ALL THEATRES ARE CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE, DUE TO COVID-19

Midway

Thank you for rating this movie!

Midway Movie Poster

4.23 / 5

User rating: 4.23

Based on 272 votes and 90 reviews


  • User rating: 4.23 65.91%
  • User rating: 4.23 12.88%
  • User rating: 4.23 6.06%
  • User rating: 4.23 8.33%
  • User rating: 4.23 6.82%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 81 to 90 of 90

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

As a former navy man , it was an accurate Presentation of life on an aircraft carrier, and touched on submarines, .. and the importance of code/cryto breakers ... it was suspenseful, from a pilot and naval strategic planners view points ... should be a great father/single mom/son movie

User review rating: 2 November 08, 2019

From director Roland Emmerich the celebrated director of small-budget science fiction films and action films like Universal Soldier in 1992. Stargate,Independence Day (1996) and The Patriot (2000) we get a new take of the decisive turning point battle of the Pacific war. True to his past form, Roland Emmerich has given us another Roland Emmerich type film.

User review rating: 2 November 08, 2019

This film at 2 hours and 18 minutes is only about a third of it about Midway. Instead of a film about Midway we go through the attack on Pear Harbor, follow the Doolittle raid and a romance story all before we get into the Midway story. This leaves almost no room for the Japanese perspective or clear narration before it turns into a cgi fest of explosions and planes all over the screen. This film will be enjoyable to people who like action films but for the history buffs one will not so much be disappointed in the film but wonder why the director decided to spread his energy all over the place before telling the Midway story just to end up in a rush.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Terrific special effects and love the history of it.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Lots of action & great acting. Special effects were awesome. Being based on true events made it even better. Go see it... you will enjoy!!!

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Awesome movie!! Great acting!

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

Liked: Action and adventure and realism. Historical facts. Dislikes: None. Excellent movie!

User review rating: 2 November 08, 2019

I'm a serious student of Midway for over 45 years. Growing up, I was able to spend time with a man who was a veteran of Midway. We saw the film in the 1970's that came out and I recall many of him comments about the feel of the time and the attitude of the pilots. Being thus so very deep in the subject the actual feel of the battle and the true size and scope of the Pacific hide and seek game was the main narrative I was looking for and even more so, was the more interesting story of how truly desperate Japan was looking for that fatal blow to deliver her from being crushed by a super power that would have her on her knees in two years if she couldn't win a decisive battle. Though the story line is not lacking it is almost hard to believe that the film makers managed to ruin the feel by an attempt to provide an over the top cgi experience that ends up becoming comical. Worse, the cgi looks like cgi - like the cgi of the late 90's to the degree it becomes a distraction and makes suspension of disbelieve possible. I think on the positive side that the bombing of this film will make possible a future film in a decade or so done right without the poor fake looking cgi.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2019

A big, brassy Hollywood history lesson of the sort we so rarely see these days. Incredible action but it's the performances that really separate this one from the pack; Joe Jonas is a revelation.

User review rating: 2 November 07, 2019

Cgi looked like something out of a computer game. After waiting 42 years for a remake you think the time would have been put into a better remake but but what one gets is a rather silly flourish of explosions and clusters of planes that looks more like star wars with tie fighters and rebels flying around the death star. Maybe they will get down to basics and make a real film using real planes and spend more time on the truly interesting point of Midway which would be the Japanese operational plan and their perspective. Instead what one gets is a love story, cgi phantasmagoria and what appears to be a spin off from Pearl Harbor. Next time, next time, if there is one, do it right and don't disappoint the fans and the history buffs and those who wish to see something more than a computer game.