The Shape of Water

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Shape of Water Movie Poster

3.65 / 5

User rating: 3.65

Based on 1330 votes and 302 reviews


  • User rating: 3.65 60.55%
  • User rating: 3.65 6.12%
  • User rating: 3.65 0.84%
  • User rating: 3.65 2.95%
  • User rating: 3.65 29.54%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 81 to 120 of 302

User review rating: 1 February 17, 2018

Poor contrived mess of a movie.

User review rating: 1 February 17, 2018

One of the worst movies I have ever seen. A mute lonely woman having sex with a alien lizard man. I don't see anything beautiful or fantastic about this movie. People were getting up and leaving. I stuck it out thinking it would get better. It did not. If I could rate it zero stars I would.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2018

A totally different movie than what is playing right now. I totally enjoyed it and I've seen it two times.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2018

This movie is pure magic!

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2018

This is a fabulous, humanistic movie! Great cinematography, great sound track, incredible special effects, and deeply moving and emotional story-line!

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2018

Stunningly beautiful film. Guillermo del Toro found the same muse that inspired Pan's Labyrinth. Michael Shannon is on point. His character was as grotesque and evil as Sally Hawkins' was pure and loving.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2018

GDT at his best! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! His best film thus far!!

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2018

Now that is a movie. I always liked Del Toro, but he moved to a new height here...

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2018

The Shape Of Water is an emotional tale of lonely people and outsiders meeting each other, disguised as an exquisite romance between two people incapable of speech. The fact that this was made for $20 million is a testament to the producers as this looks like it would rather have cost $100 million. Sally Hawkins gives a fantastic performance, as does Octavia Spencer, and the two make a perfect mash. Richard Jenkins also served as a subtle comedic relief, that actually worked, and stayed integral to the plot. For me, personally, Michael Stuhlbarg was the stand out character. The fact that del Toro can handle a Soviet spy in such a respectful, and understanding way, without having him fall into any kind of clichés that a less skilful director would resort to. The creature effects, as is in character for del Toro, were excellent. The use of colour throughout was fairy-tale lack, giving the story a certain enchantment. While no elements of the score particularly stood out to me, I still remember in particular silent scenes, that it carried the entire emotional drive. The cinematography gave such a wide breadth of 1962 America and completely sucked one into the environment. The only error that I could point out throughout was Michael Shannon's character, who was an incredible missed opportunity, for yet another lonely person seeking real love in this world. I have never been more convinced of two character's love for each other in my life. A fantastic film by a fantastic visionary.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2018

A modern fairytale set in a classic time with superb special effects and nostalgic setting. Great acting and story which, although plays out pretty much as expected, was still a treat to watch. Emotional and heartwarming with a sprinkle of dark, funny and "magic" moments, the film is entertaining and good throughout.

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2018

I give this one 0 - that's ZERO. Yuck. I am surprised that Octavia Spencer would stoop to this.

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2018

Sick movie and sick people who rave about it. Should be rated R for the nudity. Sex with an amphibian? Give me a break.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

Guillermo del Toro's crowning achievement. A lush, thoughtful tribute to the films of yesterday.

User review rating: 4 February 15, 2018

While a love story between a sea creature and a woman may be a little far fetched, ultimately this is a story about loneliness, our need for human connection, and the lengths we will go to find it.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

I love how this movie just goes all in, no half-measures.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

I would call it an impeccable reconstruction of The Beauty and the Beast, perfect soundtrack, I loved the photography, excellent performance by Sally Hawkins and Michael Shannon.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

Best film I've seen for ages, interesting, silly and just fun to watch, some critics are so full of their own importance they seem to forget about entertainment!

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2018

I loved it, I simply did. Guillermo del Toro's latest feature has so much soul and heart that elevate this story to other levels. "The Shape Of Water" is an otherwordly experience and the movie that made me finally fall for del Toro's style. A very unique story,a very poetic story, a beautiul fairytale. So many themes hidden in this movie,so many subtle points were made. Sally Hawkins dazzled me with her performance, she was magnificent! All performances were exceptional but hers and Jenkins' brought so much soul to their characters. A really great movie!

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2018

So when Troy McClure does it, it's sick; but when Sally Hawkins does it, it's beautiful and romantic?!? WTF?!!?

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2018

The most romantic film of the year.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2018

Del Toro bounces back after what others would call a weak film, Crimson Peak, I enjoyed that film. This film plays out like The Creature from the Black Lagoon but is much more beautiful and a labour of love by the director. The film balances a horror film but also a mystery and love that is not commonly shared in this day and age. I'm shocked Del Toro has never made a film at Universal as he has the scope and ambition to remake the Wolfman or Frankenstein something unique. I hope this wins big as it deserves all the focus it is receiving by audiences and critics.

User review rating: 5 February 14, 2018

This is a gorgeous movie. A luscious cinematic confection, with a thoroughly engaging and original story made even better by the beautiful performances it hosts. Richard Jenkins was a standout for me, giving a deep humanity and humor to what could have been a mere supporting role. The actors all gave tremendous credibility to this fantastic story, and worked so very well together as an ensemble. Beautifully directed and shot, it has to be seen to be believed. So glad I saw it on the big screen.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2018

Sally Hawkins shines beginning to end. If you require characters to care about, you will find them in this film including the water bound male lead. Despite its watery environment, SofW sizzles hotter than some of its dryer counterparts. Yes, it is primarily a watery romance but friendship takes a strong second seat. This film gives you people to love as it portrays villians to hate, I will watch this again on DVD.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2018

My favorite movie of 2017 and maybe the only I've seen multiple times in the theatre. Del Toro's visuals, the fantastic score and a fantastic performance delivered from Sally Hawkins without having her even utter a word all tie together into the strangest and most delightful cold war love story to ever exist.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2018

Awesome film!! Love everything about it, and more!!

User review rating: 1 February 13, 2018

Bizarro film takes HUMANOIDS FROM THE DEEP and turns it into a romance. Much too tasteful to succeed.

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2018

Beautiful transforming love story Justice and love triumph!

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

Excellent human-humanoid love story with extra credit to Sally Hawkins and Octavia Spencer.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

Gorgeous to look at. Amazing storyline. Great film about a girl who falls in love with a fish and you actually believe it! Guillermo is breaking barriers for all the horror and monster genres!

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

Phenomenal movie-wasn't even interested in seeing it. So glad I did!

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

A beautiful movie.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

I went to this movie expecting to really dislike it. The story just seemed too bizarre. So glad I went. Yes...the plot is bizarre, there are so many things that I thought were great. I've now seen all but one of the best picture nominees for this year....and without a doubt, this would be the one I would vote for.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

Wonderful. Engrossing. Clever and Satisfying.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

Guillermo will win the oscar this year! And he deserves it. About time monsters got a little respect out there.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

A tremendous, beautifully well-acted drama, with magic and mystery. Sally Hawkins is stunning, in particular, but the entire cast is awe-inspiring. The story has some challenges, and could have been stronger, but this is still one of Guillermo del Toro's best works to date.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

In an age of Marvel and Fast and the Furious it's just oh so refreshing to come across a piece of film that is actually art as well. The Shape of Water is by no means a perfect film, regardless of it's Oscar nominations. In fact, at it's core it's a very excellent retelling of Beauty & The Beast. In film, and life, it's never about the destination. The journey is the story. This story has a journey. One that will keep you interested and wondering and maybe even spark some inspiration deep inside you that you never knew you had. This is a story of humanity and love and maybe moreover, who exactly gets to define what either of those things are. I haven't seen all of the Best Picture noms, but I have changed my mind from Three Billboards to Shape. Three is more than deserving. The story and performances are stellar and deserved of recognition. Sally Hawkins however, steals the show. He performance as a meek, caring, loving mute is simply masterful. The emotion expressed in her face and through every sign (sign language) can be felt by the audience. She seems to transcend what it means to connect with a character when all you can do is feel what they feel instead of simply agreeing or disagreeing. If Shape ends up taking Best Picture, I will not be disappointed. If any of you out there are on the fence about seeing this film, remember that it is a beautiful love story and not an action movie about a fishman. Don't watch trailers and immerse yourself in the world Del Toro creates. You will not be disappointed.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

Loved it although it was slow to start.

User review rating: 1 February 11, 2018

Weird fetish movie.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

One word: beautiful.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2018

The Shape Of Water is truly what it means to create a perfect film. It's a story that would work in no other medium. No other director could make this material seem plausible, let alone phenomenal. Every actor could not have been better cast, there isn't a frame of the film that could be removed or added that would make it better. This is what it means to be a great film, this is the kind of art we so rarely get to see but when we do it's truly magical and will never be forgotten.