The Shape of Water

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Shape of Water Movie Poster

3.65 / 5

User rating: 3.65

Based on 1328 votes and 301 reviews


  • User rating: 3.65 60.47%
  • User rating: 3.65 6.13%
  • User rating: 3.65 0.85%
  • User rating: 3.65 2.96%
  • User rating: 3.65 29.60%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 201 to 240 of 301

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2018

Exactly what I thought going in, AWESOME!! Great and weird story, and the visuals are unbelievable. It's meant to be seen on a big screen for sure. Still thinking about it, lol!!

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

It's a work of art with a camera. The mood, the set, the actors. Probably as good as it gets... period

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2018

This water's got Montezuma's Revenge written all over it, 'cause it's pure cinematic diarrhea.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

Loved it! A beautiful movie...

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

Brilliant break from the predictable action/tear-jerker/holly-wood-formula. Del Toro is awesome. Saw it twice. I love movies, and have seen almost all of them. I get that it won't appeal to everyone. It's too original. It's a love story, a spy story, science fiction, monster movie, but not a horror movie. West Side Story meets The Creature From The Black Lagoon

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2018

A 'grown-ups' movie that is beautiful to watch, and to listen to. I saw this in the Cap 6 Big Chair theatre, and was very pleased with the movie. Definitely a couples date night movie. 90% of the audience were of this type. People who brought kids.... ??? Please do not bring children to this, it has sexual scenes and nudity, and it's a love story. The set design is amazing, if you are into "Fallout" style atom-punk. The performances are top notch by all. The creature from the Peruvian salt water marsh could have been better.... he is not quite threatening enough, and his lips are too big... Too close to 'Sapien' from Hellboy, not enough of the original Creature from The Black Lagoon in him... but otherwise fine. The secret government lab is done to perfection. The Cadillac showroom... is a joy to stare at...

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

It’s beautiful visually and stands alone for the quality of its story & character development. Best of 2017!

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2018

This water is stale.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

I loved this movie! People who give it a bad rating are obviously not remembering that is it a Fantasy film. There was one part I could have lived without but it does play into her world and it's okay. If you like Fantasy and SciFi movies that's what this is. I loved it!

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2018

How could anyone not like this movie? There will always be those who give bad ratings to great movies. Don't be fooled. There are moments I might have edited out. (You will know these spots when you see them!) But when all is said and done... Great work from the great Fantasy Writer/Director Guillermo Del Toro! See it on the Big Screen while you can.

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2018

Has Del Toro ever made a good movie? The man is twisted and it shows on the screen. Whatever happened to feelgood movies about normal people? Can't have that. It must include alien love, or a psychotic relationship, or some perversion of nature. I go to movies to enjoy an evening, not try and figure out what the point the director was trying to make.

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2018

WTF moments were many at this movie. Left after an hour. The stupid, it burns.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2018

This film is remarkable, complex and beautifully realized. Days later I'm still thinking about it. Shot in Toronto, thumbs up to the many Canadians who collaborated on this masterpiece.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2018

"It takes a lot of lying to have a good marriage" was the first true quote in this great movie. There's nudity, Russian infiltration, domestic violence, animal cruelty (if you count cat eating), gayness, handicaps, minorities, racism, workplace sexual harassment, not wanting to help someone alone and different, and leaving a child on a riverbank because she's not quite what you expected. Everything in everyday America and the world we live in. There's even a MAN who collects cats. Friendship and acceptance are the main themes. Great ending and actors.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2018

Great movie!

User review rating: 2 January 09, 2018

This is obviously a script that either appeals to a person, or it doesn't. I love the concept, but really didn't feel the development of characters and their relationships, was enough for me. I usually like quirky, off beat movies. I'm obviously in the minority, and respect other people's love of the movie - it just wasn't for me.

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2018

plain disgusting

User review rating: 1 January 08, 2018

trash....insults one's intelligence. I cannot believe it was nominated for anything, The sex scenes were insulting and not necessary. Is this ready entertainment? Have People fallen to this level that they think this movie is praiseworthy? absolutely terrible!!!! do not waste you time or money.

User review rating: 2 January 07, 2018

Just too bizarre and perverse

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2018

A diamond of a movie...

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2018

Totally original story, very unusual and delightful. All of the actors were really good.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2018

BEST MOVIE OF 2017 BY FAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 1 January 06, 2018

Another lousy parasitic rip-off movie from the wildly overpraised Del Toro. Polished trash.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2018

Beautiful love story superimposed on a fascistic political backdrop. Visionary...what great films should be. Don't miss seeing this film in a movie theater; it deserves a BIG SCREEN viewing.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2018

I could not figure out while watching this movie why it felt so familiar. I believe it was the feelings of wonder and anticipation, joy and fear, delight and premonition evoked throughout the movie. Stunning visuals, subtle humour, sympathetic main characters and properly sinister bad guys. Great movie!

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2018

The most welcome and notable thing about The Shape of Water is its generosity of spirit, which extends beyond the central couple. See it.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

A weird, strange, funny, beautiful, somewhat disturbing fairy tale that is pretty mesmerizing.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

I really enjoyed watching the shape of water. It's creature of the black lagoon meets beauty and the beast. Hawkins is amazing as the lead and Zelda had me laughing a few times.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

This was SUCH an interesting and delightfully odd film. If you love del Toro or quirky/unique movies then you must give The Shape of Water a chance. Sally Hawkins is downright incredible and deserves an Oscar nod for keeping the film together without uttering a single line of dialogue for nearly the entire run time. The makeup, cinematography, and score are all utterly mesmerizing and combine for a wonderful experience. Definitely watch it!

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

This film isn't for everyone. For those who say they didn't care about the main character and the creature, it's an allegory. You don't have to. Visually stunning and tight storytelling throughout the entire film. The ending gives the entire film its meaning and message. But again, if you take the film literally and conventionally, you will be disappointed. But if you see its poetry and intent, you will be deeply moved.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

Fantastic director Guillermo Del Toro clearly put everything he had into this wonderful monster movie/romance, from a beautiful, labyrinthian visual scheme to a powerful story of love and empathy. Very different from any other movie presently out, and very refreshing.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

It’s an utterly lovely, complacent movie. Dreamy.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

Devil's Backbone, Pan's Labyrinth and now this are his best. Nice throwback here. His exhibit at the AGO is also really good, especially the Rain Room.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

Loved it and will be seeing it again.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

There's no sense trying to analyze how he does it. Just dive into the experience. There's magic in it.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

“The Shape of Water” is partly a code-scrambled fairy tale, partly a genetically modified monster movie, and altogether wonderful. Guillermo del Toro, the writer and director, is a passionate genre geek. Sometimes his enthusiasm can get the better of his discipline, producing misshapen (but never completely uninteresting) movies like “Pacific Rim” and “Crimson Peak.” At his best, though — in “The Devil’s Backbone,” “Pan’s Labyrinth” and now, at last, again — he fuses a fan’s ardor with a romantic sensibility that is startling in its sincerity. He draws on old movies, comic books, mythic archetypes and his own restless visual imagination to create movies that seem less made than discovered, as if he had plucked them from the cultural ether and given them color, voice and form.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2018

5 NNNNN's in now, 4.5 in the Star, 7 GG noms, 2 Sag noms, 14 Critic's choice noms but some omelette here has nothing better to do than post 50 one star reviews - like anyone believes the movie is one star!!! Get a grip.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2018

Silly and predictable ..... really? You've seen anything like this before?!

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2018

"Trip to the bathroom" to change your diaper?

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2018

"Please waste your money" - loser reviewer/overposter. The movie is not one star, it's actually excellent.