The Shape of Water

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Shape of Water Movie Poster

3.67 / 5

User rating: 3.67

Based on 1310 votes and 293 reviews

  • User rating: 3.67 61.21%
  • User rating: 3.67 5.82%
  • User rating: 3.67 0.86%
  • User rating: 3.67 2.80%
  • User rating: 3.67 29.31%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 121 to 160 of 293

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2018

Brilliant, smart, visually impeccable, touching, sensible, emotional and amazing. The Shape of Water deserves all the praises and more, once again Guillermo Del Toro create a marvelous narrative so sensible, dark and fantastic that make the audiences feel everything in it, the cast also delivers a impeccable work (Sally Hawkins deliver one of the best performances of the decade). A masterpiece. (5/5)

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2018

An absolutely brilliant take on the 'what makes a monster, what makes a man' narrative.

User review rating: 4 February 09, 2018

Beautifully done. Artistic with lots of symbolism. Bring your imagination.

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2018

Yes is a fiction movie. Lol.

User review rating: 1 February 08, 2018


User review rating: 4 February 08, 2018

It had the perfect ending.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2018

Absolutely loved every aspect about this movie. Magical ...

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2018

We loved the movie.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2018

BIZARRE!!! Was it artistic or is that what some want you to believe? Violence, bestiality, you get it all here folks. Do not waste your time - SERIOUSLY! Academy award nominations - what a joke and insult to good movies. Can't rate with a number as choice doesn't go sub-zero.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

Movie was very artistic. Weird but interesting.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2018

This movie is completely ridiculous from start to finish. I think the people who rated it favorably were either movie critics or on something. Do not waste your time or your money.

User review rating: 4 February 04, 2018

A strange and offbeat fantasy tale with a nice European flavour. It's Amelie meets E.T. - definitely worth a watch, but conservative viewers are advised to be broad-minded. :)

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

I liked it all. sensitive, beautiful, and love overcomes hate.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

Beautifully crafted, acted and narrated movie. It depicts all the worst and best of human soul in a very well told cinematographic tale.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

I thought I wasn't really going to like this film, but because it got 13 Oscar nominations how could I skip it? (Even if I was worried about a sex scene with the amphibian.) Well, I am so GLAD I went. This was a multi-layered story with excellent performances . Michael Shannon was amazing as the bad guy, as he usually is; Richard Jenkins as the gay friend (an unexpected treat--earning him an oscar nom!); Octavia Spencer playing a character you've seen her play a few times, but she won the Oscar for it so you know she nails it this time too (and got an another oscar nom). And then, Sally Hawkins, as a mute, who carries the film without saying a word, deserving of her oscar nom. The cast is brilliant. Naturally, you have to suspend your disbelief from beginning to end for a movie like this, although they try to make it as true to life as possible. Some scenes really test your ability though. That's OK---this was a great film---it checks all the boxes why we go to the movies (which is what I also said about Slumdog Millionaire.)

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

Great movie if a little vulgar and risque at times. Great work in the costume and props department, makes me want to make my own amphibious man costume. Most of the vulgarity helps drive the story, but some is just completely unnecessary. The story manages to go into some details, without overly dragging the movie along.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

After being released in December 2017, this film FINALLY made it around to the desolate corner of the world I inhabit, and I couldn't be more thrilled! While the trailers do glimpse the premise of the film, they also fall far short of revealing the true humanity (both heartfelt and horrifying) on display by the time the credits roll. Sally Hawkins and Richard Jenkins embody the fragility and insecurity and aloneness we all feel (or have at times felt), and their redemption in the arms of an unlikely (soul) remind us that life is about our relationships with (and treatment of) each other.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

Storytelling at it's very best. Simply magical, dazzling with wonderful characters, acting, story and a super fantastic soundtrack. Doesn't fail on any level.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2018

The most worst and ugly movie I have ever watched!

User review rating: 1 February 03, 2018

This movie is crap

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2018

Beautiful, poetic, and romantic. Plus a fantastic and scary monster! The set design, lighting and colors are beautiful as well. Great acting all around. If you are a fan of sci-fi and fantasy, even suspense you get this here. A movie well worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2018

It was interesting and kept my attention. Loved the creature and the feelings with the lady. WAs also had funny parts. Great ending !

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2018

"The Creature from the Black Lagoon" as only Del Toro could imagine it, where the real monster is man. Sally Hawkins and Michael Shannon are fantastic, as always. A modern fairy tale that is just the right degree of darkness. Not a boring moment. Fabulous!

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2018

Imaginative, extremely well acted, excellent dialog and great on the eyes.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2018

Excellent human-humanoid love story with extra credit to Sally Hawkins and Octavia Spencer.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

A great fantasy. Sally Hawkins kept drawing us in. Her boyfriend, well... A god from the Amazon, Aquaman. Breathe.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

Imaginative, absorbing, visual and oddly romantic, this film was a surprise and a good surprise at that. Who would have thought you could feel for two mute main characters, one a cleaner, the other a fish? Hats off to the film makers for pulling this off with humour and excitement thrown in for good measure

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

Darkest Hour and TSOW - my favourite 2 films of 2017.

User review rating: 4 February 02, 2018

This movie may be better on second viewing, but as it played out exactly as I expected, an underwhelming feeling lingers. On too many accounts del Toro restrains himself which leaves the film feeling restless as it falls short in succeeding the same emotional hits that his previous films have. But even a weaker del Toro film is still a thousand times better than most blockbusters.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

Amazing movie! The normals are dysfunctional and the outcasts are pure love. Like no movie Ive ever seen.Must see!

User review rating: 4 February 02, 2018

Gorgeous filmmaking. Loved the originality in all. Imperfections are subtle. Too on the nose with thematic threads in B and C stories. Might have done better to explore fewer subplots and backstories. Overall impressive and I would watch again because it's just glorious visually. Cannot conceive of anyone else but Sally Hawkins in that role!

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

It's the best auteur driven "mainstream" film out there, that may not outlive Del Toro's previous masterpiece Pan's Labyrinth but may actually be a better film, having been sculpted from pure soul and an outsize imagination.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

Wave after wave of brilliant film making encompassing every area of manufacturing such a work was brilliant. This movie deserves every accolade it receives.

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2018

This movie has a little bit of everything in it i.e. romance; friendship; crushes; secrets; family dynamics; emotional darkness; white lies; mild thriller bits thrown in for good measure and humour. Will it win Best Picture of 2017?.... it might due to its absolute uniqueness! I would give it a 3.75% rating.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

The story was sweet. I can see the same person who bashed SW because they have women is posting in here. No again please. Weird story but sweet.

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2018

TSOW is a beautifully told story of a woman having feelings and an affair with a fish man. WTF? I guess beastiality is alright if told with great CGI and tenderness.

User review rating: 2 February 01, 2018

Movie had potential but did not deliver. Needed a severe editing. Great theme of love between a human and a creature—both misunderstood, but a mishmash of unconnected plot elements. We have racial inequality, put downs of the handicapped, women’s “roles” , Soviet spying, treatment of creatures etc. Any one of these would be worth exploring, but not all of them at once. Most of the nudity was not necessary (for example the married couple lovemaking) and I really don’t see why movies cannot be made without the “F” word used in every second sentence. That was not how the sixties were! The man who ran the lab was just totally mean with no redeeming qualities. Octavia Spencer played the only realistic character and one we could identify with. Disappointing!!

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

The Shape of Water is a wondrous, sublimely beautiful film that is bursting with heart and overflowing with ideas. It is a unique creation, a testament to the vision of its director Guillermo del Toro. Set in 1962 Baltimore it's a multi layered film that operates on many levels. It is fantasy, romance and even a spy espionage thriller. Without giving too much away a sea creature from South America has been captured and brought to the US. A cleaner at the facility forms a strong bond with the creature. What develops is a film that will sweep you away with its heart and beauty. Emotion overflows and combined with the incredible design it blew me away. Performances are all outstanding but special mention should go to Hawkins, Shannon and Jenkins in their roles. They are truly superb. The score only adds to a film that is an ode to inclusion ,acceptance and love. It is infused with melancholy and hope, making for a very special two hours of cinema.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2018

It's just fantastic that Del Toro's movies have such deep layers that go beyond the joy that a story like "The Shape of Water" provides. You can watch it just for the amusement or you can actually see beyond that and simply learn.

User review rating: 4 February 01, 2018

There was far too much nudity in this film, to the point of making it cheap when the idea was to make it starkly in contrast with the dark world surrounding it in richness. It also was a little tiresome and cliche that all of the protagonists were blatantly weird compared to the rest of society, or shunned. Doing so made anyone normal appear to be a villain, though that is generally not realistic. Other than this the film was fantastic, mostly because it is a visual marvel, the power of the dialogues given in ASL, and Michael Shannon's portrayal of a man who has everything and yet really has nothing inside really shined throughout the film.