The Man Who Invented Christmas

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Man Who Invented Christmas Movie Poster

3.64 / 5

User rating: 3.64

Based on 70 votes and 25 reviews


  • User rating: 3.64 51.52%
  • User rating: 3.64 12.12%
  • User rating: 3.64 9.09%
  • User rating: 3.64 3.03%
  • User rating: 3.64 24.24%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 25 of 25

User review rating: 3 December 12, 2017

Disappointed. Compared to the original earlier versions of "Scrooge" this movie seems to lose the real experience between poverty and greed (could have been more relevant for today), and feels rushed, and discombobulated.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2017

It was fabulous !!! The acting was superb. Dan Stevens did a terrific job portraying Charles Dickens. Wonderful performance by Christopher Plummer and the other actors as well. I would definitely see this movie again . I love everything & anything associated with A CHRISTMAS CAROL . I didn’t even know about this movie till I was looking for showtimes for another movie. I’m so happy that I found out about THE MAN WHO INVENTED CHRISTMAS!!!

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2017

First movie I've seen for a long time I would be willing to watch again. Dan Stevens is remarkable in his portrayal of Charles Dickens, The sets are interesting in their own right. A GREAT film!!

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2017

Very accurate to what we know about Dickens with speculation kept to the probable.

User review rating: 4 December 08, 2017

Excellent family movie at the right time heading into the holidays. Having just seen the play as well, and very well versed with the story, this movie really came to life for me. Some of the plot progression is a bit lacking in connectivity, but otherwise fantastic job. Not sure what all the low star ratings are about. If you read the synopsis it tells you right away it's about Charles Dickens and his writing of "A Christmas Carol". Did people walk into this thinking it was Star Wars or Avengers or something? hot babes what the hell? I think it goes without saying, but if you are not familiar with "A Christmas Carol", do so first before seeing or just skip it.

User review rating: 3 December 05, 2017

Wonderful sets, very unique movie; I enjoyed it, but unless you are a fan of A Christmas Carol and Charles Dickens you probably won’t see the point.

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2017

Worst movies this year

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2017

Best movie this year loved it will see again

User review rating: 3 November 30, 2017

The hardest movies to review are the ones that are okay, sorta good, but fail to blow your socks off. Christopher Plummer is brilliant in portraying a Scrooge who has all the nasty Scrooginess, but at the same time is charismatic. The rest is just okay. 71/100..guru bob

User review rating: 1 November 29, 2017

Jesus invented Xmas

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2017

Great Christmas movie an the meaning of giving reminds us what Christmas is truly to cherish.

User review rating: 1 November 27, 2017

Next

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2017

Amazing writing and cast.

User review rating: 2 November 27, 2017

I wanted to like it - I expected to like it - but I didn't like it. Sorry, I found it boring. I didn't think the story was overly interesting, the acting was ok.

User review rating: 1 November 26, 2017

Zzzzzzzzzz Zzzzzzzzzzz

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2017

Great movie! Well developed characters. Excellent script. Incredible acting by all but especially by Dan Stevens ( Charles Dickens ) and Christopher Plummer ( Scrooge ) . Well worth seeing this movie. However, it might be best if you have an idea of the story behind the story before watching The Man Who Invented Christmas. My suggestion is to either read the book or watch the movie " A Christmas Carol " first if you are not familiar with this story. Having a knowledge of " A Christmas Carol " will bring the current movie to life for you.

User review rating: 1 November 26, 2017

If I was 80 I'd love this movie

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2017

Please don’t let the trolls skew your view of this movie. My wife and I just watched it and found it to be very enjoyable. It was a very unique and enjoyable way to tell such a familiar story.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2017

Awesome movie. Sure to be a classic

User review rating: 1 November 25, 2017

So this was about Scrooge?

User review rating: 4 November 25, 2017

Wonderful movie. A little high brow for the super hero set. Variety is the spice of life mr 1 star. Did you actually go to see this movie expecting to see babes? Like I said too high brow for you. Christopher Plummer was awesome.

User review rating: 1 November 24, 2017

They should rename this the movie that ruined Xmas. Not hot babes like gal gadot

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2017

FANTASTIC MOVIE

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2017

If you loved "A Christmas Carol" as I did you will absolutely adore this movie. It gives us glimpses into Charles Dicken's life as well as shows us how the story was created and the genius behind it. We can all use the messages given to us for the season . A movie to treasure. And just in time for the holidays.

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2017

I had been looking forward to seeing this movie as I am a fan of Charles Dicken's novels. It did not fail to deliver. A superb gem of a movie wondrously blending a time-portrait of the author's life (including flashbacks to his childhood) all in tandem with the magical creation of "A Christmas Carol" before our very eyes. Dan Stevens (from Downton Abbey) does a remarkably superb job playing Dickens as does Christopher Plummer playing Scrooge. I absolutely loved all of it. And it came out just in time for Christmas, just like Dickens succeeded in accomplishing back in 1843. A must-see , a movie that can definitely be classified as a keeper.