The Post

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Post Movie Poster

2.87 / 5

User rating: 2.87

Based on 404 votes and 102 reviews


  • User rating: 2.87 38.46%
  • User rating: 2.87 6.59%
  • User rating: 2.87 4.40%
  • User rating: 2.87 4.95%
  • User rating: 2.87 45.60%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 41 to 80 of 102

User review rating: 3 February 03, 2018

Spotlight, the movie, was 5 stars

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

This movie was great! Despite the fact that I lived through it myself and knew how it ended, it still kept me riveted and on the edge of my seat. The cast was awesome and I especially loved the process of the paper going to press. It is obvious that the poor comments that have been written here are written by those that are quite young or do not know the history (and do not care) that is involved here. I learned a lot and have been educating myself, as well as learning more about this time period; being a teenager then, I tended to not pay a lot of attention to news worthy events. I do however, remember it to be a scary time for our country, and give kudos to the cast, directors, producers and anyone else involved in the making of this film. Five stars for sure!

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

Watergate was a great time to be alive.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2018

As someone who lived through the events depicted in the movie, and spent eleven years living in Washington and reading the Washington Post every single day, I absolutely LOVED this movie. The Post was a great newspaper and Ben Bradly a great editor. Streep's portrayal of Katherine Graham was spot on (read her life story and you will see why.) Kudos to Spielberg for making this movie at a time when America needs to hear the message about freedom of the press and how necessary it is in a democracy. Anyone without some knowledge of recent American history or expecting to simply be "entertained" won't get anything out of this film. Personally I found it well made and absolutely riveting even though I knew "the rest of the story"........

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2018

I thought the movie was just ok. I think Meryl Streeps role could have been played by anyone ... I'd say the same for Tom Hanks' role. At times it was boring. I can't see them winning an Oscar for their roles.

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2018

So boring!.. left half way through to go shopping!,, more entertaining!,,

User review rating: 2 January 30, 2018

Boring. Streep was boring. No development to help me dislike Nixon. Big disappointment.

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2018

If you want to see a snap shot into history of how reports and one lady that owned a newspaper went against the president of the US and won you will enjoy this movie but if you are going to be entertained this is a sleeper.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

Kudos to Mr. Spielberg, Mr. Hanks, Mrs. Streep, the screenwriters, and everyone else involved for bringing us this extremely well done movie at the right time, considering today's White House. I shall Post this movie among my number of personal favourites from Mr. Spielberg (one of my favourite directors of all time) and Mr. Hanks (one of my favourite actors of all time)!

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2018

Plot typical news media hype. Acting was dull most of the time. Not exciting and over dramatic. Waste of money. Don’t believe the media commercials.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2018

A Great Movie. Streep & Hanks Are Great. Exceptional Cast

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2018

So timely, fabulous acting!

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2018

Another homerun for Meryl Streep. Hard not to give her the Oscar every year - the lady is that good. And Tom Hanks is no slouch either. There is a reason that the two have double statues. And in today’s political climate, the message is as relevant today as it was then. Another Spielberg hit. A must to see!

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2018

The script, acting and diirection of "The Post" were excellent. Even though we know how Watergate ended, this suspensful film showed us how it really unravelled. I recommend the film. I do caution you not to read the negative reviews below which seem to be written by the same right wing person who repeatedly trashes Meryl Streep, the greatest living actress. Some people don't have enough to do in their spare time. Shameful and childish behavior.

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2018

Great movie...my husband and I really enjoyed it!

User review rating: 3 January 23, 2018

Great actors, great acting. But because historically I knew the ending I was bored to death... couldn’t wait for this movie to end.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2018

Horrible movie! I wonder how many young actresses Streep had to drag to the casting director's hotel to get the Weinstein treatment for the part. Hanks is about foaming at the mouth to get somebody relating the movie to Trump. Looks more like Hanks got into his kid's stash while he was away to re-hab again.

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2018

The Post is an excellent movie. It kept my boyfriend and me in suspense. I love the determination and investigation done to get were they wanted. I love how it specified the view on women in some point in history and how it is proven that women are as capable as men. I loved everything about the movie but I wished it spoke more about the governmental information that was disclosed. Great Movie...

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2018

Great movie, but can't forget 59,000 Americans and millions Indo-Chinese died because of arrogant stupid governments. What a waste ! I was in Laos and it changed my trust in my government.

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2018

TYPICAL LIBERAL HOLLYWOOD GARBAGE THAT WAS ORCHESTRATED TO GIVE THE TRUMP HATING, HILARY & OBAMA WORSHIPING LEFTIST MEDIA SOME FORM OF VALIDITY!!

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2018

As relevant today as in 1971...the importance of the press as a check on the power of government. Also of note was that the Supreme Court found that the press is meant to serve the governed and not the governing. Not surprisingly this Spielberg, Streep, Hanks collaboration makes for an excellent movie in many respects. I would recommend.

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2018

Usual Hollywood media spin!!! Terrible movie !!!

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

Excellent movie

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

One of the best movies of the year. There will be an Oscar for this movie

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

Excellent portrait of historical events. I lived through that time.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

So well done and very informative.

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2018

So relevant to 2018 that everyone should see it. Meryl Streep is moving and magnificent as Katherine Graham.

User review rating: 4 January 20, 2018

Best movie I have seen in a long time, especially in light of the parallels we see today. A great springboard for intelligent discussion about the freedom of the press, the dangers of executive powers unchecked, and the struggle women experienced as they moved into positions of power. Streep and Hanks were fantastic. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 4 January 19, 2018

Interesting, always knew the US should not have been in Viet Nam for years, heartbreaking for American families that lost loved ones in this war. Great acting.

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2018

Streep and Hanks are horrible people and no one should waste their hard earned money to see this movie! Loud mouthed Hollywood activists need to be put in their place now! They think they are important and special, and know everything, but all they ever do is memorize lines for a movie! That’s it!

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2018

Trash!!!!

User review rating: 3 January 18, 2018

An important movie like "All The Presidents Men" was back in the 1970's. The first hour is a bit boring. But later it gets rolling into the importance of the press in a free society and the drama builds. Will she publish or not ?! Best scenes are the restaurant meetings, editorial meetings and the press room when it finally gets rolling. Good stuff. You'll learn new info and have better insights into what happens when a government runs amuck . It applies to the present day.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2018

Entertaining and relevant.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Will not see the movie, but anything Meryl Streep is in would be a si-fi with no truth in it. Hope enough people quit going to her movies so she disappears. They have ruined all the awards shows with there agendas no longer will watch them which is a shame to the profession. How a few un-Americans can ruin it for others

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2018

Outstanding portrayal of a major historical event, and a vivid reminder of the patriarchy of a few decades ago . . . 92/100 . . . guru bob

User review rating: 3 January 16, 2018

Boring as heck until Meryl Streep's character finally grew a pair and made a brave decision, one that could have had dire consequences. It angered me that American governments are so frivolous with people's lives.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2018

Great telling of newspaper courage -- a companion-piece to "Spotlight". The audience applauded.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2018

If you like history watch this movie. This is not a story, it really happened. The freedom of the press is the base of the story. What made this movie interesting to me is that after WWII the Truman administration paid the French to fight the beginning of the Vietnam war. Every President afterward backed the war for 30 years. The New Times and Katherine Graham’s Washington Post put their news paper’s reputation on the chopping block. Graham and others faced prison if they lost the judgement. She banked her trust on the Supreme Court and the 4 amendment. The Post and NY Times won that battle of that day but powers that be today may win out this time. What was Spielberg message to viewers? Not sure only time will tell. He showed how women of that day were locked out of most business decisions. Get coffee, type a memo, stand behind closed doors that what women jobs are but certainly do not stand up to attorneys and board members or the President. Many news publishers along with their neighbors children were overseas fighting that war. I was up for the draft and my older brother and young men we knew were serving in the military at that time. Everyday I would read the news paper to see how many boys were killed and hoping for the safety of my brother. The only real issue to me at the time was the draft. Today I’m 65 and able to see that The Post brings forth many more issues. I say it’s a thinking mans/woman’s movie.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2018

I watched the movie Saturday the 13th. I was graduating from high school when the Washington Post and New York Times took on President Nixon. Afterwards the Post broke open the Water Gate break in story which ended Nixon’s Presidentcy. Similar events are taking place today. Only this country will never be the same whether Trump survives his term or gets impeached. I highly recommend younger people watch this movie. The roller coaster ride begins

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2018

I went to the first showing on Friday and was surprised to find the theater nearly sold out. Overall a great story well told. Until this I did not realize what courage it took for Ms. Graham to publish these papers. I doubt today's Supreme Court will role as they did then.