The Hate U Give

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Hate U Give Movie Poster

3.42 / 5

User rating: 3.42

Based on 768 votes and 48 reviews


  • User rating: 3.42 54.95%
  • User rating: 3.42 6.59%
  • User rating: 3.42 1.10%
  • User rating: 3.42 0.00%
  • User rating: 3.42 37.36%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 48

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2018

5 stars

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2018

Thoughtfully done to inspire thinking about prejudice between people.Unfounded fears has brought people to act irrationally before thinking. 3seconds can make a lot of change

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2018

This was an emotional and thought provoking movie that indeed addresses issues we are seeing in the community. Innocent black men being shot and killed by cowardly racist police officers has to end.

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2018

Great,Great movie!The movie depicts what is occurring in America TODAY!Those who are giving the movie low ratings are in self denial or refuse to see the truth.Take a look at the statistics and compare unarmed minorities killed by policemen VS unarmed whites being killed by policemen.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2018

This movie got me looking for the book.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2018

Compelling explanation of life for people caught in two worlds. Worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2018

Great movie. Don’t listen to the reviews by the previledged that have not been affect by these circumstances and have no clue as to what African Americans go through with law enforcement.

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2018

More racial bullshit!

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2018

Another one of Hollywood’s brain washing left wing movies. Hate cops...... this movie is designed to spread hate.

User review rating: 1 November 10, 2018

Very divisive movie. The only intent of this movie is leftist propaganda.

User review rating: 5 November 10, 2018

I’m telling all my Facebook friends and family to please go see this movie and take your kids. The admissions fee you will pay to see this movie is worth the life lesson learned! Who ever is giving this movie three stars needs to turn back in the film critics badge. I would also like to say this movie isn’t playing in a lot of theaters because I get the feeling the system is afraid people of color will start going off. Just the opposite, we will educate our children and be mindful of our surroundings. This movie has a life lesson. Don’t let the bogus three star rating confuse you. It’s just another ploy to keep you silent and in the dark

User review rating: 1 November 09, 2018

Would not recommend this movie, very imflammatory and over simplified script. See the Grinch instead and be happy ( :

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2018

Superb acting! Intimate portraits of quite a variety of characters. "A star is born" in Amandla Stenberg. Highly relevant topic for today's America.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2018

It was a very well planned movie. Educational and life relatable to what is going on know. Stand up for your rights and for those who can not do for themselves. Change starts with one voice and ends with many voices. Despite who tries to stop you.

User review rating: 4 November 07, 2018

Much better than expected, I would recommend it to everyone with children,grandchildren.

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2018

Very inspiring. A movie everyone should see. Especially Americans. An America who proclaims freedom for all but in reality is held captive by prejudices. Who really is free??? Think about it!!!

User review rating: 4 November 06, 2018

Very well done and is pertinent as to what is going on in our society today. Looks at events from many sides. Very telling when Uncle relates how he looks at things as a police officer. Very good acting

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2018

Loved this movie though it had so much heartache shown from so many different sides. It addresses so many of the issues we are dealing with in the USA today and it does it beautifully. It should help all of us understand each other better.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2018

I love the whole movie ots NOT promoting hate its going against it and its powerful some people dont understand nor do they want to

User review rating: 5 November 04, 2018

Amazing movie. Extremely well done: thought-provoking & gut-wrenching. Does a great job of showing a heart-breaking incident from many sides. There is no way you walk away from this film thinking it promotes hate or violence. If anything, you walk away feeling we all need to do better as human beings living in this world together.

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2018

Excellent movie. So glad to not live in the United States.

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2018

So true to Life! Very well done!,,

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2018

Very powerful! A heartbreaking must watch

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2018

The whole movie.

User review rating: 5 October 29, 2018

The movie just drew you in because the characters were so well developed. I tend to agree with a review I saw earlier that people who are one-starring this movie likely never saw it. The last thing that the movie does is to "promote hate." It promotes seeing the value of truly hearing others and increasing understanding through developing capacity for empathy.

User review rating: 5 October 28, 2018

This movie is true to the times we live in now. I really felt the issues of black on black crimes and white police crime on blacks are significantly and fairly illustrated. I feel every family should take a look at this film to open much needed dialogue at the family table. The script, direction, and acting should be rewarded.

User review rating: 1 October 28, 2018

Just another liberal movie that promotes hate. This is a made up scenario that has no fact to it. First to be pulled over by police you would have broken the law your color doesn't come into the reason for stop 2nd the police don't make you exit your vehicle on a traffic stop 3rd if for some reason you had to exit the car if told to do so it is highly unlikely your would be shot unless you produced a weapon to point at the officer and yes the police are trained to recognize a weapon from a brush, so this makes this a move of hype promoting hate for police officers especially if they are white and just doing there job. movies and tv have become politically left Bias to indoc young people to except what they are presenting as fact which are far from the truth

User review rating: 5 October 28, 2018

The father is a great actor as well as Amandla S!

User review rating: 5 October 26, 2018

Very well made film . I liked how it explored the police on black shootings issue from different points of view . A must see film .

User review rating: 5 October 26, 2018

It has a great inspiration on how the hate you give others, changes your life. I'd like to watch The Hate U Give every single day!!!

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2018

Relevant reflection of our society.

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2018

The acting was phenomenal, Grate directing. Side note to the director, may I please be in your next true reality film? The writers were "right on" with the story line, screen play was true and well written. It showed the perspectives from both sides of the spectrum. It will leave the viewer with a sense of the problem isn't "one sided" although it's tilted; and the solution lies within ALL OF US... in the USA and throughout the world. People... One can not be what they are not taught. Can not know what they are not told.

User review rating: 1 October 23, 2018

Pure liberal crap.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2018

this is a must see !! this is our society we live in!

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2018

It’s just so real because that is exactly what happens in our society now what’s to like or dislike what’s needed is prayer in the hearts of all Gods people

User review rating: 5 October 21, 2018

Funny how white people get all bothered when the anti-racist violence is turned on racist violence--they only see the former and are blind to the daily (cops in this case) routine of the later? Wake up and smell the (black) coffee and join the fight against white (cream) racism so that all (whites included) may be free from de-humanization and the daily atrocity that is racism.

User review rating: 2 October 21, 2018

I fell asleep. Definitely not worth all the hype

User review rating: 1 October 20, 2018

Why should the police not fear for their lives when young people are not brought up to RESPECT police and others of authority. Where has all the respect gone.

User review rating: 5 October 19, 2018

This story is relevant, bold but yet compassionate! Its a must see for all generations who want to make a positive difference in our country & beyond.

User review rating: 5 October 19, 2018

Outstanding! Oscar worthy performances. If society does not treat all of its citizens with respect, the consequences and repercussions will not be positive. No one should lose their life over a minor traffic infraction