellent job in playing the role of St. Paul, and Jim C as Luke. The message of love and that it is the only way, was very apparent and true to the Acts of the Apostles. Thanks to Silver Screen for hosting this movie!

User review rating: 1 April 21, 2018

Graphic

User review rating: 2 April 15, 2018

I wanted to like this but I was so distracted by the extremely dim lighting, and barely audible dialogue it was hard to engage. It's hard enough to maintain attention to long passages of Bible like speeches without making it hard for the viewers to see and hear. I was annoyed most of the film and terribly disappointed. Oh, do I get that Paul was in a dark prison, yes. I get it was a dark period and film lighting might have underscored that. But the artist direction seems to have been to over darken the most of the film just so the one scene of the little girl awaking healthy could be bright in contrast. This film was a total miss for me. So be it. We are told to be of sober opinions, not false flatters just because we're delighted to have another faith-based movie from Jim Caviezel.

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2018

Drama . Interesting fictional background story . .? Violence for children ? Maybe to much .

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2018

Y\I'm going to see it a second time, and take my family with me!!

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2018

EXCELLENT!!!!

User review rating: 5 April 12, 2018

Great movie!

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2018

Wonderful!

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2018

Very moving...tears came to my eyes at the end! Wonderful message to remind Christians of today what the Christians during Jesus' Ministry and right after Jesus' Resurrection were subjected to in order to spread The Gospel of Jesus Christ ! Highly recommended for every Christian! Secular people would be served well to see the movie also!

User review rating: 1 April 10, 2018

There are no words for how bad this is. The acting is like that of a high school play where it all goes so terribly wrong. Christian martyrs went willingly to their deaths. I was about ready to join them. TERRIBLE!! ............guru bob

User review rating: 5 April 09, 2018

Excellent movie. Jim Caviezel & all the other actors did a great job.

User review rating: 5 April 09, 2018

We all need reminders in life and this movie is one. Believers would die for their faith in the Lord. Puts things in perspective. Excellent movie go see it while we still can !

User review rating: 5 April 09, 2018

I have seen it twice. My favorite movie since The Passion of Christ! I felt like I was there as I watched.

User review rating: 4 April 08, 2018

What stood out to me was showing how Paul probably struggled with his life before his conversion and the deaths he was responsible for. We appreciated the movie - it was not flashy but seemed to show the difficult times those early believers lived in.

User review rating: 5 April 07, 2018

Deeply moving and thought-provoking. It was true to the spirit of Paul's letters, and the visual impact of events was powerful. I was concerned that either the movie might over-emphasize the torture and pain of the early Christians or perhaps veer toward a sentimentalized version of Paul. Happily, neither of these was the case. From what I know, it seemed an accurate depiction of the times, and Paul's faith rang true. Even knowing the story (or perhaps because of that), I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. So glad I saw it.

User review rating: 2 April 06, 2018

I looked forward to seeing this film but I am sorry to say that I was disappointed in this film. Was it a movie about Paul--or Luke? I did not find it to be accurate in that women seemed to have more authority here than I believe they really did back in that time period. It seemed slow and I feel they should have spent more time on Saul's life before his conversion as well as afterward--not just the end of his life.

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2018

This movie wasn't what I expected at all. At Easter I look forward to seeing movies like the Ten Commandments r Ben Hur etc. Drawn out too long, not much here .

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2018

A life changing movie.

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2018

Even better the second time! Learned more and seen more and understood soooo much more! Thank you! :-)

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2018

Excellent movie....highly recommend it.

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2018

I loved the movie. It was well done It portrayed meaningfully, a small but mighty snippet of the Christian faith, from a biblical aspect. What St Paul and Christians at the time experienced thousands of years ago somewhat similar to what has happened in recent times. I wish there were more movies like this, showing the reality of the Christian faith on screen. It kept my attention. Excellent movie.

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2018

Excellent cast. True to the Gospel.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2018

Well cast - This movie brought the Gospel to life. It reminded us of the sacrifices made by the early Christian Community - their strength and fortitude. The example of their faith filled lives is a testament to all Christians. They truly lived as Jesus taught - To Love even when "to Love" seems impossible. We need to hear this message over and over especially in our world today! We wanted to watch the story unfold even more, that is the only reason we gave 4 stars instead of 5.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2018

Excellent. I found myself in this movie. Much insight into both Paul and Luke

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2018

Please bring more movies like this to our theatres

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2018

Authentic and inspiring.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2018

FABulous !!! just in time for Easter. Loved it !!

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2018

Very profound, deeply moving and thought-provoking. Left the movie with a deeper appreciation for what Paul, the other apostles, and early Christians endured "for the sake of the gospel". I did have a hard time shaking the graphic images of Christians being beheaded or used as human torches during Nero's reign. While it helped me personally appreciate the depth of persecution endured by Christians, I would not recommend this movie for very young children for that reason.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2018

Movie was excellent and left me speechless with a lingering impression... The love of our brothers and sisters who died for their faith in Christ... overwhelming. Don't read liberal reviews, they are blinded and their reviews are lies.

User review rating: 2 April 01, 2018

Dark movie-little action. Not a very Biblical rendition of Paul's life.

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2018

I thought the movie was great because it showed how much the early Christians risked for the cause of Christ. Today we think we shouldn't have to suffer (or at least I think that I should have to suffer as much as I do) but in this movie nobody talks about the suffering they just endure it and some die for their love of Jesus. It was shocking to see the depiction of Paul, not at all like I pictured him to be. He was strong, unwavering and inspiring. I will think about this movie for a long time and I hope to see it again. Apparently I have a lot to learn about long suffering and this movie drives the point home.

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2018

It is the best movie I have ever seen. True to the Spirit of the Bible and very powerfully and artistically crafted. In the midst of great suffering Paul's commitment to Christ is unwavering. Christ's power is truly made perfect in Paul's weakness as he yielded his life to Christ. Beautiful and miraculous, how the Lord has brought so many gifted people to produce this masterpiece.

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2018

This movie was life changing. Seeing Paul's words come from his mouth - and the viewing of his actual suffering. Only problem was the sound was a bit to soft - had to strain to hear. But, not a dry eye in the place at the end. Made me wonder - honesty how Christianity survived all that persecution.

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2018

Super excellent!

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2018

I liked this movie. For anyone familiar with the New Testament story, this movie delves into it and provides a dramatic and not impossible answer to a very real question question- not so much, I think, about the Apostle Paul, but about the matter of Luke and his survival through the final days of Paul's ordeal before he was beheaded- as Paul put it, in his last letter to Timothy, "For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure has come." Read the Bible and see... more than once, God's light has shone the brightest in the darkness of a jail or a prison.

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2018

I left with heart hurting for their suffering, and with a deep understanding that we all need to do more. It was a wonderful, meaningful movie that showed the complexities of the world for them, their faith and trust in the Lord.

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2018

Brilliant movie!! I would love to see more like this movie. I will be seeing it again!