Manchester by the Sea

Thank you for rating this movie!

Manchester by the Sea Movie Poster

3.49 / 5

User rating: 3.49

Based on 206 votes and 80 reviews


  • User rating: 3.49 51.52%
  • User rating: 3.49 8.08%
  • User rating: 3.49 4.04%
  • User rating: 3.49 11.11%
  • User rating: 3.49 25.25%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 80

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2017

Excellent movie. Stays with you after you see it. So sad. Well acted. Paced perfectly. One of the best movies I have seen in a while. Gut wrenching but well done.

User review rating: 1 February 18, 2017

A real loser, they must really love the F word. Big disappointment.

User review rating: 2 February 18, 2017

Very disappointed. ...Over rated....too long...best part was the background music.....

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2017

Long boring movie, a great disappointment. ...

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2017

raw emotion ..and true to life for many people.the acting was so good...If you want a feel good movie this one may not be for you ..I really really like it.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2017

Excellent movie and acting. It really brings you into the mind of a tortured soul and his fight to go on with his life. 5 stars

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2017

This Movie started off slow and got nothing but slower. I will never get the two hours of my life back. Save your money unless you enjoy depressing movies. Watch the news it is more up beat and it will save you the price of admission.

User review rating: 4 February 11, 2017

I thought the movie showed the raw feelings of tragedy and how people cope with something so cataclysmic... if you want fairy tales or action this may bore you , the acting was the emotional realism of events. I would have preferred a more progressive life changing ending, some happiness to show life does heal if you allow it but this actor certainly will take his sadness to the grave , I found that to be depressing and unsatisfying but that's is life for some people ... and it's a movie..was bit slow... not a sleeper for me.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2017

Love this movie! Excellent acting, a real-life feel, chilling story. One that you leave but keep in your head for days.

User review rating: 4 February 04, 2017

I like it a lot, chaacters were difficult but ultimately sympathetic, portray of fishing as a career, and of life in a coastal Massachusetts small town was pretty accurate. (Though that town is now becoming an upscale and expensive place to live!)

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2017

This movie is a big waste of time, money and brain cells. I wish I could ask for a refund

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2017

This was the worst movie I've seen since Pulp Fiction. All you had to do in this movie look sad and say the "F" word. I wish Hollywood would realize most families deal with disaster with OUT using the"F" word. We use humor, love and memories to deal with hurtful times. This was a trash movie. Terrible...Horrible....

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2017

Best movie of the year

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

Excellent... If you want to see a lot of action, this might not fit your needs. But if you want to see a movie that stirs a lot of feelings, this movie will fill the bill, and then some... I enjoyed it a lot.

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2017

Very poor movie, boring and dragged on and on to nowhere. Save your money and time.......stay home!!!!

User review rating: 2 January 29, 2017

So slowwwwwwww omg I streamed it and feels like I lost those 2+ hours forever for nothing

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2017

This one is a sleeper that begs to be seen again. Casey Affleck carries the show!

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2017

Could hVe been a pretty good movie, but......it dragged terribly, the background music was weird and annoying, there was too much swearing, and Casey Affleck maintained the same flat affect in all parts of the movie (even during flashbacks to happier times). Unfortunately his acting style is much like his brother's.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2017

This was my favorite 2016 movie (and I watched many). Casey Affleck did amazing job.

User review rating: 3 January 26, 2017

Maybe this film was awesome; I took a nap - but that's only because at some point it was a snoozefest. Affleck and Williams were intense performers. There are two tragedies going on - but the less serious one eclipses the more critical one. Ergo, 3 stars. You never get enough about the most critical tragedy. One might argue 'It's the New England, repressive culture' but I'm remembering (Mary Tyler Moore) "Ordinary People" attained all those dynamics. Maybe a 2nd time I'd love it. Not my favorite script. Great actors.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2017

If you like long relationship movies and a realistic view of stark, cold New England culture this movie is for you. Personally it didn't interest me. I dozed off several times. I look for a movie to transport me somewhere else. Not remind me of how dull and painful real life can be. Casey Afflect's wincing style is ok for short periods but not 2hrs. Nevertheless well written and produced. Just not my taste in movies.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2017

It's rare to come across a film where the dialogue is so true to life that you forget you're watching a movie. This is exactly what happens in Manchester by the Sea. The dialogue mimics the rhythms of normal every day conversation - people don't always finish their sentences or complete their thoughts, people talk over one another and people are rarely as eloquent as popular cinema would have you believe. All of this is perfectly captured in Kenneth Lonergan's masterful screenplay. The astounding realism of the script would be enough of a reason to go out and see this movie, but it is really the phenomenal performances that push this one over the edge. Casey Affleck is at his best playing a reclusive, emotionally-void shell of a man. When the film reveals the reason for his numbness and pain in a beautiful sequence it is absolutely astonishing and heartbreaking. Lucas Hedges is the perfect foil to Affleck's somber lead, as a relentlessly youthful and energetic and, refreshingly normal, teenager. Michelle Williams isn't on screen for very long but when she is she is as magnetic and powerful as usual in a few key scenes. Kenneth Lonergan has managed to craft an emotional powerhouse of a film that mirrors the ebbs and flows of life - from the mundane, to the tragic to the laugh out loud funny. This one will stay with you for a long time after leaving the theater.

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2017

Too slow and boring, couldn't wait for it to end. Totally disappointed, not what I expected! This movie was too depressing.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2017

The success in conveying honest, powerful emotions. A very powerful film.

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2017

dud.....and I mean a dudddd

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2017

Not often that Hollywood serves up an impression of male parenting/friendship that rings true. This one does.

User review rating: 1 January 17, 2017

It's great if you want to be depressed.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

It was a true movie with nothing sugarcoated. Some didn't care for it because the characters didn't do just what they wanted rather the characters were true to the way they really were.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

Tragically beautiful; stunning acting, deep and moving plot. Not for short of attention span viewers.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2017

Absolutely worth every minute spent watching it.

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2017

long and boring

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2017

Tragic and depressing, well acted but certain to tigger your PTSD!

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2017

Not much to dislike. Great movie.

User review rating: 2 January 09, 2017

Too long, very boring, tedious to watch. Michelle Williams was good for the two or three scenes she was in.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2017

Such a tragedy. So sad. Casey Affleck plays a man so stuck in his pain and sorrow. He doesn't say much but a great actor that shows his pain in silence and body language. Makes me sound so artsy but you could read on his posture and n the quiet. Amazing

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

Loved this movie. Even twenty four hours later, still thinking about it. My husband who is very hard to please is raving about it as well. GO SEE IT.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

acting, storyline scenery. It has everything

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2017

I saw this movie three times already--the characters (including the Sea and the boat!) are mesmerizing. I left feeling more compassion then I've ever felt from any other movie. The acting is demanding, but superb. Naturally the setting/scenery is beautiful. There's not too much nor too little dialogue to move you right along through the complex lives of the characters.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2017

An incredible film. Moving, deep, and real. The characters were well developed and despite the pain and sorrow there is ample life and humour. I strongly recommend watching this movie, I know I'll be seeing it again.

User review rating: 2 January 05, 2017

All the hype about this film is simply that - hype. A boring, dragging plot that never takes off is told using the poor technique of flashbacks. Michelle Williams gave a good performance, but even then, it was hard to care about these characters after spending over two hours being bored numb by them.