Widows

Thank you for rating this movie!

Widows Movie Poster

3.55 / 5

User rating: 3.55

Based on 70 votes and 27 reviews


  • User rating: 3.55 45.16%
  • User rating: 3.55 16.13%
  • User rating: 3.55 6.45%
  • User rating: 3.55 12.90%
  • User rating: 3.55 19.35%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 27 of 27

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2018

Original story with twists. Emotionally and visually arresting. Very under rated.

User review rating: 4 December 11, 2018

The time it takes to get to the point of the movie was a drag,but after that it was enjoyable. Viola is the greatest actor!!

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2018

Another women-go-Rambo production- but with a dark realism that lifts it above the rest. Viola Davis is incandescent again. Leem Neeson is perfectly cast against type. There plot twists and flashbacks that made me want to rewind see how they all fit together, but only when the credits are rolling. It also raises the question: What would you do if forced into their situation? Whatever the case, it's fun to watch them play it out.

User review rating: 3 December 07, 2018

another odd version of the ocean series similar to oceans 8

User review rating: 4 December 07, 2018

Great acting by entire cast all the way through. Just when i thought I've seen this storyline before there were some interesting turns that keep you in the movie until end. A little more violent than I like, and director introduction before movie, as well done as the movie is, seemed a bit of distraction and unnecessary.

User review rating: 1 December 07, 2018

Very slow. Violent. Not recommended for a younger audience.

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2018

Great acting but depicted white people as horrible - please stop!

User review rating: 4 December 05, 2018

I really enjoyed this movie! In my opinion, a movie doesn't have to be totally realistic to be enjoyable entertainment. One complaint - considering the strong women involved - I was disappointed there was an unnecessary female nude/sex scene. Not a lot...but I felt the scene could have been handled differently, without exploiting another young female.

User review rating: 1 December 05, 2018

Disjointed story that is both hard to follow and not believable

User review rating: 2 December 04, 2018

Very disappointing. The cast should have equaled a better movie, but the editing is unimpressive. The impact of editing is evident here in a narrative that feels disjointed and fails to stir up either a connection with the characters or any genuine suspense.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2018

Wonderful acting!! Viola and Liam were excellent. Worked well together. Desperate times bring desperate measures !!!

User review rating: 4 November 29, 2018

Really good movie - for ADULTS. Can’t believe someone brought their 14 year old - don’t do that. But a good thriller if you like that type of movie!

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2018

This was a really good thriller. Some interesting twists, good acting, good plot.

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2018

loved it

User review rating: 5 November 29, 2018

Great movie Viola and Liam are such great actors...Will see it again..

User review rating: 1 November 26, 2018

AWFUL!!! Huge disappointment. The directing was terrible. The movie was disjointed. It was as though there were numerous stories running at the same time but they did not connect. Also had bizarre scenes-like when the camera focused for about 1 minute on the hood of the car,while you listened to the occupants inside talking. There were several scenes where everything was extremely quite and then someone would scream or there would be a very loud noise. It was also quite draggy at parts. I almost walked out multiple times. I am glad the Director Steve McQueen introduced the movie....I will be sure to avoid his movies inn the future.

User review rating: 1 November 25, 2018

I read the book this movie was based on and loved every minute of it. It's a 5 star book. In the movie the political figures were totally made up with an uninteresting plot. The book is about the widows and the heist they were planning which was barely addressed in the first1 hour and a half of the movie, at which point we left. This is one of the worst movies I've ever had to suffer through. If I missed the best part, so be it. it wasn't worth sitting through any longer. Don't waste your money.

User review rating: 4 November 24, 2018

This movie was slow to start but finally picked up the pace. I enjoyed it although there were some explicit scenes that would not be appropo for the younger ones. Disappointed in Liam's role but enjoyed Viola's character.

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2018

Awesome and riveting performances.

User review rating: 4 November 21, 2018

Loved Viola, powerful portrayal.. Movie was a little disjointed and somewhat confusing

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2018

Great movie from beginning to end.Viola Davis was excellent and other cast did a good job too. As for me I could see it a second time.

User review rating: 1 November 20, 2018

should have been a tv movie at best. Viola Davis over rated actor.

User review rating: 2 November 20, 2018

I had hoped to enjoy this film but I must admit that I expected something more realistic. Instead, I saw a film about a implausable, if not improbable, vengeance mission by four women to seek vengeance for the deaths of their gangster husbands/partners who robbed a black crime orgnaization. It was quite silly and truly disappointing. I like Steve McQueen's directorial works such as "Hunger", "Shame" and "Twelve Years a Slave" but this film was poorly written, directed and cast. Mediocre acting, sloppy script and simply a bad movie!

User review rating: 2 November 20, 2018

Very dark violent, sexually explicit didn't expect this, too much so. It is not for everyone, very adult themes, and not in a good way. I was disappointed in Liam Neesom in this role too. I wouldn't recommend it. Shows the worst sides of humanity.

User review rating: 3 November 20, 2018

I liked the concept of this thriller, action movie, however, I did not like the repetetive foul language, explicitiness etc. The turns and twists were interesting and not expected, but this movie is not for everyone, and rating is certainly 14 if not 18!

User review rating: 5 November 19, 2018

Not a bad movie. You can argue it wasn't planned properly, wasn't set up easily enough or was too violent. I guess if a person doesn't like it, they can walk or not go. Personally I thought it was worth it, good acting especially by Viola. A "tour de force".

User review rating: 1 November 18, 2018

Not sure how this got 5 stars..was really looking forward to this but I caution anyone who thinks it might be along the vein of Oceans 8 - females running a heist. It's quite a dark movie, rated 14A, brought my 14 year old which was a huge mistake. Such grisly scenes of people getting murdered by the 'thug' of the movie that after 1 hour 30 minutes of it not getting better we actually walked out because it was too dark for my teen. Very slow moving, 1 1/2 hour in and it still hadn't gotten into the women planning the heist or anything of value. Could have been so much better.