Road to the Lemon Grove

Thank you for rating this movie!

Road to the Lemon Grove Movie Poster

4.65 / 5

User rating: 4.65

Based on 232 votes and 88 reviews


  • User rating: 4.65 78.76%
  • User rating: 4.65 15.93%
  • User rating: 4.65 0.88%
  • User rating: 4.65 0.88%
  • User rating: 4.65 3.54%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 88

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2019

Road to the Lemon Grove The Road to the Lemon Grove is an addicting movie under the direction of Dale Hildebrand and written by Dale and Charly Chiarelli, that you will want to see more than once. The flawless acting of Charly Chiarelli who plays multiple roles (father Antonio and son Calogero) is beyond perfection. Playing both roles was an intense part and could not have been easy, but the superb acting makes you forget they are both the same person. All the actors play their roles meticulously and with such emotion. The movie being filmed in Hamilton and Sicily, brought our Sicilian/Italian/Canadian community to relive their heritage and the beloved home they left back home to find a better life in another country. Many tears were shed as I looked around. Memories of Immigration appeared in hearts and minds of people watching the movie. Memories which for some were quite detrimental to leave their families behind and for some, wonderful memories of a better life abroad. The scenery of Sicily was breathtaking. It makes you want to book your next vacation their. The movie came with an amazing soundtrack that brought most of us back to memories of growing up in our Sicilian/Italian homes with our parents and grandparents. I wanted to get up and dance at some of the songs which reminded me of my father. The Road to the Lemon Grove has a powerful message with God telling Antonio that he cannot get through the pearly gates until he get through to his son. The movie goes on about the last wishes of Antonio to be buried in Sicily under the lemon grove that he owns and his son Calogero must make it happen. Antonio’s deceased wife’s family and Calogero are feuding over the land in Sicily. The movie beautifully demonstrates that we must honor our parent’s last wishes and make peace with the family. The most beautiful scene happens when Calogero is in Sicily at his father’s lemon grove and is going to place his ashes where Antonio wanted him to.

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2019

Road to the Lemon Grove has resonated with me in a profound way. I am a first generation Italian Canadian. My parents arrived in Halifax harbour a life time ago. They then boarded a train which sent them on a metaphorically bumpy ride across arguably the greatest country in the world, Canada. Road to the Lemon Grove is touching, visually beautiful to watch, intelligent and memorable. Absolutely unforgettable.

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2019

I absolutely love this movie! It was a witty look into someone’s quest into the pearly gates with beautiful scenery catchy music and fun characters. I want to see it again!

User review rating: 5 September 10, 2019

Beautiful scenery. A part of Italy I have not visited but now on my list. Easy story, insightful messages and good laughs. Happy to have attended.

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2019

Lovely movie, enjoyed the story line, beautiful scenic views. Happy movie to watch anytime!

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2019

Visually stunning, heartwarming and funny story about the struggles of the Italian immigrants post WW2 in trying to adapt to a new language and culture! It illustrates the generational divide between father and son, and going back to one's roots to reconnect with one's heritage, which many can relate to.

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2019

Good storyline. Beautiful cinematography and humorous script. The cast and crew did a great job capturing the essence of the script! Bridging the gap between generations and honouring traditions.

User review rating: 5 September 08, 2019

The cinematography is stunning. The characters are vibrant and the father - son conflict was relatable. I thought I might be disappointed Loreena Mckennit wasn't part of the soundtrack but her melodic "voice of God" was most satisfying. Italian in-laws were delightfully 2-faced. I will see this again to capture more detail. I would highly recommend.

User review rating: 4 September 06, 2019

Beautiful settings providing insight into Sicilian family dynamics. A most enjoyable multi dimensional movie.

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2019

Absolutely enjoyed this delightful movie - it touched me at the most profoundest part of my being - delighted to savour my heritage and roots.

User review rating: 1 September 05, 2019

I never walk out of movies, but I walked out of this one about 1/2 way through. When I first walked into the theatre, everyone in the theatre had white hair - that should have been my first clue. By the way, I watched My Big Fat Greek Wedding and loved it - this movie is nothing like that.

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2019

A wonderful movie! Loved the narrative especially throughout, insightful, sensitive and wise, so well written!

User review rating: 4 September 05, 2019

Fantastic movie. Loved the story. Amazing scenic views. Congrats to everyone.

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2019

I love this movie. It really represents the Sicilian culture. Also, the scenery is stunning.

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2019

What an amazing movie. I loved it from start to finish. Well done everyone!

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2019

It was remarkable movie our family enjoyed it. So close to reality. Love it want to see again.

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2019

Congratulations!! Great movie, loved the panoramic treat and Sicilian language!

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2019

Drama and comedy rolled into one great movie! It had a great message and a quirky way to keep you laughing. Great job!

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2019

Loved it. It was like big Fat Greek Wedding only Big Fat Sicilian Funeral. It was funny and quirky with a great message about family.

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It had heart and it could be seen throughout the movie. Love the message of the movie, love the directing, and loved the acting.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Funny and Brilliant- well done!!

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this film. Sweet and picturesque- even my home town of Hamilton was enjoyable to see.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Beautiful story. So true to life! Funny yet poignant! A must see for our multicultural country!

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Great movie. Well done. Loved the Sicilian dialect

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

A wonderful movie. Charly you were spectacular!

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

If you are looking for a slick over produced action packed, guns blaring, bombs going off, film with lots of special effects and not much of a story line movie, then Road to the Lemon Grove is not for you. However, if you are looking for some heart and soul, Road to the Lemon Grove is perfect! It will make you laugh, cry and make you reflect on your relationships with your family and friends. The story and theme is very universal. A relationship between a father and a son, and how being immigrants affected their lives. What makes this film so special is that the story has been filmed and told in a very unique and original way. This would become very apparent if you and your family were immigrants as well. Road to the Lemon Grove is sure to make a mark with the mature audience from the first families of immigrants and for their next generations. The music is fantastic throughout the movie. Would love it if you could buy the soundtrack

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Amazing movie. Great acting and an awesome mix of humour as well as a very touching, meaningful story. A must see movie. Don’t miss it.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

A tour de force for the brilliantly talented Charly Chiarelli. The cast couldn't have been a more perfect ensemble. ????

User review rating: 4 September 03, 2019

a gem the humour sticks with you

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Loved the movie! Every Italian immigrant should bring their families and grandchildren to see it and then talk about their own story!!

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Touching, humorous and unique story line. I loved the acting and cinematography! Of 'Bravo' and 'Netflix' feature quality.

User review rating: 4 September 03, 2019

Loved the humor and scenery and message. So much to enjoy. Great casting.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Fantastic movie. I enjoyed it very much. The acting was wonderful....Charley, you were amazing! Loved the scenery! The message was very clear! Have recommended it to my friends and family! I wish much success to the film and the actors!

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

I had the opportunity today to see a movie that really moved me! “Road To The Lemon Grove”. This movie is a must for all Immigrants, Italian, Sicilians in particular. Being of Sicilian decent, having visited the island many times, reinforced my culture. All acting was fabulous especially Charly’s acting, nothing less than spectacular! Once Again Congratulations Charly Chiarelli, you are blessed with God Given Talent! SUCH A TOUCHING MOVIE !!

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Loved it! It was funny, quirky and emotional. A must see.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

My Son and I really enjoyed the movie a lot! We are not Sicilian heritage but we went to Sicily 2 years ago. This film brought to light many of our own experiences because we did our own tour. We are of Italian Heritage and travelled from the North, South and Sicily! This film not only captured the difference in culture but the problems of survival in a Canadian English society. My son and I kept remembering our experiences in Sicily. The film was so entertaining?

User review rating: 4 September 03, 2019

Good acting from the lead roles....inviting scenery was gratis. Depicts challenges faced by new immigrant families while maintaining old family traditions. Indeed entertaining.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

Great movie. Great performance by Charly. The Sicilian culture was portrayed beautifully.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2019

I absolutely loved it! Best movie of all time! I will go see it again and again!

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2019

Great movie. Charly gives a Hollywood performance.