The Zookeeper's Wife

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Zookeeper's Wife Movie Poster

4.35 / 5

User rating: 4.35

Based on 68 votes and 27 reviews


  • User rating: 4.35 67.74%
  • User rating: 4.35 19.35%
  • User rating: 4.35 3.23%
  • User rating: 4.35 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.35 9.68%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 27 of 27

User review rating: 5 July 09, 2017

Excellent

User review rating: 4 July 09, 2017

Excellent film. Okay first off there are a couple of reviews are here talking about the violence they must live in a glass bubble or something . First off there is some violence but nothing that graphic. The couple of people who are saying that obvious have not watched saving private ryan . Hacksaw ridge , or platoon . Those were graphic war movies this had some violence it the movie but nothing i repeat nothing that was disturbing . And the reviewer said not suitable for children well if you read the story line before you watched it you new it was not really about the zoo. It was about human zoo but not animals . I guess they need to stick to Disney movies . This movie was great well acted Jessica was amazing in it and can see a little oscar buzz here. The story was told well and it was interesting to see the danger they put them selves in do not listen to the negative reviews . this is a war film not a kids movie . Not sure why the reviewer thought this was going to be all nice nice. Again the violence was nothing that bad. the one person said they could not watch the movie for all the violence . Gee they must have got a different film . The film is good war film and done very well . My opinion worth the rent

User review rating: 4 July 02, 2017

I saw this yesterday as I kept missing it and wanted to see it. It was a story told with compassion and courage and the basic goodness of people like Anne Frank I do believe this.. I was surprised to see some of the reviews talk about the violence..It was the Holocaust I am not sure what was expected. It was a grim, horrifying and inhuman. Madness reigned..But with all this said this was a couple who I consider heroes to do what they did and the chances they took were the definition of brave.. Lets not forget the amazing performances as well from everyone..Well done imo...

User review rating: 1 May 24, 2017

Too much violence in the movie, This should not be watched by children. The violence is what is wrong with the world today. Not much about the animals more about the Nazi and the violence. It should be rated R.

User review rating: 1 May 24, 2017

Too much violence in it. I could not concentrate on the theme of the movie for all the violence. Not a movie for children to see even though it is rate PG

User review rating: 5 May 22, 2017

Brilliantly told. The story shows a glimpse of a stunning, ideal zoo filled with caretakers who genuinely appreciate the treasures in their zoo. Their is an air of freedom & protection for each creature as the story opens up yet inot enough to be sappy or baby animal cuties. Just as u grasp that these creatures are valued & loved suddenly they are annihilated without warning or cause. The director gives almost enough to make any animal lover clinch their fists & feel they just have to leave but it's quick & ur left thinking it's better they didn't suffer & you find yourself hoping for survivors & wanting to skin Hitler alive after he's been nailed to a post just above a trough of rats! There is hope. Good always prevails. We know this & because of this delicate balance you can sit & brace yourself to keep ur seat as the story unfolds. In the face of their own great loss they don't waste one second feeling sorry for themselves as most would Instead they courageously face the worst evil beings to exist. Day in & out they rescue thousands of Jews & a few Swiss & Polish sympathizers right under the noses of a barrage of German killers that surrounded them. Staying instead of fleeing as most would, actually forced them to have to witness countless murders at the whim of any given Nazi of innocent children & women. Yet not even at the horror & brutality of what would happen to then in a split second if caught did they waiver. No. The zoo keepers wife is the hero of all hero's. None braver. She had no gun & no Kevlar vest just courage & genuine love for all things great & small. As they witnessed the minute by minute killing right in front of them as they never gave in. This movie is a huge blessing. We get to watch humans braver than even a US navy seal. They weren't highly trained just selfless, remarkable people who defied countless enemies surrounding them.

User review rating: 5 April 30, 2017

A truly great story transpiring during an horrific time in history. Heroic! So glad to know of good people that stand against evil. Well done from beginning to end. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 4 April 21, 2017

Excellent and touching story, but the acting wasn't believable. Too bad.

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2017

Historically balanced...based on a true story...passion and tension blended through the entire movie!!! Well done!

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2017

I think I just saw an Oscar nominee for best movie and best actress.

User review rating: 5 April 09, 2017

Absolutely oscar worthy. Amazing actors ! Based on a true story.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2017

Amazing movie from start to finish. Certainly an Oscar winner. The actors are incredible.

User review rating: 4 April 09, 2017

Excellent movie. No graphic violence.

User review rating: 5 April 08, 2017

An Oscar worthy film. The acting was brilliant and I enjoyed it thoroughly from beginning to end.

User review rating: 5 April 07, 2017

Going to be one of the top movies for 2017 enjoyed every moment as the acting & filming was well done it maybe up for all sorts of awards!

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2017

Poland was the ONLY country where Germans during WW2 imposed death sentence upon those who were hiding our neighbors Jews. Many heroic Polish people were doing it and Jessica Chastain portraits one of very many brave Polish men and women who regardless of gravely risks devoted themselves to save as many Jews as possible. Great movie, true to facts, great acting! Highly recommended to anyone. Great cinematography too.

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2017

I have read the book and this movie closely Follows the true story of the heroic Warsaw zookeepers who risked everything to Save as many Jews as possible from Certain death in the Warsaw Ghetto. It is a beautiful testament to the goodness Of people during the evils of Nazi occupation. Jessica Chastain gives an Oscar winning performance.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2017

Another academy nomination in the works for Chastain.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2017

Highly recommend this movie to all ages and religions. Accurately portrays how anyone can show compassion, kindness,help even to total strangers. What makes me sad is that in our country the homeless are often treated with the same disregard...worse than animals. Jessica Chastain should be nominated for an Oscar. Don't miss this movie!

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2017

Enjoyed this very well acted portrayal of a Polish family who risked everything to save Jews during Nazi occupation. For a Holocaust movie, it wasnt severely violent and few atrocities shown.

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2017

truly amazing film from beginning to end specially the zoo so close to the Nazi country as it must to been hard to do anything under their nose, I was itching to see the film when I saw the trailer and it was worth the wait to watch it on the big screen and would see it again and it will be for sure on my top fifty favorite films of all time

User review rating: 3 April 01, 2017

It was OK. Didn't really hold me to the edge of my seat. Action didn't really happen till near the end. I was hoping for more. I do love these stories but I felt Schindler's List was a far better film.

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2017

Excellent telling of World War II and the horrors of Jewish people, Polish people, and innocent civilians all around caught in the horrors. Well acted, very touching, real story!

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2017

Beautifully moving movie based on a true story. Excellent acting, well worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2017

This movie is excellent!! Superb acting, keeps you on the edge of your seat!! Loved the ending !

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2017

A heartwarming true story about a wonderful couple who risked everything to save people during World war 2. Acting was terrific. Showed the compassion people have for their animals and vice versa.

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2017

Just saw this movie premiere . Fabulous! Acting was outstanding, keeping us breathless most of the time. True story of courage and love for others.