Dunkirk

Thank you for rating this movie!

Dunkirk Movie Poster

3.83 / 5

User rating: 3.83

Based on 182 votes and 67 reviews


  • User rating: 3.83 55.56%
  • User rating: 3.83 9.88%
  • User rating: 3.83 11.11%
  • User rating: 3.83 8.64%
  • User rating: 3.83 14.81%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 67

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2017

Harry Styles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2017

The movie is well worth the admission. It show you how close things came to a real disaster.

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2017

I like fast paced war movies with lots of talking, said no one ever

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2017

Not hard to understand English if you put your selfie stick down for 3 mins. It's a war movie, not sisterhood of the travelling pants.

User review rating: 1 July 24, 2017

I do not know how any one can say this was a good movie it was nothing but killing no story line , when they did talk which was very limited, you could not understand what they were saying clearly , I feel My husband and I wasted 2 hours of our day ,

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2017

Visceral and riveting! The music, often staccato and pulsating in rhythm, but perfect for displaying the urgency and intensity of what was happening on the screen. Not your typical war movie and I suspect there will be some who will not appreciate this film. But to me, a masterpiece. RAN

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2017

This movie is magnificent , it is exactly the way it was , with no embellishment . It brought me to tears. My father was there.

User review rating: 1 July 24, 2017

Had high expectations of this movie ak: Saving Private Ryan. I felt this movie was poorly directed as the story was not told properly from the lack of dialogue. The background music was also very over powering. Lots of Spitfire dog fights in the air where you couldn't tell the British from the Germans. The movie was put together as if all of us should have known the history of Dunkirk which most of us did not. Maybe, save your money and watch Saving Private Ryan again!

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2017

People who don't like this movie are the same ones who like spider man

User review rating: 2 July 24, 2017

Very slow. Plot was confusing. Didn't explain about how British were trapped at Dunkirk and didn't focus on all the British that came to help in their small boats. The story of the Dunkirk evacuation was poorly told by this movie. Terrible screen play.

User review rating: 4 July 24, 2017

total action, important thing is hopefully Canadians will wake up and realize what our troops and allies went through past and present to save our FREEDOM so don't let anyone take it away,

User review rating: 3 July 23, 2017

good movie as Christopher Nolan films are but with this one u don't get the feel of the charters and who they are, so u don't get emotionally involved and that for me it miss the mark, but anything else was good but it not Nolan best film that for sure, but don't mine me go see it for yourself

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2017

Outstanding, certainly will get some Oscar nominations. The cinematography is probably the best I've ever seen in a war movie, the shots of spitfires and battleships are simply awesome. That being said, it's probably not for everyone. There are no female characters at all, there is no love story or sub plot, and not much in terms of character back story or development. There isn't much dialogue at all, in fact. The plot might be difficult for some to follow as its not linear, and things are happening during different days. But it will be a classic. As others pointed out, the feelings of hopelessness and impending doom reminded me a lot of a Kubrick film.

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2017

A Great War film! A movie you need to watch in theatres to experience the sound and action for the film

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2017

A dramatic portrayal of one of the most sobering yet inspirational moments in WW2. At what other time in history have civilians rescued the military in order to defend a nation?

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2017

Dunkirk was amazing. It was an immersive epic, It reminded me of a Stanley Kubrick film. It's definitely gonna get some oscar nominations. It's not your traditional war movie, it doesnt follow a bunch of soldiers fighting a winning battle, its a defeat, an evacuation. First off: there's not a lot of dialogue, and yet it's super effective, the amazing visuals tell the story. When there's shooting, it's really loud and menacing, which enhances the experience. The sound of the planes are awesome, gives your heart a jolt. When the german planes attack the troops on the beach, the sound of the approaching plane is just electrifying; It's like you're actually there. And when the bombs hit, plus the music really made you feel the despair. You could even hear the sand and water flying when a bomb went off. The music really made you feel hopeless when things were grim, but near the end, plus the music, it feels hopeful and even gives you goosebumps. The movie is told through 3 different perspectives: The land, which is in a week, the sea, which is in a day, and the air, which is in an hour. All 3 perspectives connect here and there, kinda reminded me of pulp fiction, reservoir dogs, or cloud atlas for the perspectives intertwining. The visuals are stunning, especially one scene involving one of the british pilots  landing his plane; the sunset makes it just beautiful. There was one scene on a sinking ship that had a really cool camera angle. To sum it all up, Dunkirk is an ambitious epic that puts you in the boots of the soldiers, sailors, and airmen in a dark but hopeful stage of WW2. If you're going to see this movie, I'd recommend watching it at a theatre, it only enhances the experience.

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2017

Excellent movie. Not an American spectacle with flags waving and cheering. Real people. Loved it.

User review rating: 2 July 23, 2017

Very disappointing could not connect with any of the characters. Story line bounced around all over the place. Epic failure.

User review rating: 2 July 23, 2017

Didn't affect me at all. Not sure what the big fuss is about. I think you'll either really love this movie or meh it.

User review rating: 3 July 23, 2017

Not sure I liked this film. Found it boring. Was waiting for the action that the soundtrack seemed to suggest was coming, but alas never came. It's visually stunning, Nolan packs it with detail, but it just didn't do it for me.

User review rating: 2 July 23, 2017

Missed opportunity. Such a great story very poorly told. The way they jump back and forth through 3 main perspectives makes it annoying to follow and hard to become attached or empathetic to any of the characters. Some great actor but nothing special in the acting. One of the worst attempts of giving one a sense of the magnitude of the material. And the director is usually so good. Missed opportunity.

User review rating: 0 July 23, 2017

While it was a beautifully shot movie, it felt like a war documentary with no narrative. You never got to know anyone, learn anyone's back story... nothing, I mean I don't think we really got any of the soldiers names.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2017

Seeing the same moments in time from different perspectives was a wonderful technique.The emotional impacts of these events varied with the people who were in them and where they were.Shifting the point of view was brilliant.It really shouldn't have come as a surprise since it was introduced at the beginning of the film.

User review rating: 1 July 22, 2017

Maybe a war buff would like the special effects. I personally thought it was boring. It was more for a history channel movie than the movie theatre.

User review rating: 1 July 22, 2017

I have no idea who would rate this 5 stars. Very boring. A real snoozer from beginning to end.

User review rating: 1 July 22, 2017

Disliked it very much. No plot. Very hard to understand and follow. Actually fell asleep.

User review rating: 1 July 22, 2017

Extremely boring. Could not tell what was going on and could not understand them. I dont like movies where you dont get to know the characters so its hard to care about them. Went with my husband and could not wait for it to be over.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2017

No fake actors. Stuck to history and most facts

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2017

Brilliant!!!! I 100000000% recommend seeing it!!!!!

User review rating: 2 July 22, 2017

most of the movie is waiting for something to happen.

User review rating: 1 July 22, 2017

Low budget groaner. I felt cheated of my money.

User review rating: 3 July 22, 2017

I would have to rate it just an OK war movie. It was hard to tell who the enemy was during the aerial fighting at times. Special effects were so so. None of the actors appealed to me at all. Sound effects were way too loud and lacking.

User review rating: 1 July 22, 2017

We ( husband and I) wanted to watch a good war movie. It was our 45th wedding anniversary. So we chose Dunkirk. It had no plot, the sound was so loud it rattled our seats and our teeth. When they talked you could not hear or understand what they were saying. You could not tell, why was the enemy and who was the good guys. Please play this in the class room and the kids will stay awake and maybe learn some history from it. As for the public, not so much!

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2017

Harry styles was a great actor

User review rating: 3 July 22, 2017

After seeing Private Ryan there is No way this movie deserve 5 stars. It was an ok movie

User review rating: 3 July 22, 2017

This movie has very good special effects. It is also quite soulless with no real characters. WW2 is a very long time ago now. The story of Dunkirk is fading away with the generations. As a baby boomer I grew up with the story of Dunkirk. I am familiar with its outlines. I wonder how people of more recent generations will perceive this portrayal of it.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2017

Superb storytelling that uses time as a way to see the story from perspectives. Cinematography is stunning. Acting is quietly effective and at times Oscar caliber. Even the telling eyes of Tom Hardy are worth the price of admission. Nolan's best screenplay by far.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2017

Christopher Nolan has done an impressive job with this succinct movie depiction of what happened at Dunkirk. Nolan waited 10 years to make this movie. It shows how humanity is what wins wars, how the good in us all is what grabs your heart strings even when stuck in an impossible predicament where only a miracle can get you out. The stellar cast are impressive- amongst them: James D'Arcy, Tom Hardy, Kenneth Brannagh, Cillian Murphy, et al. The young heroes played by Fionn Whitehead, Aneurin Barnard, Adan Long and Jack Lowden as a pilot , Harry Stiles in his acting debut, and Barry Keoghan and all cast members involved play their roles well. In this conflict where the British, Canadian and Belgium troops were trapped on the beaches by the German forces, Nolan says what needs to be said in 106 minutes. The music resonates very strongly and impacts the action , pulls your heart strings and drives the message of what Nolan is trying to state as well as the imagery. No gore is needed. Only a homage to those who were involved. In the air, in the water and on the land. They remind me of my grandfather who served in the Second World War. The bravery of those who enlisted as well as those citizens who risked their lives to save them is what is at the core. What war is, how it affects us, and the inextinguishable human Spirit. Bravo Christopher Nolan.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2017

Beat suspenseful WAR movie ever made. Director is definitely in (late great) KUBRICK'S league.

User review rating: 3 July 21, 2017

The reality of war was shown in this movie to a degree. The sound effects were intense at times which made it possible to feel & hear what the soldiers might have. The action scenes were good. However, it should have had an introduction in the beginning explaining the events that took place at Dunkirk - more than the 3 sentences they did show. Especially for those that were not familiar with its history. My opinion is that I wouldn't say it was a great movie, but it was ok.