The House with a Clock in its Walls

Thank you for rating this movie!

The House with a Clock in its Walls Movie Poster

4.04 / 5

User rating: 4.04

Based on 378 votes and 60 reviews


  • User rating: 4.04 50.85%
  • User rating: 4.04 30.51%
  • User rating: 4.04 2.54%
  • User rating: 4.04 4.24%
  • User rating: 4.04 11.86%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 60

User review rating: 4 October 26, 2018

I liked the fact that the movie had Jack Black and Cate Blanchette in it. I never go by what the critics say good or bad I go see the movie if i'm interested and if not either wait till its on tv or rental if i want to see it.

User review rating: 1 October 21, 2018

horrible, no plot, 53.00 for crap

User review rating: 4 October 18, 2018

LOVED IT!!!!!!!! AND JUST IN TIME FOR HALLOWEEN

User review rating: 1 October 14, 2018

The acting was great, but the plot line was a bit strange to me. Also, many parts in the movie made me a bit uncomfortable. Remember, this is just me personally, but I didn’t like the movie that much. Though again, great acting and actors.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2018

What the H is going on with these reviews?!!? Satanic? Really?! If this is Satanic than so is Little Red Riding Hood, 3 Blind Mice, The Grinch and heck, why not through in the story of Christ too!! People have lost their Gosh darn minds!! A fun, magical movie for kids. Full Stop.

User review rating: 1 October 12, 2018

Terrible. Walked out after 30 minutes.

User review rating: 1 October 10, 2018

Don’t let your kids see this. Never mind that, don’t let yourself see this. Disturbing, bad movie.

User review rating: 4 October 10, 2018

Magical. Fun. Liked it a lot and TWO THUMBS UP!!!!!

User review rating: 4 October 09, 2018

Love the cast. The story line had a bit much going on but was still very good. Probably great for older kids, my kids 6 and 7 were scared sometimes and there is a lot of witchcraft, demons, blood magic etc in which was a little uncomfortable, but I should have researched the movie more.

User review rating: 1 October 09, 2018

not for children!!! To much pushing witch craft and Satanism. If you are a Christian this movie is not for you

User review rating: 5 October 09, 2018

Nothing about the devil. Gezzzz. This was a funny movie.

User review rating: 1 October 08, 2018

WAY too much going on to hold interest - and at times seems mean spirited - I would NOT take young children to see this one.

User review rating: 1 October 08, 2018

I thought this was going to be a kids movie Halloween theme... boy was I wrong. Visual and vocal references (multiple) to the Satanic Bible, lots of Inverted Pentagrams, and numerous others. How this got a PG rating is beyond me......... Just very disappointed that Jack Black even put his name on this... not directed at kids at all

User review rating: 5 October 08, 2018

Hail Satan! Bring your kids!!

User review rating: 4 October 07, 2018

I liked this movie in a weird scary kind of way.

User review rating: 1 October 07, 2018

A LOT of fake positive reviews on this one. Skip it

User review rating: 4 October 07, 2018

Good entertainment. The kids liked it. The child actor did the best acting.

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2018

Loved it, anything with magic in it appeals to many. Jack Black is always worth seeing!

User review rating: 5 October 05, 2018

Really fun watch if you don't take things too terribly seriously. It looks like they had fun making it.

User review rating: 1 October 05, 2018

Couldn’t wait for it to be over! Boring with few laughs.

User review rating: 1 October 05, 2018

Very disturbing satanic movie. I wouldn't take my children to see this. Waste of time and money. No effective comic relief.

User review rating: 1 October 05, 2018

Worst movie I have seen in a while. The acting was fine, but the story line is really DUMB.

User review rating: 5 October 05, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

User review rating: 4 October 04, 2018

This is more of a “humorous” movie as opposed to a comedy. Jack Black & Cate Blanchett deliver a decent performance for a light movie. While the movie is somewhat predictable, it’s all in good fun. The house itself also puts in a good performance! I gave it 4 stars because I enjoyed the movie and it had enough ridiculous moments that it will be worth watching again.

User review rating: 1 October 02, 2018

This movie is demonic and satanic.

User review rating: 4 October 01, 2018

I enjoyed this ,,,easy watching bit of fun..not better then Potter films,but well worth seeing!

User review rating: 1 September 26, 2018

Bored me to death--left after 45 minutes. When Jack Black is bad, he's really bad...……….gurubob…….two thumbs WAY down.

User review rating: 2 September 26, 2018

The film doesn't seem to know what it is about-is it trying to make you laugh, take it as a fantasy? as a real story? scare you or to be a farce. One moment it is trying to do one of these things and then it moves to contradict this point. With that said-for an audience of between 6 to 13 this film will be a solid 4 stars but for any adult this film is painful to watch like a very bad version of Harry Potter (which I loved). About the only thing that saves the film at all are the interesting set designs inside the house that are not the fake looking CGI effects in the film. If you have kids you should take them but if you are an adult skip this one as this not a film of the quality of the Harry Potter films. Films like this ultimately fail as the film makers seem to forget that in order to take someone into a flight of fantasy suspension of disbelief must occur-this never comes close to happening anywhere in the film.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2018

Excellent effects and terrific acting. Amusing side characters. Creepy story with right amount of humor. Really draws the viewer in. Good for older children and adults as well.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2018

If the last Harry Potter films were as good as this they'd still be making them.

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2018

This movie was great. I did not find anything dark and super creepy from this movie. Lol

User review rating: 2 September 24, 2018

Ummm, not for me. Perfect for the younger crowd.

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2018

Lots of twists and turns... love Jack Black and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

User review rating: 4 September 24, 2018

Technically good but not for me.

User review rating: 5 September 24, 2018

A must for Potter fans.

User review rating: 5 September 23, 2018

Well acted, perfect amount of humor, Halloween scared, colorful, friendship lesson, and special effects.

User review rating: 5 September 23, 2018

Excellent movie. The troll is back again in here. The one who keeps saying the all 5 stars are fake reviews. Lol

User review rating: 4 September 23, 2018

Much better than The Predator. What a cast!

User review rating: 3 September 22, 2018

Nice fun family movie

User review rating: 2 September 22, 2018

Got up and watched Predator instead..That was at least better than this one. The acting was good though.