The Goldfinch

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Goldfinch Movie Poster

3.91 / 5

User rating: 3.91

Based on 68 votes and 30 reviews


  • User rating: 3.91 51.52%
  • User rating: 3.91 15.15%
  • User rating: 3.91 18.18%
  • User rating: 3.91 3.03%
  • User rating: 3.91 12.12%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 30 of 30

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2019

great story and weaving of plot

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2019

This was a great movie! The acting was superb which made for a much more believable story. This movie was thought-provoking and insightful.

User review rating: 5 September 24, 2019

Best movie I have seen in a very long time - meaty and satisfying story & characters with complex storyline, would gladly watch it one more time.

User review rating: 3 September 22, 2019

Slow and long went twice still didnt see the ending 5 out of 10

User review rating: 5 September 22, 2019

Outstanding film. It is not a film for those who just want a "shoot em' up and explode cars and airplanes" story. It is a film that requires thought. Beautifully depicted.

User review rating: 1 September 22, 2019

One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Jumped around constantly and extremely hard to follow. We almost walked out after the first 30 minutes but kept waiting for it to get better. It never did.

User review rating: 4 September 20, 2019

Really loved this. Read the book as well. While books are always better than movies, this movie satisfied my interest enough. Visually beautiful. The poor reviews of this movie across the board are sorta the sign of the times - a culture with weak attention spans. What can we expect from a society that watches people eat Tide pods and are on their phones 6 hours a day? Not much. Read the book and enjoy the film.

User review rating: 4 September 20, 2019

Really like this movie, really liked the book. Good story and great acting.

User review rating: 5 September 20, 2019

Great movie. Not difficult to follow the plot as some viewers suggest. Intelligent and thought provoking. Excellent acting with wonderful character progression. Treat yourself and go see it.

User review rating: 4 September 19, 2019

Overall enjoyed the movie but it started to drag toward the end!, a bit too long!

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2019

Yesterday 2 of my neighbors and I went to see The Goldfinch and we all loved it!! Most times movie remakes of books are a letdown, but this was outstanding. Best movie I have seen in quite some time. I am shocked and disappointed the Dallas Morning Newspaper rated it a “D”. I hope readers don’t see that score and fail to take it in, Whoever writes the Dallas News Movie Reviews needs to have their head examined...just joking people!! OK, not really, maybe they just need another job. Great movie...GO SEE IT!!!!

User review rating: 3 September 19, 2019

The movie was better than I thought it would be. Over all a good movie.

User review rating: 1 September 19, 2019

I fell asleep for short time in the beginning. My partner elbowed me to wake me up. Can't blame it on the short snooze but I just couldn't get 'into' this movie despite my total love of everything Nicole Kidman does.

User review rating: 3 September 18, 2019

Alittle slow but all in all an ok movie 7 out of 10

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2019

Excellent adaptation of book. A little long but so was the book.

User review rating: 3 September 18, 2019

Too long; difficult to follow; not enough character development but well acted and intriguing.

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed the movie it showed a portrait of how life can be cruel yet rewarding. A long movie but necessary to tell the story properly. Great acting and a journey of a young boy becoming a man much wiser in the end. Robert

User review rating: 5 September 17, 2019

There were 4 of us, two had read Goldfinch and two had not. We all loved it. The cast was superb, they followed the book closely. One of the best movies we have seen in a very long time! So tired of endless remakes, gratuitous violence, and car chases, etc etc. I liked it so much I am going again with my daughter.

User review rating: 1 September 16, 2019

Weak, slow, boring and star studded.

User review rating: 5 September 16, 2019

What a movie! I was not sure what to expect for this two and a half hr movie, it was superb! The actors for Theo and Boris were impeccable! Remarkable acting as the young Theo and Boris, leading into adulthood. I vote this as the best movie I have ever seen. An academy winner for sure!

User review rating: 2 September 15, 2019

Long and boring. To much back and forth.

User review rating: 5 September 15, 2019

Swept into the plot and lives of the characters .. Loved every minute!

User review rating: 3 September 15, 2019

Not as bad as some reviewers rate it, but not as good as it wants to be. It's a messy movie with wildly indifferent acting from Kidman and better acting with the child version of the protagonist. The drug-dealer who has a psychopath job, but is actually a quite friendly nice guy who goes out of his way to help, looked unrealistic. The themes of loss, guilt and missed opportunities do resonate. Of course the cinematography from Roger Deakins is excellent.

User review rating: 5 September 14, 2019

The movie had you captive and the time slipped away. This is an excellent movie for discussion.

User review rating: 5 September 14, 2019

Great movie. The story is so intriguing and the acting including Nicole Kidman is stellar. As the story progresses, it completely holds one's attention and the 2 1/2 hours slips by. It's a must see movie.

User review rating: 5 September 13, 2019

Best movie so far this year. Loved it. I couldn’t get into the book but the movie was excellent. Should get some awards.

User review rating: 5 September 13, 2019

Excellent script, direction and acting. A really intriguing plot. The young boy who played the lead character was exceptional and will probably be nominated for an Oscar. One very minor criticism: a tad too long.

User review rating: 3 September 13, 2019

This was an overly long movie. There were far to many shifts in the plot, mostly about going back and forth from the beginning to interim points and ending. I was most grateful for the end.

User review rating: 4 September 13, 2019

This was good as a drama exploring the neurotic world of young Theo who falls into despair and the throws of Nihilism before his 14th Birthday. Along the way he meets family and other adults more messed up than himself which suggest the future for him holds the promises of substance abuse, failed marriages and a despairing progressive world view. As an audience we are not helped as the picture ends up being like a jigsaw puzzle thrown on floor leaving the audience on hands and knees trying to put events and pictures together to find the story. For such a part, it is a shame a film like this didn't come out thirty years ago where Woody Allen or martin Short could have plain the neurotic young Theo. The film works at a serious level but missed the opportunity as a masterpiece of being a disturbing comedy.

User review rating: 5 September 10, 2019

It was delightful. Superb recognizable actors . A drama surrounding an actual painting by great Dutch artist Carel Fabritius in 1654. Cinematograper Roger Deakins and Director John Crowley make an excellent team. I have to read the bestseller book now by Donna Tartt. Not recommended for young children. It was GREAT.The ending juxtaposing the paintings viewed was also enigmatically well done.