Maudie

Thank you for rating this movie!

Maudie Movie Poster

4.72 / 5

User rating: 4.72

Based on 146 votes and 51 reviews


  • User rating: 4.72 85.94%
  • User rating: 4.72 7.81%
  • User rating: 4.72 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.72 4.69%
  • User rating: 4.72 1.56%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 40 of 51

User review rating: 5 June 18, 2017

Muy muy buena!!

User review rating: 5 June 14, 2017

So incredibly moving.. there are times the movie seems to be moving too slow.. it was then I realized that that's exactly how it was supposed to be. I highly recommend seeing Maudie.

User review rating: 2 June 12, 2017

Her acting was brilliant. The movie seemed to drag on forever.

User review rating: 2 June 06, 2017

Boring and pretentious a dull and trivializing look at an abusive relationship ...nice scenery

User review rating: 0 June 05, 2017

Truly compelling story. Best movie I have seen in years. A must see.

User review rating: 0 June 04, 2017

Very touching. Sally Hawkins is phenomenal and Ethan Hawke gives a good solid performance.

User review rating: 5 June 01, 2017

Excellent movie!!

User review rating: 5 June 01, 2017

Amazing beautiful film. Simple, wonderful acting and shots, and so touching and delicate

User review rating: 5 June 01, 2017

This movie is Oscar worthy. As is Sally's and Ethan's performances.

User review rating: 5 May 27, 2017

I was completely engrossed in this wonderful movie of hardship, love and devotion, where the brightly coloured artwork lightened the soul and spirit amid such desperate times. I loved this movie and both actors deserve Oscars for their outstanding performance. I felt I was living in their tiny house with this remarkable couple. Outstanding....I will definitely watch it again.

User review rating: 5 May 26, 2017

Excellent movie, excellent acting. A must see, 5 stars!

User review rating: 0 May 24, 2017

went to see this movie. I laughed and cried. loved it.

User review rating: 5 May 24, 2017

This isn't a Hollywood blockbuster. It won't entertain you with flash and dazzling special effects. It will however tell a love story that is at times very sad, but very real. This movie will make you feel and hopefully make you appreciate life as much as Maud Lewis did.

User review rating: 5 May 23, 2017

Loved every minute of it. We were at the museum in Nova Scotia and saw the real home on display - you would wonder how anyone could haved lived in such small quarters. They should both win an academy award for their performances.

User review rating: 5 May 22, 2017

Awesome, wonderful, overwhelming ! Very touching and evoking reality of those times. These 2 actors deserve awards.

User review rating: 5 May 22, 2017

Wonderful movie! I will definitely go to see it again. The acting was superb, the absolute best from Sally and Ethan, who invited you into the world of Maude and Everett so flawlessly. Oscar winning movie for sure!

User review rating: 0 May 17, 2017

up there with the best. Great movie and acting

User review rating: 5 May 17, 2017

Wow! Brilliant! Oscar worthy on so many levels! Sally and Ethan held me in their 'relationship' dialogue from the very beginning when their first words were exchanged. A movie to see again and again simply for the experience :)

User review rating: 5 May 16, 2017

Loved it! Awesome movie and should not be missed!

User review rating: 5 May 13, 2017

Evokes all emotions. Incredible academy award style acting!! Three of us just saw this wonderful movie and recommend as a must see!!??

User review rating: 5 May 12, 2017

Excellent. Just a real gem of a movie. Never thought Ethan could pull off an acting role such as this one, but he did, and in glorious fashion. Don't miss seeing this movie.

User review rating: 5 May 10, 2017

Great!

User review rating: 5 May 10, 2017

What a truly heartwarming love story. Sally and Ethan were dynamite in their respective roles - definitely Oscar worthy all around!! The cinematography is spectacular and you will leave the theatre wanting to travel the east coast!

User review rating: 4 May 08, 2017

Best movie I have seen in years! Riveting performances by Hawkins and Hawke.. a well told yarn of two simple people turned into a masterpiece of entertainment!

User review rating: 5 May 08, 2017

Fantastic!

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2017

It's up there with the best. Fantastic movie

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2017

MY WIFE AND I LOVED THE MOVIE. DON'T MISS THIS ONE, IT IS A TRUE TREASURE. GREAT ROLES BY BOTH. FUNNY IN PARTS, SAD IN OTHERS AND UPLIFTING AT THE RIGHT MOMENT. ONE GUY IN THE AUDIENCE SAID HE HAD SEEN IT SIX TIMES !!! ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW.

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2017

Best Canadian movie I've seen. If we could make more Canadian movies like this one I would go to the movies more often. Sally and Ethan were fantastic. Both should get an academy award.

User review rating: 5 May 06, 2017

Outstanding! This film has left us so moved that we have now spent hours further investigating the real-life people. Amazing acting by Hawkins and Hawke...they had us truly believing they were Maud & Everette!

User review rating: 5 May 06, 2017

Simply the best Canadian true story made for big screen in a long, long time!!!

User review rating: 0 May 06, 2017

Touched my inner core. The silence in the theatre at times was a strong display at how drawn in we were. Not so Hollywood but rather a taste of how realistic a big screen "mainstream" movie can get. Love, art, simple life, humanity, based on a true story, loved this movie- did more for me than Lala Land, Lion ... this should truly be nominated for Oscar material!

User review rating: 5 May 04, 2017

Deeply moving meditation on art and love on the fringes. Slow going for a while, but stick with it. All pays off in the second act. Brilliant. Don't miss it.

User review rating: 5 May 03, 2017

Loved it, hard to imagine someone going through everything she did and still had a sweet sense of humor. The best movie I have seen in a very long time.

User review rating: 5 May 01, 2017

One of the best movies I've seen in years; wonderful actors

User review rating: 5 April 30, 2017

This is a beautifully crafted and intelligent movie. Sally Hawkins enthralls us with her portrayal of Maud Lewis. Ethan Hawke is outstanding in his portrayal of the awkward and reticent Everett. This is a not to be missed movie.

User review rating: 5 April 30, 2017

fabulous movie. best movie I have seen in years. very few movies have "touched" me the way this one has. Masterful!

User review rating: 5 April 30, 2017

Excellent movie! Moving and inspiring.

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2017

A beautiful film that celebrates Maud Lewis' creative spirit. She found joy in her painting, despite the harsh conditions she endured. 'Maudie' captures the essence of rural Nova Scotia in that era. I highly recommend it to anyone who admires her paintings or who likes a good Canadian film.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

Incredible performance by Sally Hawkins! Creatively filmed with an intriguing soundtrack. I had to go back a second time, and perhaps a third.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

Beautiful movie - very well acted by the two leads, beautiful/stark Newfoundland landscape (standing in for Nova Scotia), and a well done screenplay about an amazing artist. Highly recommended!